We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 103 hotels in Manila
Naga, Philippines
1 review
“Very nice experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I enjoyed my time at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila with my family last December before heading back to our province (Bikol). I really enjoyed our last night at Le Bar with Em and Robert (their staff)! Nice Service guys! We'll be back soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your family's recent visit to the city. We are glad that you had a very nice experience particularly due to Em and Robert's service at LeBar. Your comments will be shared with them and the rest of the team not only to inspire them but also motivate them to continue on striving even harder for excellence.

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    972
    680
    293
    103
    85
See reviews for
722
535
158
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed at Sofitel, Manila in the second week of Dec 2013 for 3 nights. I thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The rooms are big and spacious as you would expect in a hotel at this level. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and I loved the shower....it had fantastic pressure and was very relaxing. The only thing missing was a bathtub :)
The staff are very friendly and efficient. They really helped us with the directions/places to go shopping.
The breakfast spread was awesome. You are spoilt for choice.
I did not use the pool but i did notice that it was quite big and very well maintained.

The only negative which i found was that the balcony of the room was extremely dusty...could make out that it was not cleaned for a long time. So could not enjoy the lovely view from the balcony much.Other than this, rest all was star !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

It is with great pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for pointing out some of the notable features of the hotel like the spacious rooms and especially the wide breakfast selections in Spiral. The Sofitel Manila team aims to provide to its guest the utmost comfort and satisfaction that is due them. We are very pleased to know that our ambassadors were able to meet, if not exceed your expectations

We appreciate that you took the time to share your points with us as this is essential for us in assessing the quality of our products and services. Rest assured that your comment has been duly noted by the Housekeeping Department for immediate action.

It is our pleasure to be of service to you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

1) Extremely ineffecient check in process or setup. All the counter employees looked busy, in the middle of check in of guests they seem to be walking across different check-in counters to get details or items to process their check independant check-ins. Never seen this before. Each counter shd be equipped to handle each guest in one station, why the staff needs to strutt here and there, in and out of a back room. My personal wait for check in with no first come first serve basis was 30mins! Longest wait ever. Ushers just push u to one line that they think is shortest bt may not be the fastest. Arriving guests quieing randomly at each line.. Stay in guests / Restaurant employees with food trays crossing over the check-in queue.. strange setup.
2) After 30mins and and check in, was informed of a system glitch and cant issue me a key card.
3) ALL 5star hotels i know have complimentary wifi. this is the 1st apprently claiming to be a luxurious hotel with no complimentary wifi. Ridiculous and unacceptable. We live in the fast moving tech era, time to step up Sofitel Manila.
4) Spa experience was mediocre. Had one evneing massage, the massaues seemed tired (this is ok, as it was 530pm and it was perhaps late) and massage techinique seemed practised, i.e. no personal touch or nothing special. Its like this person wasnt meant to be a Massaues. and all that flapping ard with their shoes ard the massage bed, and clicking this and tht, opening of taps all very amateur. Try going to real spa, the gentle movements and demeanour of real massaues' are very different and unique. They are generally very gentle ppl.
5) Event just below my room was going on with loud music and singing past midnight. Is this appropriate in ur view? Do you know what this means? I dont think the hotel cares. I generally think the hotel shd be concious of such events and not let guests stay in that row if there are such events.
6) Pool and Cabana Area. I really liked this concept. The employees of this compound seemed very cheerful and happy. Maybe becuz they work outdoors and like what they do. My experience at the BBQ Dinner, pool and cabana was generally good.
7) Car service - Warren my car guide was excellent. Asked for the location of my visit carefully and took me to the place without any issues. Drove very carefully and abided by the rule. Seemed very intelligent for a car driver. Perhaps time to have discussion with him on his ambitions and developement aspirations.

Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We are saddened to know that your recent experience with us was not to your expectations. It is our aim to provide all of our guests with the superior service experience and we regret that this was not met. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and please be assured that these have been highlighted to the concerned departments for immediate attention.

It is really nice to know that despite some difficulties, you were able to enjoy your experience at the Treasure Island and pool area and especially Warren's excellent service.


We do hope that the experience has not marred your perception of our hotel. We look forward to having the pleasure of being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carool, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I first have to fess up that i am a Platinum Accor Member, so it's fair to say that you're going to get treated well. However I have been in a number if top tier hotel programs over the years and I can honestly say I have never before received the kind of outstanding service I have had over the last 3 nights.

Sure the hotel has been around a while and mightn't have the modern features of some newer hotels, but what it lacks in design it certainly makes up for with the quality of the staff.

From the moment we were greeted by our hostess Gel, who welcomed us with the utmost style we soon came to realise that nothing would be a trouble to this team. The staff in the lounge really made us feel at home (the chef loves to delight you with tasty treats) and they have a lovely mix of professionalism and humour. In fact this was true throughout the hotel and what did surprise me for Asia is that they all seem empowered to make decisions on their own when you make a request. Perhaps that is the style of their Australian GM. I was also really impressed when speaking with the charming Jonathan in Cafe Galette that their GM personally reviews all trip advisor feedback.

Great hotel, great people and the food - c'est magnifique! Can't wait to back in a couple of weeks.

Room Tip: Make sure you come hungry. I don't normally frequent buffets, but Spiral has to be seen to be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

It was such a delight reading through your feedback. It warms our hearts to know that our efforts to exceed your expectations paid off. Our guests deserve only the best quality products and services and that is what we aim to always provide. The Club Millesime offers club rooms along with inclusions such as, check-in and check-out at the club, snacks and cocktails throughout different periods of the day, complimentary Wi-Fi services and exclusive butler services among others.

Our ambassadors will definitely be thrilled to read your feedback and will motivate them to strive even harder to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and be of service to you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Address: CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#4 Casino Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
#5 Business Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila Hotel is a unique 5 star luxury hotel in Manila with a resort setting close to Mall of Asia, Manila Ocean Park, Intramuros, US Embassy, PICC and major tourist spots in the Philippines. Sofitel 5-star accommodation includes 609 rooms and suites boasting of balconies and spectacular views of world famous Manila Bay sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.