We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tune Hotel, Ermita, Manila: Review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Planet Ermita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Planet Ermita to your Saves list
Red Planet Ermita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 A Mabini Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Ermita) (Malate)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% LOYALTY DISCOUNT
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Baguio, Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Tune Hotel, Ermita, Manila: Review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location of Tune Hotel is good for party goers since the night life in Malate is very active. The hotel lobby was wide and the staff were courteous. The elevators were card locked so only guests can use the elevators. As for our room, I found it compressed. Since our stay at Tune Hotel is only overnight, there were no regrets. The Bed was soft and the sheets were clean. The airconditioner was small and controlable.
For more information and photos of my review, please visit http://watwatworld.com/2013/08/31/tune-hotel-ermita-manila-review/

Room Tip: Look for discounts and deals online. Tune Hotel offers online discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    210
    109
    25
    13
See reviews for
43
117
116
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at Tune hotel just for a night. I was not expecting too much of it and to my surprise the room were nice and clean. Very small room though, If you are claustrophobic dont stay here because there is no room even for your luggages. I really liked the bed and the shower head because after a week in the Philippine, this hotel had real mattress and lots of water to take shower.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very basic, but then again they don't hide that when you book the hotel. Everything is an add-on, but their groupings of services on their website often work out cheaper than selecting each thing individually. The room is clean if somewhat small. The air-conditioner works okay. I was given a discount voucher for the pub downstairs and there is a convenience store too. The towels and toiletries are nothing to write home about and this is where they can maybe improve a bit. One negative was that they didn't offer a wake-up call service and there is no alarm clock in the room which can be a big negative if you have an early morning flight. The front desk agent didn't even blink or attempt to offer further assistance in this regard. The big big negative about this hotel though is the area it is in. I'm guessing you might just want to stick to the pub downstairs in stead of venturing out further...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Very small rooms, bedsheet were dirty, at check in they tell you that you have to pay in case you steal something, not a warm welcome, advertisement instead of pictures in the room, too much money for a budget box hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Tune Ermita is part of the Tune chain that I use often. This branch, however, is one I will pass on. The room itself was fine but the towels seemed old. Worst of all is the surrounding area Ermita. It is dangerous, smelly, filthy and best avoided. You can walk to Robinsons Mall and plenty of bars are around, but ugh, it is a nasty and seedy place and worse, traffic can be a nightmare. A disabled streetwalker tried to steal something from me but my girlfriend and I got away. PLEASE watch your back in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice little efficiency hotel, no frills. Room is so small you have to go outside to turn around, if you have large luggage with you, there will be NO room. However, for Manila, it was cheap and clean and efficient, no haggling and arguing with the usual idiots at hotel front desks all over the Philippines. My only issue is the lack of room IN the room. Maybe a foot or two more. At least you don't have to worry about rolling out of bed.

I don't mind paying for extras, like internet, bath towels, etc.

There is a 7-11 near the front lobby, easy access for drinks and snacks. Also a bar and restaurant in front. I'd totally stay here again, if for nothing else, the lack of hassle. I've stayed at very expensive and very cheap hotels, and the thing I hate the most is the hassle about things. I've never had to argue with the front desk about anything at Tune Hotels. Very clean, AC worked fine, TV good, beds good and everything worked fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamboanga City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here for more than a week, got reservations via their website. It was no hassle in booking but my advise is just to super super read the terms or better to call the hotel if you can't understand how to book properly, or else you'll end up surprised in the middle of the night that all of a sudden they will cut your tv access, or a/c or whatever, and might pick a fight with the hotel staff. Again typical of a tune hotel, you pay for everything you want, more comfort, more payment. I thought I got a good deal at first but after tedious computations, it was kinda expensive after all. But despite of the price, it was worth it because it was really clean and super near to everything. Courteous staff, the room was small but manageable, big and nice bed and sheets, okay toiletries, good a/c, huge tv, no closet, tacky view from our hotel window. Best ever is that there's a 7/11 downstairs so everything is just super accessible. Will stay here again if ever to visit Manila.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#16 of 105 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Go Hotels Otis-Manila
#18 of 105 in Manila
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate Pensionne
#45 of 105 in Manila
3.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 105 in Manila
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Ermita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Ermita

Address: 1740 A Mabini Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Ermita)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Ermita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Ermita, famous for its nightlife and restaurants and close to leading tourist attractions, the 167-room Red Planet Ermita, Manila is the embodiment of a group philosophy that places guests in the centre of the action. After a 30-minute drive from Manila International Airport, the hotel is the perfect entrée to a pulsating destination that serves up nearby experiences like Roxas Boulevard, a row of al fresco restaurants overlooking Manila Bay, the Cultural Centre of the Philippines, Manila Ocean Park and SM Mall of Asia, the Philippines' largest mall. The Pedro Gil Light Rail Transit station is a kilometre away. The Red Planet Ermita, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Planet Ermita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Planet Ermita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.