We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kimberly Hotel to your Saves list
Kimberly Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   770 Pedro Gil Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Malate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Helsinki
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Entertaining staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great 3 nights stay in Kimberly. I never been entertained by staff members so well in hotel restaurant before. Pretty hotel and resturant school trainees gave excellent service during breakfasts and two lunches in the restaurant. Exept impeccable table service Czarina and Grace
made my eating very convenient talking about their studies, wines, philippine food etc. Breakfast buffet was abundant enough and food well made in lunch.
All service was excellent in restaurant, front office and house keeping.
This was my first time in Kimberly but i will come back again.

Room Tip: Try delicious salmon from restaurant menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGM, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear ercarai,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay in Kimberly. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay amongst the friendly people of the hotel. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again here.

Regards,

Natalie Ng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    53
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
23
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Overall this hotel is fine. The building is quite old...so is my room. The bathroom needs renovation especially. But I they they are doing what they could. It does not mean it is dirty...just old. Hotel services are fair. Receptionists always had smiles when I asked anything. Breakfast is acceptable. LRT Pedro gill station is stone away...Robinson mall is 5 min away. There are BBQ place in a couple blocks away...it was great...better than Jolibee.

Room Tip: They don't have many king size bed rooms. I requested a king size bed room...but I got only two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGM, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear CMinvan,

Thank you for your candid review of Kimberly. I am pleased to inform you that we've taken note of your observations and that of similar and are currently addressing them by undergoing programmed renovations and upgrades. I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future in our newly renovated floors.

Regards,

Natalie Ng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Davis - Sydney, Australia

Stayed here for 4 nights with 2 friends (11/4/13-15/4/13). Hotel in a convenient location, close to Robinson Shopping Mall & Pedro Gil Light Rail Transit Station.Service was excellent & staff, especially Mr. Sesinio Jabagat, Miss. Janelle (reception), Miss. April & Mr. J. D. (restaurant) was very helpful & friendly. My room was spacious, clean & comfortable. The Managing Director, Ms. Natalie Ng was fantastic. She even took the time to read our comments in our feedbacks & personally replied to us. Overall an excellent stay & good value.Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGM, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Davis135,

A big THANK YOU!

SIncerely,

Natalie Ng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Feb 2013 was my 2nd stay @ Hotel Kimberly in the past 3 years..Just a 2 night stay but was again pleased. Check in was smooth..Hotel staff was great..Room was clean..Morning buffet was GREAT both mornings..Check out was smooth as well..Good hotel with good price..Also walking distance to mall as well as Starbucks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGM, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Bam B,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to being of service to you once more when you return to the Philippines.

Sincerely,
Natalie Ng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First of all, the hotel is located in a dank and dirty part of Pedro Gil street.
Rooms are spartan and clean. I've been in two : one with a faulty air-con unit and replaced with another. Closet is old and need refurnishing. The in-room deposit safe was ridiculously positioned because of the closet's design. Ended up not using it.
Breakfast is poor.
The hotel is also near to the LRT station and during peak hours, getting a taxi can be tiresome.
However the friendly and helpful staff makes up for the cons.
Personally, I'm unlikely to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGM, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Robby KW C,

Thank you for your candid feedback. I have passed your compliments to the staff.

I am sorry you did not like the location of Kimberly but it is the first time I've heard it described as "dank and dirty" and while I don't really agree, you are entitled to your opinion. We wish you all the best in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Natalie Ng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm entering my 7th day here at the Hotel Kimberly, in Manila's Malate district.

I have been pleasantly surprised by the quality of this modest hotel. The staff are extraordinarily friendly and deferential. I have returned here now three times and it has become my home while I am in Manila.

I can attest that the wifi is the best I have experienced in this country where infrastructure can be spotty. What is not spotty is the cleanliness and shine of the rooms. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The hotel is situated in the old and "red light" section of Manila however I feel utterly secure and at ease here. Security is a non issue and the doormen recognize and greet you as soon as they spot you on the street. A complimentary breakfast accompanies the room rate (about $60 USD per night) and it is one of the better breakfasts you'll find in Malate.

The hotel is just a few blocks from the waterfront of Manila Bay and an easy taxi fare to the SM Mall of Asia.

A five story air conditioned shopping plaza called Robinsons is just a couple of blocks away and it has served as my "go-to" place for most meals and shopping. Most convenient as is the BDO atm machine that accepts international debit cards. The night scene is quite lively as street venders hawk their wares and fast food fixes. Good massage next door with 8 different techniques at a very reasonable $9 an hour. I love the fruit vendors on the street too.

Hotel Kimberly is excellent value for the money. I can't think of anything to complain about except for the rooster parked somewhere down the street that makes it's presence known a little too early, hardly something the hotel can control.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs as you are in the heart of a bustling megatropolis that never really sleeps and Fili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGM, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Jamiek69,

Thank you for your lovely feedback and regular patronage of Hotel Kimberly. We take great pleasure in satisfying our guests and are glad to know we've done this at least 3 times in your case! We look forward to seeing you in the hotel and being of service once more.

Sincerely,
Natalie Ng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very nice place to stay. Friendly staff, good prices, and there is a mall next door if you need to pick up something. The free meal is nice and had both breakfast and lunch included. The restaurant has great food as well, but if you order one of the family meals, make sure you have a big family as it is a lot of food. If you don't enjoy crowds then you may not be happy going outside, but it is nice to see the hustle and bustle of Manila. Do not stay on the 6th floor as there is a meeting room there and an early service, and they get rocking in the a.m., so no sleeping!

Room Tip: Stay off the 6th floor unless you enjoy an early a.m. wake up call to service....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGM, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Bong Y,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay in Hotel Kimberly. As a relatively small hotel, we certainly value recommendations from guests and neighboring establishments so I am happy to hear that we did not disappoint. We certainly look forward to seeing you in the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Natalie Ng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberly Hotel

Address: 770 Pedro Gil Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kimberly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimberly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.