We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel & lunch buffet !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila to your Saves list
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer, Get 30% Off!
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive hotel & lunch buffet !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I am honestly not a big fan of the city. Manilla is a booming city which could be sometime chaotic. This hotel is an oasis in hell. They have the best lunch in Asia. Hotel rooms are matching Sofitel standards with sea view. A solid choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We are very humbled by your kind words in viewing our hotel as an oasis. It is with great pride that Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila live by its values of providing excellent experience to our guests. The hotel is strategically located in an area where our guests can enjoy a relaxing and peaceful stay throughout. We are happy we have met your expectations during your stay.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    889
    369
    135
    103
See reviews for
921
699
204
561
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a so so big hotel, I spent here 2 nights, the room is facing the Manila Bay and construction sites. Room is ok, bed is a bit undersize now but comfy, Air-con which is auto-shot off , find it hot during the nite time thru early morning.I was sweating. From my room, noises can be heard from hallway, I could hear kids running, yelling, adults talking & laughing loud around 11:00PM , The lobby and dining area(spiral) can be chaotic, I ordered Camomille tea from the first staff, waited for 15-20 min. did not arrive, requested from another staff, still did not show up. I already finish my breakfast, still no tea, and can't find another waiter to ask without walking /approach them directly(literally), still no show of tea. very POOR service! Price per night is overpriced for the poor service and chaotic place, & very very slow service when check out.

WI-FI is very very very slow, entire country (not only Sofetel) and rate to use their computer is expensive.

Would not recommend..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We appreciate your time in sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila. It is a regret to know that your recent experience with us did not meet your expectations, and that you were not able to receive the quality service Sofitel is known for. Your concerns regarding the noise, service, wifi and room facilities have been taken note of and have been forwarded to the corresponding departments for their attention and necessary action.

We would be honoured to be given the chance to serve you again on your next visit to Manila.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Sofitel Manila is the only high end hotel in this part of Manila. It is the best place to stay if you have business at the World Trade Center - which was my case. It is a short ride to the airport and a few minutes by cab to the Mall of Asia and the attendant boardwalk and restaurants. The hotel is large, modern and provides good size and comfortable rooms with quality bed linens lending to a good night's sleep. The hotel has a very nice pool complex, tennis courts and a full casino. The food in the main restaurant is superb, the breakfast is complimentary and the lunch buffet is built around 15 or so stations providing international cuisine of many types.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We would like to thank you for providing a detailed feedback of Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila. We are glad that you regard our hotel as the best place to stay for people with business engagements. One of our hotel’s assets is being situated strategically for our guests to have convenient access to nearby attractions and establishments. It is also a joy to hear about your international cuisine experience courtesy of Spiral.

We are delighted to have been part of your memorable stay and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Sofitel is probably one of the hotels that is somehow like a resort. It is a sea view hotel and the most lovely part of it is the sunset. Wasn't it so gorgeous. The room that we have was okay, it was clean and faultless. The food was amazing. This is probably tue first hotel that i have been that gives too much for breakfast. Like everything is there. All kinds of pastries, fruits, cereals, just everything. And it is situated in first floor when you go down you will just want to run to every table and try every food. But well i have a small tummy. But over all experience was the best. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We would like to express our sincerest gratitude for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable time in your room that harbours one of the best views of the Manila Bay sunset. Your kind words on the sumptuous food and services provided by our ambassadors are most gratifying and this will certainly motivate them to continue the good work.

It has been a pleasure serving and accommodating you, and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The staff is really what makes this hotel stands. All staff were attentive, professional and quick to respond.
The front office staff was quick during check in and check out. All details covered. The waiver for not being allowed to bring outside food in was a first for me but I guess locals checked into a nice hotel and want to be cost cut on the food.

The staff manning the Veranda bar or the buffet at Spirals were simply irreproachable.

The in room dining efficient.

The buffet is well worth every penny.

The only con was the old look of the room, not used and everything was in good working order but you can see that the simple design cannot compare to similar level hotels in Manila. Maybe it is time for a refurbishment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

It is with great pride that Sofitel Manila ambassadors were able to provide you an excellent service. We are delighted to learn of your appreciation for our In Room Dining and Spiral, our buffet restaurant known for its 21 dining ateliers. Your comments will continuously inspire our ambassadors in providing excellent service for our guests.

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay to the TripAdvisor community. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I arrived late in the evening, and they upgraded me to an executive room for my four night stay. All the staff were very professional, friendly, and helpful. The room was an average size, was well designed and furnished, and had a large balcony. The Sofitel bed was very comfortable.

The lobby is impressive but needs to have more space for guests to sit; there are only two benches and a lot of wasted space. The price was good value, and the location in the Marcos reclamation area is very good for exploring Intramuros and Corregidor Island (the pier for departures is a short walk). There is a shuttle bus going to the huge Mall of Asia just down the road. For a city hotel it has a resort-like feel with a pleasant pool and large, well landscaped grounds.

I found the breakfast to be better in the executive lounge than at the huge buffet downstairs--fewer but better choices.

If you are staying in Manila for a few days, you might want to start at this hotel, then move to a hotel in Makati.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We are happy to hear that your stay at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila has been memorable. One of the top features of the hotel is its strategic location where you can witness the views of the majestic Manila Bay. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our facilities and services; as we are also pleased to hear of your culinary experience at the executive lounge. Our ambassadors will be inspired to know of your comments.

Your comments and suggestions are of great value to us, for these allow us to maintain and develop our products and services for the guests.

We hope you can visit Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila again in the future.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for my birthday at Sofitel. The location is the best for a staycation in Manila. It doesn't feel like downtown. The sunset-view is amazing and Spirals the best buffet in town. Downside? The rooms need renovation. Still fine, don't get me wrong, but visibly aged here and there.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We very much appreciate that Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila was your choice of hotel for your birthday celebration. We are glad to know that your consider Spiral as the best buffet in town and that the gorgeous sunset view of Manila Bay made your birthday extra special. We value your comments regarding our room as this allows us to improve the quality of our products.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again for another staycation.

Warm regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Address: CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#2 Business Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.