We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the Sofitel, Manila” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila to your Saves list
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer, Get 30% Off!
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Manila
A TripAdvisor Member
“My stay at the Sofitel, Manila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed at the Sofitel for three days so that we could visit our friends and family. Our stay was enjoyable, had a resonable price and the facilities were great. We had a nice balcony view on the 7th floor at which we enjoyed looking at the sunset, enjoying the view etc. Transport was easy to find and quick-moving. So in a summary our stay was lovely and we hope to come back in the future. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

On behalf of Sofitel Philippine Plaza, I would like to extend my deepest appreciation for sharing with us your excellent stay with our hotel.

Many agree with you that the lagoon-shaped pool is one of the top features of the hotel. Guests have also raved about the special MyBed for a great sleep along with the pleasures of LeSpa.

Your kind words has not only boosted the confidence of the team, but renewed the enthusiasm and zest for the job. I would like to assure you of our continued sincerity and dedication to service from all Sofitel Ambassadors.

It would be our great pleasure to do business with you in the future and we look forward to more such opportunities in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Yours sincerely,

Josephine Abel-Arvesu
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    859
    357
    126
    95
See reviews for
868
673
196
534
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

"Glitz" and "excess" are the only words to describe this hotel. It has the stamp of Imelda Marcos all over it! The array of food to choose from at breakfast is not just bewildering, it is overwhelming. The location of the hotel is far from picturesque -- it is in the middles of a rather down-at-heel cultural complex which the former First Lady had hoped would spring to life, but which has not happened. It is nonetheless quite central, and once inside the hotel the outside is irrelevant. The pool and grounds are fine, and the multitude of staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza!

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us, and we are delighted that our services have pleased you. Each day, we do strive to provide only the finest experiences for our guests.

We are proud to share your sentiments with the rest of team, as this will inspire them to delight even more guests in future. We do hope you will be one of them once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel.

Yours sincerely,

Josephine Abel-Arvesu
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

for a high end hotel, sofitel is lagging behind newer and plushier establishments in the same stars category. their standard room is very simple and barely exudes a cozy ambiance. it clearly needs some renovation updates. the suites are better but just by a few notches. i appreciate the availability of free shuttle service to the nearby mall, and "height-adaptive" gym equipment. it was also hard to resist taking a dip in the pool during a bright, breezy morning. unfortunately the fruit shakes served at the pool bar did not complement the experience. more than anything what scores points for this hotel is their view of the bay from your balcony and the excellent service staff. the latter was the highlight of my stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

On behalf of Sofitel Philippine Plaza, I would like to extend my deepest appreciation for sharing with us your excellent stay in our hotel.

We are concerned with the satisfaction of all our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. It allows us to ensure and improve the quality of service we want to offer our guests.

We have taken serious note of your comment and rest assured that our Department Head concerned has been informed to address this matter. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this might have caused you during your stay.

We strive to provide a superior experience for every guest therefore your feedback is very important to us. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Josephine Abel-Arvesu
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We will definitely book again, my daughter and I, and with any of her friends. Next time we will just stay in the room and relish the softness of the pillows, blankets and bed. And watch cable TV all day! Then have a sumptuous meal at the Spiral, a drink or two at the Sports Bar, and an hour at the casino.
The staff were wholehearted in their service. Kudos!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your excellent stay here at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila. We strive to provide a superior experience for every guest therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Your kind words has not only boosted the confidence of the team, but renewed the enthusiasm and zest for the job. I would like to assure you of our continued sincerity and dedication to service from all Sofitel Ambassadors. Your kind words have been passed on to our teams.
This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors. In the meantime, I remain at your disposal should need further assistance.


Yours sincerely,

Josephine Abel-Arvesu
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I arrived with a friend as walk-in guests and we're overwhelmed by the service. The lobby staff were very assisitng and the reception was just great! Darwin (last name I forgot) greeted us in the lobby area and helped us all the way in getting a room. Have stayed at 6th floor and the bay/city/poolview was just breath-taking! Food were also exceptional and their buffet is very catchy. Everything and everybody is just wonderful in Sofitel. Life as they quote is really Magnifique! We'll surely stay here again when we visit again manila and will recommend it to our friends. Bonjour mabuhay to all the staff!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

On behalf of Sofitel Philippine Plaza, I would like to extend my deepest appreciation for sharing with us your excellent stay in our hotel.

We are grateful to read that you had an overall excellent stay in our hotel and particularly appreciated the service of our staff and the sumptuous food at Spiral Restaurant. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday. Your kind words are most gratifying and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

It would be our great pleasure to do business with you in the future and we look forward to more such opportunities in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to let me know.


Yours sincerely,

Josephine Abel-Arvesu
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed overnight using my free night w/ accor advantage card. Rooms are nice. Love their pool. Love the bay area overlooking the sea,

But i dont really like the accor people. They are arrogant & they just doesnt fit with the sofitel standards of service.

Other than that, i think this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

On behalf of Sofitel Philippine Plaza, I would like to extend my appreciation for sharing with us your excellent stay with our hotel.

Many agree with you that the lagoon-shaped pool is one of the top features of the hotel. Guests have also raved about the special MyBed for a great sleep along with the pleasures of LeSpa.

Your kind words has not only boosted the confidence of the team, but renewed the enthusiasm and zest for the job. I would like to assure you of our continued sincerity and dedication to service from all Sofitel Ambassadors.

It would be our great pleasure to do business with you in the future and we look forward to more such opportunities in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to let me know.


Yours sincerely,

Josephine Abel-Arvesu
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Address: CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#2 Business Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.