We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel, Great Breakfast Buffet, Service Could Be Better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manila Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Manila Hotel to your Saves list
Manila Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines (Walled City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel, Great Breakfast Buffet, Service Could Be Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Manila Hotel is a beautiful, historic hotel. In the past, we usually stayed with family, so this was my first hotel experience in Manila. The hotel is a bit far from Makati, but we liked that we were away from all that hustle and bustle. We had a view of the historic walled city and it was nice to be able to walk and tour that area. I highly recommend it. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was equal to many of the 5-star hotels we have stayed in the past in Asia. You can also walk to the Ocean Park area where there are several restaurants, including a nice outdoor bar area with great views of the Manila Bay at sunset. My only complaint would be regarding the front desk staff, who could use some training in "smiling and being more friendly". They all seem to be in a bad mood, maybe because they were dressed like Disney princesses. There was once concierge who was great. He went of his way to help me with an issue. The other concierges, however, were useless. They had no restaurant recommendations and other "sightseeing" tips. Time for more training!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room so that you can have a great view of Manila (even if it's smoggy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    256
    83
    26
    16
See reviews for
143
182
78
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We chose this hotel over the standard chain luxury hotels in the nearby business districts because I wanted to see local history for our first trip to Manila. We were not disappointed! This place is a gem! At 112 years old you really feel like you've stepped back in time. The hotel is apparently a favorite venue for weddings and I can see why.

It's a great value for the price and is within walking distance to the Intramuros district. They also have a free shuttle to nearby museums and shopping. The pool is newly remodeled and there are several very nice restaurants on the property. WiFi is fast and FREE. The memory foam mattress felt like ours at home. Bathrooms are large and very clean. Nice sheets, towels and robes. yes there are a few things here or there that needs a tiny bit of TLC but not surprising given the age of the hotel.

GO TO THE SPA! it's amazing. We both had a great massage and facial at 1/3 of the cost back in the US with amazing service. I'd come back to Manila just to go to this spa.

Room Tip: When you check in make sure that you're not on a smoking floor. We accidentally got booked there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for a short time my now wife and myself.
The Hotel and it's excellent staff exceeded our expectations in every way.
The food is to die for, the rooms and excellent and house keeping is spot on with time and finish always perfect.
The hotel rates are what you would expect for a hotel of it's class, and our final bill was less than expected.
We tried to find a fault but could not.
The afternoon ensemble that plays in the main reception area is world class with it's music and selections.
Look if your in Manila and want a place that makes you feel right at home, is handy to all city areas, then look no further.
We love the place and are looking forward to staying there on our next visit to Manila
Russell O'Brien

Room Tip: look no further you have found the right place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I love the rooms here and have nothing bad to say about the physical aspect of this place. My only complaint is the bad service. The people at the front desk are snobbish and don't seem to be too accommodating. Check out was a nightmare. One person was in charge for our payments (she was staying in a separate room from me) so upon checkout, I asked the front desk to carry over our payments to her room (mini bar consumption) since the rooms were already paid for. She said it couldn't be done. I insisted that it COULD be done. I know it could be done. She did so but had to ask that person to come down to the lobby to sign something. I told the girl in the front desk why she had to do that, can't she send someone up in the room? She said that that could be done as well. My issue is, why did that girl in the front desk have to give me a hard time when easier methods were actually available???

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband and 12 yo. We had a great experience. The hotel lobby was beautifully and sumptuously decorated. The room was clean and with modern amenities. However, the twin beds were too firm and just to small to accommodate the 3 of us. I requested a roll away bed which they promptly put in but I did have to pay for it. The buffet breakfast is by far the best we've seen and we've stayed at a few hotels and resorts, including Shangrila Boracay.
I also like it being so close to Luneta and Intramuros. For sure we'll stay there again when we return back to Manila.

Room Tip: Double beds are twin beds so tight if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and what a disappointment it was during this time. First, the good things about this hotel. It has a good location. The MacArthur Lounge at Christmas time is second to none in beauty with two large heavily ornamented Christmas trees at the end separated by a sleigh. This is a great place for pictures or for sitting in the lounge chairs for a drink or for people watching while listening to soft piano music in the background. But this is where the good rating stops. The hotel is undergoing renovation of the original building as others have said. My first room looked out onto scaffolding and the relatively noisy street in front of the hotel. I asked to be changed and they moved me to another room in the same building which had window frames which were warped and rusting as was the eves above the window. Scaffolding was still outside in the hallway, and the sounds of construction could be heard throughout the day. When I went to get a bath, the water never became warm, or if I took a shower it went from being luke warm to cold. The stopper in the bathtub could not be adjusted so that the water would run out requiring me to disengage it with a scissors. The water would constantly bubble out of the stem that controlled the shower. A call to the operator temporarily fixed the hot water problem although it still took an inordinate amount of time to become hot. Two calls to speak with the manager went unheeded. I also dislike having to call room service to have ice delivered to my room instead of having an ice machine on the floor. It is inefficient and the days for such service have long passed. Finally, on the last day, I spoke directly with the assistant manager in the lounge who was unhelpful and, in my opinion, unapologetic and not willing to make any amends. I understand that guests staying in in the Tower did not have the same problem that others experienced in the original building.

I understand the need for renovations, but the hotel should shut down those areas that are being affected and not make the guests suffer. Others planning to stay at the Manila hotel during this time period should get assurances from the hotel that they will not be subjected to substandard services or else look elsewhere for their accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

5 star accommodations and prices with management and services unable to deliver. We stayed New Year ’s Eve for their heavily marketed event. Despite having booked and paid a month in advance, check in took 45 minutes with only 2 people ahead of us. Check out was not much better at 40 minutes. We were informed that due to volumes, we would be staying in the “original” building. Although picturesque and dating back to MacAurthur days, the room was musky and without hot water. After letting the water run for 15 minutes, we called the evening of our stay for assistance. The response was for us to “let the water run for another 15 minutes”. Really? We informed them this did not work. In the morning after 15 minutes, the water was still cold. We were given the same advice as the night before and offered many verbal apologies. Another cold shower. The breakfast buffet we paid for as part of the accommodation package was available until 10:30 AM. The line to get in to the restaurant at 9:30 was more than an hour.

Service was severely slow and not up to the standards under which the hotel classes and prices itself. The manager offered an immediate seat in the restaurant for breakfast as consolation. While standing in line for check out I overheard others irate over missing flights and missing breakfast.

I would recommend the Sofitel hotel nearby for a better 5 star value and experience. The Bay View Hotel appears also to be worth exploration for accommodations and is across from the American Embassy not 1 km from the Manila Hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for accommodations but would return for the restaurant alone (with reservations).

Room Tip: Try the Sofitel hotel or the Bay View hotels - these are others we noticed upon departure of our sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manila Hotel

Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manila Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.