We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A crowded loud mall more than a hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Manila Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Manila Hotel to your Saves list
Manila Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines (Walled City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A crowded loud mall more than a hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights in a suite in early December. There were plenty of parties, weddings, conventions going on, and thousands of people were populating the lobby and the access to the hotel. Many of them also stayed in the hotel and dined in the restaurant. Plenty of 2 star people for a so called 5 star hotel! It seemed as on the buffet everybody was nervous to get food and fighting for his life. The staff was great and there was always enough food, but it was impossible to enjoy it. As a hotel guest, you could not find a seat in the lobby. The Management should decide if the Manila hotel is a hotel or a convention hall!
Now to the hotel part: We reserved a suite, facing the bay. Just in front of the room was an event tent with loud music. So, after 5 minutes we went back to reception and asked to change the room. We were upgraded to a bigger suite facing the city. It was very spacious and that's about all the positive to say about it. The building is very very old and it looks as there is no maintenance. The windows should be cleaned at least every 50 years, but ours were overdue!
The bathroom was not clean. Actually it is not possible anymore to clean it. It has to be torn out.
Positive: the staff is nice, competent and friendly. But this is the standard in the Philippines.

Room Tip: Avoid the suites, they are in the older building. Avoid the city side. Before moving into the room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    218
    69
    22
    13
See reviews for
116
150
71
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

As a first-class hotel, the Manila Hotel is OK, but it's not the world-class hotel that some of the guidebooks would have you believe, and its location has some serious drawbacks. I stayed there for a week on a business trip in December 2012, with a room in the old wing, facing Rizal Park (supposedly the choice location of the hotel.)
The lobby is impressive, and the staff is gracious, as one would expect, but the room was not anything to write home about. The windows badly needed a wash, and I had to max out the a/c to get an acceptably cool temperature. (Americans: the only US channel is Fox News, not my favorite.) The breakfast buffet (included) is large and lavish, the dinner buffet is also large and varied, but at $60-$70 it's much too expensive for steam table food.
The hotel is located in the old, historic Intramurous part of town, but that part of town is not particularly scenic or interesting, and the hotel's immediate environs are not conducive to strolling about: few restaurants or shops are nearby, and Rizal Park is not all that attractive. But the biggest drawback for business travelers is that the hotel is at least 30 minutes by taxi from the financial and commercial sections of Manila. Streets are heavily congested, crowded, dirty and slow. Don't even think about renting a car -- you'll have a nervous breakdown and get lost in five minutes. Taxis are cheap and efficient, but if you're here on business, book a hotel in Makati, or wherever your business will take you. Travelling across this charmless city is no treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Plush , opulent and luxurious its one of those hotels that not too long ago belonged to the rich and famous only - like Liza Minnelli and Michael Jackson who counted as its guests - it just makes a special impression on you even if you are an adept of the modern , today`s style - and the impression is good - very good in fact - and it will be lasting

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I believe this used to be a very good hotel. I've read the history of it and it did have its share of prestigious events and notable guests. Unfortunately, it has seen its glory days and now. It needs some good sprucing up. For example, the facade looks old and tired. They really can do something about the entrance drive way. The lobby is still great, love the old lighting and woodwork. Again, much of the area needs some serious update. It looks worn out. The service is very good and I had a good buffet at the restaurant facing the sea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I used the Manila as a base for a two week tour of the Philippines. We stayed three nights, one night and two nights in between tours north to Banaue and then south to Palawan, Cebu and Bohol. We booked our room through the same agency that arranged our tour. Our room was in the older front part of the hotel and was very large if dated, the dated part being my only complaint with the hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and other than a leaking bathroom sink that was fixed quickly by a maintenance man, we were happy with our stays.

The hotel has a long and rich history in Manila as well as with the United States. As stated many times, MacArthur used a suite on the fifth floor as his headquarters and many celebrities have stayed here including the Beatles. The lobby is magnificent as is the swimming pool and the Ilang Ilang restaurant. It was the only restaurant we used and the breakfast buffet was great. We had dinner a couple times there and ordered off the menu as we weren't hungry enough for the buffet which looked very complete and delicious. The location on Rizal Park and close to Intramurros is very good.

All, and I mean all, the personnel here are extremely personable and accommodating. They couldn't have been more friendly and never missed the opportunity to smile and say hello. The desk folks are especially nice and I got on a first name basis with one of the guys who admired my car picture printed on my credit card.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be noisy near traffic so request a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were really intrigued when we're watching a rerun movie "McArthur" on TV lead by Gregory Peck before before we stayed in this hotel...We finally rented this place during my Mom's 80th Birthday...The lobby was strikingly magnificent with a five star category but the rooms needs updating and so as the swimming pool...Our room has a descent view of the Manila Bay...We loved the breakfast buffet so much that featured the local foods with reasonable price...It is really close and a walking distance to most upscale night life activities around the area and its located by the Luneta Park (national park of the Philippines)...It is also close to some shopping centers by riding the local jeepney or a taxicab...

Room Tip: Request the front upper rooms to enjoy the view of the city....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Me and my family stayed here for a day just for the experience. I know it's not enough for a decent review but since we went there for the historical value of the hotel, I believe it's sufficient.

As far as I know, Manila HOtel is one of the oldest hotel in the city and it thus holds a remarkable status among the many other lodging establishments in the area. I loved the ambiance in the rooms and the decorations. Cafe Ilang Ilang is also thrilling!

It's near the airport, another historical place (Intramuros), different museums, ocean park, malls, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manila Hotel

Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manila Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.