We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place you feel at home to an affordable price - Hidden Gem in Chaos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1166 M. H. del Pilar corner Arquiza Streets, Ermita ,Manila Philippines, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Warsaw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place you feel at home to an affordable price - Hidden Gem in Chaos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

After 3 week off the beaten track this is heaven in the middle of chaos. This hotel has a intimate atmosphere; great service just the place you feel at home to an affordable price, wherever you are a business traveller on budget, family or a backpacker ready for a little luxury. Great rooms, good beds all linen kept in white and great thick cotton towels. Great design even in standard rooms without the fake gold you find in the expensive hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Darwin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

I recently stayed twice at The Best Western La Corona in Ermita Manila and, overall had a pleasant experience.The rooms were clean fresh and functional due a refurbishment program currently underway, the beds were comfortable and the complimentary water and toothpaste was a nice added touch.
They also had free internet downstairs in a corner of the restaurant bar area and when I enquired if I could print something they gave me an email address which I could forward to in order to get the doc. printed.
The breakfast is included and was okay but not particularly hot.The staff are friendly and helpful and they pointed out that there would be some noise on my floor after 10am, due refurb in progress.
The area is okay but caution is to be exercised particularly late at night due beggars and touts.There is a very modern shopping mall a mere 5 minute walk away and numerous bars nightclubs and restaurants.

I would stay there again!

Just be advised that a metered taxi is a maximum of 250 pesos to/from the airport(this is based on the 6 trips that I made) US$1 is approx PHP(Pesos)47,there is no need to pay PHP500 for the privelage of an unmetred taxi.When catching a taxi from the airport tell the driver to turn right at United Nations and right at Del Pilar due the one way streets in the area .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granth29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yokosuka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

The satff are fabulous they take pride to ensure that you are serviced well and greated everyday with a few words of courtnesy. The food in the resturant is delicious and availble pretty much until about midnight for snacks. Even with the renovations the hotel was doing they took great effort to not disturb the guest. I have stayed here 5 times and i enjoy each time that I am able to visit Manila.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

I Stayed @ The La Corona With my Fiance And a Lg Portion Of her family
The rooms where Resonbly Priced, But I could Not believe the Excellent service
They went beyond the call of Duty , If I needed it they got It. The Food in the resturant
Was Great ( Botted Water a Little High) But the Resturant Staff Greeted me ealy in the morning With Coffee @ Sweet rolls Before they were Even open.
Yes the Local area is Bad, But Where is it GOOD??
I WOULD BE PROUD TO STAY THERE AGAIN Because the People That work there
Are Sincerly Nice People

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosesfavtoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

The staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are clean and any request for service is promptly and courteously responded to. The food in the restaurant is good, there could be a little bit better selection.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank houstonbicolana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Without a doubt the best hotel in Manila I have found so far after visiting Manila many times over the last 3 years i have finally found a hotel i would recommend and return to without question.

Best thing for me personally was reliable wifi connections so i can work when needed. Also non-smoking rooms are nice and clean, which can be very hard to find in the philippines.

My only bad item would be the food but I think theny plan on improving that.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

My name is Alex and I stayed at the Hotel La Corona, on Pilar street in Ermita, Manila--,from June 05, 2009 to June 16, 2009.

I was registered under the name G. Sabado.

The Hotel was only about 4-minute walk to the American Embassy, as an American this meant a lot to me.

I am also a former Assistant Housekeeping, and Rooms Division Manager for a Five Diamond Hotel, Four Seasons Resort in California, U.S., so I recognize a Five-Star or diamond service when I see one. I also want to say that service is the blood-line of any hospitality organization--it has a positive effect on employee morale and obviously guest.

I stayed in a room next to an area under construction within the hotel, however, this did not bother me at all. Constructions like that one are always needed whenever there is an upgrade. On the other hand, I enjoyed my stay very much: bedsheets were impeccably clean, pillow cases were clean and had a hypoallergenic smell; the room had a nice aura; and the minibar was very clean and had a few good selection of items inside of it.

Housekeepers, Gaary, Richard, and Chris did an outstanding job cleaning the rooms--they have been trained very well.

Front Desk: front desk was exceptional, they were always polite, quick to listen and slow to speak. Telephone calls from my room to the Front Desk were answered in less 3 rings--Diamond Hotel Standard--, and items requested were delivered right on time.
The bellman, doormen, and hotel servers at the hotel-restaurant were courteous and were not pretensious. Von--trainee--, and Ryan at the restaurant were very courteous and served the restaurant guests with blithe.

I utilized the Hotel-Cab shuttle twice and it was excellent, air-condition in the car was always on full circulation, the car had a new car smell, and the driver PAUL was very clean-shaven and did not drive haphazzardly like the local cab drivers. The price was a litlle hefty compared to the local cab drivers, but worth it and very cheap per U.S standard.

For a local cab ride, you get a stinky, and sweaty driver, modicum air-condition ride (very little) or no air conditioner at all, during the cab-ride. A hotel cab is always a wise choice!!

There are a few homeless people a few yards from the Hotel, but this is a city problem and not a hotel problem. On the other hand, the hotel management does an excellent job keeping peddlers and beggars away from the hotel--the homeless-cast a few yards from the hotel did not bother me a bit. It is even next to the American Embassy, so it is not something a guest should fret over. Anyway the hotel has a constant eye for any solicitors around the hotel.

Perhaps the hallmark of my stay was the service I received from the employees I encountered. From Doormen, Front-Desk agents, Servers to Room Service cleaning were excellent!!

An upgrade of plasma screen television in all rooms, fluffy body towels and a second elevator will easily make this hotel a diamond hotel. I enjoyed my stay and will be back in December.

V/r,
Alex Andoh

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjadivsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#19 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#12 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
The Bayleaf
#2 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona

Address: 1166 M. H. del Pilar corner Arquiza Streets, Ermita ,Manila Philippines, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Manila
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#7 Business Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering all the comforts of home while traveling, this Manila hotel is located in the heart of the tourist belt in Manila, Philippines. BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona Manila is a boutique hotel ideally located for adventure and business travelers-along the coast line of historic Roxas Boulevard and Manila Bay, which boasts of the world-famous Manila Bay Sunset. The Cultural Center of the Philippines as well as the Philippine International Convention Center are within the area. This Manila hotel is only about 300 meters from the United States Embassy, five kilometers from the Japanese Embassy, and less than nine kilometers from most other embassies. A first-class shopping mall is only 800 meters away, while the Walled City of Old Manila with its nine-hole golf course is only two kilometers away. The world famous Rizal Park is just 700 meters from the hotel. Manila Chinatown, with its authentic Chinese food and goods is within four kilometers easily accessible with only one Jeep ride. Guests to this Manila hotel will enjoy the comfort of well-appointed rooms and extra amenities such as a free welcome drink and a daily newspaper. For business travelers, the hotel boasts an Internet corner, meeting space, and free Wi-Fi internet access. Onsite dining options appeal to a wide range of tastes with continental, Western, Filipino, and vegetarian cuisine. Book today for the best low rates at this Manila, Philippines hotel-BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona Manila. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manila
Manila Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing