We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too matured but not never cold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manila Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Manila Hotel to your Saves list
Manila Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines (Walled City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Las pinas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“too matured but not never cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Yes Manila Hotel have attained that icon status and have matured in the market but they did not lose they warmth. I brought my parents to Manila Hotel in celebration of their 45 years of marriage. We were surprised by a staff when they came knocking at my parents room with a regular sized complimentary chocolate cake to celebrate the anniversary with us. Manila hotel may be matured in the market but they are never cold to their guest. Every guests is welcomed with warmth. The ambiance in the lobby is just as endearing as the rooms set up with all the shell capiz fixtures. The TV inside the tub was enjoyed by the kids. The variety of food in ilang- ilang cafe was a good way to start a day. I also love the fact that they have taho in the buffet. Manila Hotel is a comfort zone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    218
    69
    22
    13
See reviews for
116
150
71
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I've stayed here twice with friends: the first one was during a girl friend's 18th birthday celebration at the Maynila Ballroom (which was really spectacular) way back 2010 and her parents' silver wedding anniversary last 2013. The rooms are spacious, very classic, and the lobby was a fusion of the old and modern times. The staff were very courteous, and the food was really good. Too bad I wasn't able to go swimming at the pool. Highly recommended especially for tourists, so you can go and explore the wonders of Manila. :D

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This 102 yo holds her age very well. I have stayed there several times and have not been disappointed. The lobby is awesome at any time of day. The Taproom bar is very relaxing for a late evening cocktail with a songstress acoompanied by a piano man. The gym is of a very good standard and the pool is just right. Sure, there are more moderm hotels but they are just pretenders. This is the real deal. I have only ever had the buffet breakfast here but if that is anything to go by I'm sure the other meal possibilities must be equally as good. The variety and quality of food at breakfast is very impressive, go hungry! There are some cracks in the corners here and there but you would have some too at 102. Anyway, I'd rather spend my $ keeping places like this alive. By far though, the most impressive thing about the Manila Hotel are the staff. It's their job to provide service but here it is their pleasure. They are some of the most pleasant hotel staff I have met. The costumes would delightful and put a smile on your face. Kids would love it! Anyway, Macarthur and The Beatles stayed there! The tour if the Macarthur room is next on my list.

Room Tip: If you think you may be staying more than once ask the concierge about their prestige card with nume...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is one of the finest hotel i have ever stayed, the staff is very cooperative and friendly. The bay facing property makes it more worthy. Indian delicacies served were so good that i over ate almost every time during my six days stay.
Had a peaceful, memorable, enjoyable stay. Cheers
!!Strongly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manado, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel was one of the best i have ever stayed in the staff very friendly and helpful , rooms good standard , the food is excellent try the runnig buffet at night you will be very impressed and will have a wide range of international foods to choose from ,The costumes and uniforms from this hotel are different from any hotel i have seen before, Would stay here again with out a question great place with great staff

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I like the lobby here because even when there is music played it is not drowned out. The acoustics of this place is among the best there is I've seen among hotels across Metro Manila and even across the entire country of the Philippines. The paintings are also apt in showing the portions of Philippine history and rural life.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I really had a great time at Manila Hotel. This place has it all, history, quality service, EXCELLENT FOOD, comfortable rooms, magnificent location, great gym, big pool, and fun live singing entertainment. This was the last leg of our family trip and it was the best place to end it. I really miss Manila Hotel and their Breakfast Buffet.

Food: I can’t say it enough—the food is amazing here. The Breakfast Buffet is the best I have ever eaten and I have traveled to Europe, all over America, been to South America and Mexico—this is—hands down--the best I have ever eaten. There is something for everyone and the food is warm, plentiful and the servers are always so attentive. One server in particular, Mags, kept giving my family and I mangoes, warm pandesal, juice, milk—he was just great. If he is out there and reading this—Mags, you are the best server ever!

Location: My sister and I braved the extreme heat and humidity and walked to Intramuros. It’s a quick walk but with the heat it is completely unbearable. I live in Boston and am so used to walking around everywhere but in the Philippines it is a completely different story! Nevertheless, the hotel is within walking distance to Intramuros, Luneta (now called Rizal Park), and Manila Ocean Park.

Hotel Amenities: THE GYM----AMAZING. The locker room is better than the locker rooms I have in my gym! Usually I dread working out during a vacation but I had a blast working out in this gym because it was so clean, the machines were new and modern and the treadmills/ellipticals were brand new! There is a sauna in the locker room and hot tub. The pool is also great with a swim up bar. The live entertainment was spectacular (so I heard). I was not able to go because I was feverish one of the nights but my family said the singer was great.

Room: The room was slightly old and the carpet around the hotel is obnoxiously green. It is an averaged sized room but the bathrooms were really really nice. There was a TV in our bathroom with a bathtub and a separate shower. Our bathtub drain was broken though so we had to call maintenance. They came promptly about 20 minutes after our call and fixed it.

Service: I overheard the staff talking about a woman freaking out because her food was not warm and she found a hair strand on her plate of food. The staff was very scared and very attentive to her needs. Frankly, the woman was over bearing and the strand of hair was probably hers because no one else had the same problem—but the fact that the staff was really scared and did everything they could to accommodate the distressed diva meant a lot to me. Every day I was greeted with a “Hello Ma’am” or “good evening ma’am”. They were very courteous and helpful. They really wanted your stay to be excellent and as a guest, I really felt welcomed.

I could go on and on about this place but my review is long enough. I really enjoyed this place and for the price it is just simply excellent. I highly recommend staying here!!!!!! THANK YOU MANILA HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manila Hotel

Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manila Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.