We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Planet Ermita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Planet Ermita to your Saves list
Red Planet Ermita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 A Mabini Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Ermita) (Malate)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% LOYALTY DISCOUNT
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Iligan, Philippines
Level Contributor
302 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Beware!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Be aware that if you stay here you will be charged for every little thing. I booked online for a 4 night stay with a package including towels, wifi and tv. When I checked in without even looking the attendant knew that my online reservation only included the package for one night instead of 4 nights. And what a surprise they charge more when you pay at the hotel rather than online. I said I wanted to talk with manager, but told he is not there so I said I would wait. She went in the office and came back and said I could then have it at the online price. Check in time is at 2 pm but I arrived at 1 pm and even though the room was available I was told I would have to pay an extra charge for an earlier check in. I elected to just wait rather than pay an extra charge. Second night my room was not cleaned, so had to go ask for it to be done, but no clean towels given. Next night room cleaned, but still no clean towels even though I had paid extra for the package. Contacted the desk and instead of them sending someone up with the towels I had to go get them. I would not recommend this place and there are nicer and better places in the area to stay. You also might want to be aware that the area around the hotel seems geared mainly to cater to Japanese and Korean tourists. Hotel is okay but service is terrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    210
    109
    25
    13
See reviews for
43
117
116
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Maybe we were jaded after our poor experiences at other Manila hotels, but we loved this place! We moved from a nearby hostel which charged same price for far inferior services. This hotel is like a Travelodge or Easyhotel in UK. Sure it has adverts for its brands in rooms, rather than pictures and thus is a little soulless, but it is new, very clean, has satellite tv, showers are excellent and beds are oh- so-comfy with lovely duvets. Manila prices are on the up, this is a major city and so I think this is a bargain for what you get. Only downsides are service is so -so, but you don't really need much. Also rooms are in small side, so perhaps not ideal for longer term stays.

The area isn't particularly nice compared to where more upmarket hotels are based, but that's to be expected. Hotel is very secure though. There is a 711 under hotel as well as an Irish pub. Prices seem high in the pub but thats because portions are huge and quality akin to UK pub chains. The Astoria nearby is good for breakfast.
We will return to Tune in a few weeks when passing back through Manila. Highly recommended for shorts stays, flash packers and any budget conscious traveller who prefers comforts over character.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit small and so couples may want to choose twin beds to get a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in Aug+ Sep for the 2nd time in 2 yrs.After reading various forum reviews on various websites;I thought that the prices might have gotten out of realism;for a budget Hotel.On arrival @ check inn,I was pleasantly surprised.I will pre book Tune Hotels on the "net",in the future though!!.I have to disagree with a certain knowledgeable individuals reviews ie wap01oo.I will keep patronizing Tune Hotels and their connected Bars in the Countries "I visit"unless quality drops.For this said reviewer;to say the Molly Mal ones Bar+Restaurant serves crappy meals +is expensive is completely incorrect.It is only commonsense,that one will get cheaper food,at the various Fast Food outlets + Street Food Eateries ;witin this area.These unqualified comments relate more to an individual;with no experience WORKING in Hospitality!!.ve;

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salalah, Oman
Level Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It is cheap, clean but very very small room, so if you are only staying to have a good sleep and you are on a budget, would go to this place.

Better pre-book all your towels and tv, it saves a lot of money.

Shop is just before the entrance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have stayed here several times, and always found it to be OK. The room is small, but the A/C worked, the bed was clean and comfortable, and the TV worked. It's not fancy, but it's fairly new. Convenience store next to the lobby, and a British style restaurant/tavern too, which was good if you don't like local foods.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulan-Ude, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you are looking for a simple, clean and centrally located hotel then this one is for you!

We booked a group of Russian students at this hotel and they loved it! This place is a sophisticated way of backpacking!

Check in was so fast and the front desk officers were so efficient and accommodating. In less than 20 minutes we were abel to check in 40 people.

I have stayed in Tune Hotel in Malaysia and I must say that this one in Manila is even better.

PROS
Great service
24/7 security (key cards used in the elevators)
Big and comfortable beds
Strong hot/cold shower
Cable TV/Wifi/AC (I think upon request with corresponding fees)
with Electric Fans

Ground floor has 7/11 for personal needs
Location is near Robinsons Mall, Starbucks and other fancy restaurants
Walking distance to Manila Bay
Taxi ride to Mall of Asia, Cultural Center of the Philippines, Intramuros and 30 minute ride to Makati Business District/Ayala Museum/Greenbelt Mall

CONS
Rooms are not as spacious as a "normal" hotel
Area may be central but it is also prone to pickpockets

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is an ok hotel, good beds... the staff here didnt seem to interested but thats there problem.... good location for single guys, can try the Irish bar and restaurant at fround floor and beware of chicks outside....in one line it's a good safe hotel.

Room Tip: Ask them for the most biggest room,if you like spacious room and book any room with agoda or hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#16 of 105 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Go Hotels Otis-Manila
#18 of 105 in Manila
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate Pensionne
#45 of 105 in Manila
3.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 105 in Manila
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Ermita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Ermita

Address: 1740 A Mabini Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Ermita)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Ermita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Ermita, famous for its nightlife and restaurants and close to leading tourist attractions, the 167-room Red Planet Ermita, Manila is the embodiment of a group philosophy that places guests in the centre of the action. After a 30-minute drive from Manila International Airport, the hotel is the perfect entrée to a pulsating destination that serves up nearby experiences like Roxas Boulevard, a row of al fresco restaurants overlooking Manila Bay, the Cultural Centre of the Philippines, Manila Ocean Park and SM Mall of Asia, the Philippines' largest mall. The Pedro Gil Light Rail Transit station is a kilometre away. The Red Planet Ermita, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Planet Ermita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Planet Ermita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.