We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its very expensive but noo bath tub” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Palm Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Pedro Gil Corner M. Adriatico St., Malate, Manila, Luzon 2004, Philippines (Malate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Manila, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“its very expensive but noo bath tub”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

we stayed there at palm plaza for about a week cuz of my medical at st. luke extension clinic its too bad the receptionist there are not friendly we'r already paid the room in full payment but when we check in they wer asking thousand for deposit without their explanation why, and the room was so small very small we stayed at the room in seventh floor we paid about seventydollars a night and no bath tub they are really suck they just want your money so dont stay plaza hotel anymore, there are some good hotels around manila in malate to stay in.. , so far the roomboy there are good they always ask if u like them to clean your room. this is really true so dont waste your money here at this hotel ...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    59
    48
    18
    13
See reviews for
19
27
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Narvik, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Since I was there july 2009 (several stays-transferred there then from the 5-star Diamond Hotel. go there or to Pan Pacific if you want luxury) they have finished renovating the lobby area.
The rooms are basic, and of VERY varying size. I have had rooms there so small you can barely fit the (somewhat hard, but I like it) queen size bed. Most are ok tho'.
The wares in the minibar and snackstray vary a bit, but so far they seems at least to have check on what is there when I arrive. Laundry service is ok. (and they were honest enough not to try on my wifes silk wedding dress after it had a grease stain on it after the wedding.. when I asked the receptionist to ASK them. She was all: yes Sir, certainly Sir, of course Sir, until I made her check with the laundry if they actually could. they declined, wich I see as positive.) Housekeeping is ok, and gives good service (usually) if you call them for an electrical socket adapter for instance, they will normally bring it to your room prompte.
Doorlocks can be a bit fidgety, especially if you extend your stay. (programmable card-locks). They do have technical staff in the house who fix it promptly .
Food in the restaurant is definitely edible, but I often go to a nearby restaurant for food.
Hotel breakfast is ok, and they have an excellent coffee machine and will make you an espresso or cappuchino... but not included in breakfast price :)
Anyway, it's got a great location and reasonable prices, so I imagine I will use it again.
The staff also recognize me by now and upgrades my room plus downgrades my price, so I cannot complain.
Never saw any cockroaches or other insects, and the lobby is brand new, but the elevater is still just one, and the rooms and facilities are plain.
Still, not worse than that I took the chance of installing my parents and my brother and his wife there for a couple of nights, after they tired of the splendour (and priciness) of Pan Pacific next door, on their way to my wedding.
The small travel agency desk downstairs is very helpful. in July I used them to get flights to El Nido, Palawan for my fiancee and myself. I guess they made some mistake, because the following day they called me, and a lady from the main office came with an envelope with some money I had been overcharged, a form to sign, and lots of apologies. (it was some campaign that I had not benefited from) What can you say, it is the philippines.... people are friendly if not always overly competent. Just smile at it, and enjoy.
To transport my family, my wife and myself to the province for the wedding, we hired the hotels big taxi. friendly driver, good car... too bad it had absolutely terrible suspension (broken shock-absorbers perhaps?) Not saying not to use it, just make a trial run if you are going far. Price for the car is negotiable.
In fact the most annoying part of staying at the hotel (well... besides they run the AC in the lobby so hard it is an arctic climate there) is the street outside, with its moneychangers, beggars and sellers of sunglasses, belts, wallets, viagra, and whatever... but it is Malate/Ermita, so what can you expect :)
Be sure to spend your internet time before it expires (irritating feature).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
502 helpful votes 502 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed several times in this hotel but will never again! Many years a go this was a well managed, clean and good hotel on a good location (Ermita). But this has changed. The place is now so run down and run by incompetent staff, from waiters to receptionists. Our last stay we had roaches in the room, there was bad odor and we didn't feel safe. This hotel needs a major renovation as well as major change of management and staff. Please do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Great location in the heart of Malate. I have a few gripes however in that they refused to give me the promotional rate advertised on the internet. They also added amounts onto my breakfast meal there even though I had specifically asked the waiter who told me all amounts were inclusive. The staff and service in the hotel is very poor. There is only 1 lift serving 120 rooms on 10 floors which is not ideal. The room was pleasant enough, however the TV was at an awkward angle to the bed and you could only watch TV by standing in the corner of the room. It was also noisy as lower level and facing the street corner. The location is the only reason you'd want to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Plaza Hotel

Address: 524 Pedro Gil Corner M. Adriatico St., Malate, Manila, Luzon 2004, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Palm Plaza Hotel - it's all about LOCATION! Right across the hotel building is the tourist belt area's largest shopping mall (Robinson's Ermita),complete with shops, restaurants, bars cinemas and more. The hotel's strategic location puts it in the middle of Central Manila's top hospitals, universities, banks, night life and a mere 5-minute walk to Roxas Boulevard's famous Manila Bay sunset.A 10-minute walk into the city proper brings one into the convenient Light Rail Transit (LRT)which brings you all over the metropolis main areas of commerce, business, gov'te and educational centers.The hotel offers FREE WI FI in its public areas & guest rooms; basic in room amenities & services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palm Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.