We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“:)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SO GOURMET
Ranked #4 of 103 hotels in Manila
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
1 review
“:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice hotel with excellent pool for the family. Good location to nearby shopping and entertainment. Transportation is always available. Staff is very friendly and courteous. I personally think the breakfast is way over priced even with the offered discounts at check in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

We are delighted that we had created magnifique experiences for your stay. Our goal is to provide the best possible service to our guests and it is a pleasure to read your kind feedback.

Sofitel is the only resort hotel in Manila who has a lagoon-shaped pool. Your positive feedback about our hotel, transportation, and ambassadors has been most gratifying and is passed on with the entire Sofitel team.

Regarding your comment about the price, we do offer a great variety of A La Cart dishes within a different price range. However, we regret that you had not been informed about the price options.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward of welcoming you in the near future.


Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,004
    706
    300
    107
    86
See reviews for
742
556
164
414
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

While visiting the Philippines we stayed at the Sofitel Hotel over looking Manila Bay. The view was pristine. The staff was very helpful making us feel welcome from the time we checked and during our whole stay. The room was spacious, clean and bright. They offer a buffet that was totally outstanding serving dishes from all over the world. This was an experience that set the tone for our stay. The head chief made sure he mingled with the guest making sure everyone was enjoying themselves . The pool was staffed with plenty of lifeguards and staff were available with towels and taking orders for food and refreshments of all types. Overall our stay there was well worth it and we plan to stay there again in the future when we come back.

Room Tip: All rooms we checked were outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you had a magnifique stay and appreciated the pristine view of the Manila bay.

We are gratified that the service rendered of our ambassadors was to your satisfaction. Your feedback has boosted the confidence of the entire team.

Spiral offers a wide variety of dishes, taking interactive dining to a level never before seen in the Asia Pacific region and we want to set standards for the industry with Chinese, Thai, Japanese, Indian, Filipino and Korean kitchens; marvel at our showstopping epicerie, patisserie, boulangerie, traditional French stove, wood fire oven, churasco, rotisserie, noodle and pasta stations. Our very own chocolate room, cheese, and dessert showcase are sure to capture your wildest imaginings.

Thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the near future!


Kind regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As soon as we entered the lobby we were greeted by a hostess. Service was warm and accommodating. They made feel at home immediately. The rooms were nicely equipped. The suite was clean, spacious and very comfrotable. Room service was excellent as well as the breakfast spread. And of course, the lagoon swimming pool was amazing. My kids had a wonderful time. We're definitely coming back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for your positive feedback! It was a great pleasure to serve you in this home away from home.

We are gratified to know that you find our hotel to be magnifique. With that, it is very encouraging for us to hear that our guests are more than satisfied with our products especially with the spacious and comfortable suites.

On behalf of Sofitel Manila, We thank you very much for your patronage. We appreciate your trust and we will do our best to continue to give you the kind of service you deserve. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.


Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We usually check-in here to watch the pyro olympics. You can request the room that has the view of the pyro olympics. It's great to watch from your room.The hotel is very clean and spacious. Staff is very accomodating and courteous. Overnight accomodation comes with free buffet breakfast. Their breakfast buffet offers a wide range of international dishes. My family and I love staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for giving such great feedback at our property! We truly appreciate your for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, and we are glad that our services have delighted you.

At Sofitel, we strive to deliver the best that our customers deserve with a well appointed products, high-quality customer service and unfailing quality assurance. Spiral is a multi-cuisine restaurant with several live cooking stations and boasts the widest variety of dishes.

We thank you for your support and it is always a pleasure for us to be at your service. We hope that we can welcome you and your family back at the Sofitel Manila!



Kind regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Unlike Paris or New York or other great cities where you are greeted at the entrance by energetic butlers dressed in "Belle Epoque" style costumes, this Sofitel has a different kind of reception (until you get in): armed guards with mirrors to check the underside of all vehicles for suspicious objects, trained sniffer dogs, metal detectors, and then bag searches. But, once you are inside, there is the splendor of five star French style accommodations. Half a dozen handsome boys and elegant hostesses in traditional Filipino garb greet you with "Bon Jour" salutations and direct you to the concierge or front desk staff. The personnel are courteous and professional, but beyond the "Bon Jour," you find hardly anyone speaking French although the sofitel is part of the Accor Group, the pride of French hostelry. But, never mind all that.

Seen from afar, the building is an imposing presence in Manila. Now, let's talk about food! One floor below the reception area is the Spiral Restaurant spread out over a huge area adjacent to a large courtyard with a view of the swimming pool. I have been to many five star hotels, but this room tops all of the others in the quality and quantity of food. There are many bakery items along with smoked fish, Asian delights and Chinese dumplings, fresh exotic fruits, and many varieties of salads and sweets.

Let's visit the rooms. They are clean and bright and all of them have balconies, although you can only stand as there are no tables or chairs. I found this a little funny as though something was missing. I was assigned a superior room which I found a little sad with two small beds placed together, and on a lower floor of the building with noisy children running day and night through the hallways. They came to my rescue when I complained and offered an upgrade (alas, only by paying a heavy extra charge) to the "Club Millesime," but it was worth it! The room is on an upper floor with access to the 10th floor lounge, and there are the following benefits: a la carte breakfasts, afternoon snacks, cocktails and wine tastings, a discount on your laundry, 24 hour internet access, complimentary shoe shine, etc. And, if you decide to visit their gym, you have a choice of different exercise machines and can also visit the spa to give your body a treat. I suggest you ask for the "Marrakesh sweetness massage" which is the ultimate mood enhancer, transporting you (as they describe it) to the fragrant gardens of that exotic Moroccan city. Sofitel! You always take the details seriously. Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

We at Sofitel Manila do not only meet, but exceed customer expectations. We give emphasis on all aspects of the French elegance of our hotel environment such as beautiful ambiance, luxurious food, high end technology, friendly and experienced staff. Your kind words on the service provided by our staff and the quality of our ala minute restaurant are most gratifying and rest assured that it will be passed on to the whole team.

Nonetheless, we regret for the displeasure you had to endure especially with the noise issue during your stay. Rest assured that we will take corrective action on it.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward of welcoming you in the near future.


Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had à stopover here. After à long flight from Amsterdam spend à nice evening and night here. Its luxery and relaxing. But expensieve for the Fillis but to me it was worth every penny! Nice pool great breakfast. Location is not that great some rooms looking out at à building site. Looks not that nice but had no problem of noise. Hotel is not in the city center.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for the positive review! We are pleased to hear that you had a magnifique stay at Sofitel Manila.

All your kind comments are certainly flattering and we are extremely proud that you appreciate the rate value of our hotel. Following your comment, Sofitel takes pride in its outstanding view has to offer; the breath-taking view over the Manila bay, the Manila skyline, the sunset and the lagoon shaped pool.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serving you in the near future!


Best regards,


Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed a couple of days ago at the Sofitel Manila and although the service was attentive I was disappointed by the current status of the pool area, one of the main reasons I have chosen to stay there. There is no view of the bay whatsoever due to ongoing heavy construction work (re-enforcement of the sea wall). The entire hotel shoreline is fenced off. The views are marred by a high metallic fence, painted in a vivid green, in harmony with the green mats of the pool lounge chairs. There is constant noise coming from the heavy construction machinery behind the fence (grinding, drilling, hammering and unloading rocks). I don’t remember seeing any warning about this on their website, nor on the websites of the agencies selling their accommodations. When I asked a reception member about the estimated duration of the works I got no clear answer, so I’m afraid it will be continuing like this for weeks, if not months.

Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and well appointed, the décor is classic with an abundance of brown colours. Regrettably they charge for in-room WiFi & Ethernet connection, which in my opinion is a let-down in a 5-star hotel charging their prices, especially when many 3-star hotels are offering WiFi for free. An alternative is to browse the web for free in the bar or lobby.

Service is excellent and the staff at the concierge desk are doing their best to accommodate the guests’ needs.

Having seen and tried other buffets in 5-star hotels around the world, I find that the “Spiral” at the Sofitel Manila is overpriced. As many online prices are for the room only, here is a list of the buffet net prices (as of April/May 2013):
-Breakfast Mon-Fri PHP 1720 / Sat-Sun PHP 1965,- (Kids PHP 983/1105,-)
-Lunch Mon-Sat PHP 2432,- (Kids PHP 1351)
-Brunch (Sunday) PHP 3623,- (Kids PHP 1842)
-Dinner (Sun-Thu) PHP 2800,- (Kids PHP 1597) / Fri-Sat PHP 3046 (Kids 1597,-)
[Quick orientation: 1 USD = 40 PHP / 1 GBP = 60 PHP (approximative high street FX rates)]

For those who feel unhappy about these stratospheric prices (especially for children), there is also an a la carte breakfast / lunch / dinner option, not only cheaper but also healthier (no overeating / excess calorie intake).

In conclusion, I would try out other competing hotels before committing again to the Sofitel in Manila, at least until the construction works are finished.

Marius_Berger

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. It is through feedback of our guests that empowers us to boost the quality of our products and improve our services.

We regret for the inconvenience caused through the seawall rehabilitation, we are working together with the government in order to be prepared for the next rainy season to ensure the safety and security of our guests and employees.

At Sofitel Manila, we understand the importance of fulfilling our guest’s expectations and we truly regret that we have not satisfied you. Our pricing is comparable to similar restaurants in the area as we provide outstanding value and high quality of products. We do understand your point of view about our Spiral rate and rest assured that we will forward your comment to the Food and Beverage Director.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward of welcoming you in the near future.



Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Address: CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
#4 Business Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila Hotel is a unique 5 star luxury hotel in Manila with a resort setting close to Mall of Asia, Manila Ocean Park, Intramuros, US Embassy, PICC and major tourist spots in the Philippines. Sofitel 5-star accommodation includes 609 rooms and suites boasting of balconies and spectacular views of world famous Manila Bay sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.