We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1166 M. H. del Pilar corner Arquiza Streets, Ermita ,Manila Philippines, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel and Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

No complaints at all. We stayed here for 4 nights on our recent trip to the Philippines and were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The meals in the restaurant were excellent. Above all though, the staff were terrific. They were all courteous and extremely helpful whenever anything was needed. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wanting a place to stay in Manila.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Christophera52,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with our hotel. We are extremely glad to hear that we were able to create a good experience for your and we hope to exceed that when you return. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

If in the meantime I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com.

Sincerely,
Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    336
    101
    31
    17
See reviews for
78
271
180
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you require a good nights sleep after a long plane journey this is not the hotel for you. We were woken at 01;00 am by hotel maintenance who decided to do some painting in the corridor adjacent to our room. How Bizarre !!! We complained to the reception staff who apologised, and promptly upgraded us to Deluxe room, which overlooked a busy road.... The noise from the traffic kept us awake. Eventually we just gave up sleeping altogether......
Breakfast is good and the hotel reception staff are friendly, welcoming, and helpful, but this is all we can say about this hotel.
Would we recommend this hotel ? No.. There are better hotels in Manila.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear DGM30,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If you require any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com.

Sincerely,
Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great Experience this Hotel. From the time I did my online bookings 2 months ahead & then had to change my arrival dates, no problems - thanks Drio !
Upon arrival at Manila int. airport I was greeted by their Rep. & escorted to their Hotel's arrival lounge to wait for there vehicle to the hotel.
We were very early to check in because of my early flight arrival from Darwin 6am., so we waited in there dining room & had some breaky. We weren't meant to check in until 2pm but the duty manager saw how tired we were & gave us an early check-in @ 12 noon & even an upgrade to a Deluxe room !! Wow !!!
Didn't have to walk up any stairs as the lift was great. Third floor room but on the road traffic side of the building but the noise from the traffic wasn't too bad.
Room was modern, Queen size bed but hard & firm mattress. Bathroom is small but good size shower with plenty of hot water. Excellent bathroom accessories, housekeeping service very good & honest, no probs.
Breakfast wash incl in our room rate but the breaky was just ok, I.e., scrambled eggs every morning with bacon, ham or small sausages, everyday one dish different. But excellent Danish Pastries !
My only complaint was the Restaurant's selection of wines ! Yuk !! Chilian !
Upon check out, no worries, they checked the room & found I had left a couple of items & returned them to me immediately, again Great Service !!!
We would have Loved to stay there another 7 days but there room rate increased due to the public holidays here in the Philippines. We found a better rate at similar hotel just around the corner (which I will review later).
Overall, I would recommend La Corona as a good basic Hotel with excellent service & close to downtown old Manila & all the sites plus close to Robinson's Mall within walking distcance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street noise traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Paem62,

Thank you so much for your great review! We always try to make our guests have the best experience during their stay. It is good to hear that the employees provided excellent service. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us understand what we are doing right and what to continue doing for future guests. We really look forward to your future stays with us.

If in the meantime I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com.

Sincerely,
Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our flight landed pretty early in the morning, we sprung the extra cash (about 800P total for everyone) to have the hotel pick us up, when we arrived around 6am we were told we would have to wait until 1-2pm before the room would be ready, it wasn't occupied at the time as far as we knew so why the 6 hour wait? Thankfully we only waited until 11am. The staff wasn't being rude they just seemed to be following strict guidelines that couldn't be broken.
That's as bad as it got, after that everything was better, the room was very comfortable, the beds were nice and praise be to Zeus air conditioning...sweet sweet air conditioning. The bathroom was clean and we really appreciated the room safe. The breakfast buffet was excellent but small however they tend to you very well.
When it was time to leave I again paid to be driven to the airport this time for a lower rate (400P) I had the van all to myself so that was enjoyable.

The area surrounding the hotel had a very shady feeling to it however I had no problems walking around at night, the people were friendly enough. Be sure to visit the Robinson Mall a few blocks away and the Mall of Asia right on the shoreline if you need...anything at all. If you must be in the area I do recommend this hotel but the nice places to visit are outside Ermita.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Yeez,

Greetings from BESt WESTERN Hotel La Corona Manila!

Thank you for your comments as through these feedback we will continue to learn more about our guests and will help us provide them with such impeccable service. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

If in the meantime I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com.

Sincerely,
Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were rerouted to Manila after typhoons in Taiwan and made a last minute booking here for two nights to wait out the storm. Check in was fast though not super friendly. My credit card was already charged through agoda but the hotel staff said they needed to charge me a deposit. The area around the hotel is pretty dirty and creepy and there are signs everywhere telling you to be careful. Even the hotel staff told me not to go out at night alone. They told me the major sightseeing points were Rizal and Ocean Park. I went there with my boyfriend and it was almost unexcusable how run down it was. Ocean Park is a family-friendly aquarium but it was so rundown looking, even down to there being abandoned cars, street signs etc laying right outside the entrance. Not the hotel staff's fault, obviously but if you were looking forward to taking the family there (since it's within a 15 min walk), I recommend that you don't.

The room was pretty clean and the bed was a little firm but not impossibly so. TV was tiny and the buttons had all the labels worn off so I couldn't figure out how to change the channel or volume. I found the rooms to be quite big and the air conditioner worked well. The walls are VERY thin. I personally found it funny all the one night "couples" who come and go there but I think it would be disturbing for a family. They do have some sort of policy against it after a certain hour, I think. so, the noise tended to die down late at night and we didn't hear as much.

We were incredibly happy with the hotel restaurant because the food was quite good so we ate at it for dinner and breakfast once. The wait staff was not friendly AT ALL, however. There were not SO many people at the hotel so when we ate there for dinner around 7pm, we were the only ones there. So, when the waiter was very cold to us, it made us feel even more awkward.

The good point about the area is that Robinson's is only about a 15 minute walk away and it was a very nice mall. Clean, lots of dining options, etc. We found it impossible to get a taxi during Saturday. The hotel offered theirs but wanted a ridiculous price for only one trip. So, we thought we would take the train. What a mistake. We waited for 6 trains to pass and we couldn't fit in any of them it was so packed. Apparently, this is typical Manila for a Saturday. So, if you are here on a Saturday, just plan on going to Robinson's.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Iana190,

Thank you for giving us feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If in the meantime I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlaroconamanila.com.

Sincerely,
Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here one night while taking care of a little business in Manila. Room was clean and staff was nice. Had an ok buffet breakfast. However, they were doing some construction, so I go no rest during the day after a long flight the night before. No minibar or safe in my room.

Close to shopping and the US Embassy

Room Tip: Stay away from the construction area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Addicted2Asia,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We apologize for the inconvenience brought about by our renovation. Rest assured that these improvements are being done to further improve our facilities.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If in the meantime I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com

Sincerely,
Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Location:
The hotel is very conveniently located in Ermita city. The cab fare from the airport using metered airport taxi (flagfall of 70pp)was about 240pp. So, no need to use the prepaid 530pp option. From the hotel you can walk to the Robinson's place shopping mall very easily. Lots of places to eat and shop there.
Also within walking distance of Intramuros and Rizal Park on the other side.

The hotel lies on a jeepney route, which pass right in front of the hotel and goes to Baclaran or Taft MRT Terminals. So, for 8pp you can get to a train station or get fairly close to the airport or Makati

Rooms:
Decent, kinda on the smaller side. Should not be a problem if you do not intend to spend too much time in the room.

Food & Service : Fairly good. with the breakfast buffet having western (bread, croissant, eggs, bacon) & filipino options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear SauravDe,

Greetings from Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila!

Thank you for your helpful comments. We will be looking forward to seeing you again here on your next visit to Manila. If in the meantime I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com.

Sincerely,
Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona

Address: 1166 M. H. del Pilar corner Arquiza Streets, Ermita ,Manila Philippines, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Manila
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#8 Family Hotel in Manila
#9 Best Value Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila is a boutique hotel conveniently located in the tourist belt of Ermita in Manila. All of their 57 air-conditioned rooms promise to offer you with the space and functionality that you need. Their amenities are complete to satisfy your needs and the entire hotel staff treats you with the warm service that made the hotel a choice among local and international travelers. Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila is 2006 Best Guest Services Awardee of Best Western International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manila
Manila Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.