We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable, if you are prepared to pay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 103 hotels in Manila
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“enjoyable, if you are prepared to pay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

i stayed at sofitel for two nights with my partner as a birthday treat to self and after a long week of travelling to various cities/countries. to be honest, i didn't commit to doing the thorough research of the hotel but that it looked "comfortable and relaxing" enough for me. it met all those expectations and more, at a price of course, and with a few cons.

pros:

1/ overall service. we were treated like VIPs from the moment we stepped out of the jeep, with the conciege and doormen taking superb care of our bags, and were ushered straight to the priority check-in counter at the front desk. special mentions to Mr. Edward who served us with warmth, professionalism and a big smile. he noticed my birthday fell within my stay at sofitel and immediately upgraded me to a premium room with breathtaking views of the pool and bay. thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

2/ room service. the quality of the food and service received for room service was excellent. we felt like king and queen being fussed around with a perfectly presented table. food portions were larger than the ones we had at the outdoor cafe, and food was warm and tasty.

3/ rooms. rooms were wonderfully well-appointed, the mattress and sheets were sublime and the toiletries provided were comprehensive and quality products.

4/ food. the brunch buffet at spiral. nothing could prepare us for the spread of food, the freshness and yumminess. 21 ateliers, including a temperature-controlled cheese and cold cuts room. at approx AUD$60 a pop, you'd expect nothing less. fresh sashimi, peking duck, pasta station, perfectly portioned dessert selections, the works.

4/ overall. it was an all-in-one building - we learnt there was a boutique casino in addition to a spa, gymboree, aesthetics clinic, pharmacy, travel agency etc.

cons:

1/ room. pillows were too flat. we subsequently learnt there is a pillow selection menu.

2/ room. the shower should be upgraded. it is old, weak-pressured and took away the fine living experience.

3/ service. service at spiral. i noticed many have commented on this, and it was no different for us. we noticed many staff around, from the general manager to the assistant GMs to the chef to the wait staff, but they were not attentive, we often have to signal for them to clear our stacked-up dishes and even that took some time. also, they were pushing around a wine cart and offered us wine, which i eventually selected one. we knew nothing of it being an extra charge till we received the bill. that is not how things should be done and left me thoroughly displeased.

4/ service. we asked for a metered taxi to go to the mall. the doorman ushered us into one which turned out not to be metered. i have been to other hotels where the doorman ensures the taxi driver knows where we are going, ensures it is what we asked for and keeps a record of all taxis coming through to ensure their guests do not get ripped off.

all in all, it was a really enjoyable birthday vacation in sofitel for us. but for the staff at spiral, we were fussed around, greeted by staff everywhere we went and had top quality food. we were not far from chaotic downtown Manila, but we felt like we were in a resort bali, sans the beach -which is perfect for anyone seeking to escape that hectic hustle and bustle.

be prepared to pay though for the luxury; for the prices at the restros, sports bar, and all other additional services offered for your convenience are equivalent to singapore, if not australia, prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    972
    680
    293
    103
    85
See reviews for
722
535
158
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Anybody who has enjoyed a stay in this hotel knows how superb the swimming pool is, how comfortable and clean the rooms are, not to mention the great breakfast buffet at the Spiral. The staff are all friendly and polite. Making my room reservation was made easy by Kevin, who efficiently detailed the different room accommodartions, rates and packages. What impresses me most is the personal touch we experience with Carlo Liwag (Front Desk) who was always patient with all our queries, and even asking us how our stay was when we were about to check out. These may be small kind gestures from staff but these are some reasons why I would like to visit again Hotel Sofite Manila.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

In March 2014 I was a returning guest at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila for about 6 nights and the stay brought me back to the hotel again for another 5 nights from 22 - 27 June 2014.
The reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and the doormen were excellent and provided good help and care.

Some staff at the Spiral need to be more alert tho and also treat all guests alike

I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my business associates and friends and if my visit does not require me to travel to the Makati Commercial Centre then this is my choice of hotel

Room Tip: Ensure good Wifi connection as I had problems. A good Manila Bay and swimming pool view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Our sincerest gratitude for the kind words of appreciation for our ambassadors at the reception and lobby area. This will be shared to all ambassadors to serve as an inspiration so that the same warm behavior and care be demonstrated all throughout the hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at Sofitel Manila and we hope to welcome you and your business associates and friends on your next visit to Manila.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went there a couple of times for Sunday brunch. It's a good spread of anything you might want to eat.
The location is rather spectacular for sunset drinks.
But - the prices are high (USD 80+) for brunch and the service is really lousy. The service was bad the first time we went there, and it's still bad. I am not worried about the price, but the service quality takes the fun out of the experience.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We appreciate that you took the time to let us know of your experience at our hotel. It is with much regret to learn that the service that was provided to you in Spiral was not as satisfactory as it should have been. We are committed to providing excellent service to all of our guests and we take each guest review and feedback very seriously. Our ambassadors will once again be reminded of the quality service that the Sofitel brand is known for.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Address: CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#4 Casino Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
#5 Business Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila Hotel is a unique 5 star luxury hotel in Manila with a resort setting close to Mall of Asia, Manila Ocean Park, Intramuros, US Embassy, PICC and major tourist spots in the Philippines. Sofitel 5-star accommodation includes 609 rooms and suites boasting of balconies and spectacular views of world famous Manila Bay sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.