We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new hotel with some small teething troubles, in heart of red light area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Planet Ermita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Planet Ermita to your Saves list
Red Planet Ermita
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 A Mabini Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Ermita) (Malate)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Manila
brussels
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel with some small teething troubles, in heart of red light area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Philippine Tune hotels seem to be located in red light areas, I am sure that is no coincidence. With the map, I found the hotel easily, but some local shopkeepers 100m away did not know of its existence. It is very walkable from Quirino LRT station, 15 minutes away, that is what I did. You are surprised when you first see it's it is huge, I have seen a large Tune hotel. The entrance is a long corridor passing a 7/11 full of useful items. Eventually you enter the guarded lobby, it is white but very very spartan, no paintings, this will become dirty quickly, I thought. My first impressions were average, not like the wonderful lobby in new Tune Hotel at Hat Yai with the enthusiastic receptionists. The Filipino receptionist scrutinised my passport and reservation far too long, she was overly suspicious and did not smile, I was a presentable foreigner, I hasten to add. I did not really blame her, working in a budget hotel in the red light area of one of the most dangerous cities in Asia warrants it. So she gave me a room on the top floor, when this happens, I usually think of 2 things, penthouse and towering inferno. I think that it was the 20th floor. I checked the fire escape on the floor, the doors were working and it seemed OK. The room was typical Tune, very white and clean, but there was no fan installed yet, so the air conditioning was free, maybe they would have accepted the cash if offered at reception, I am sure. Normally this is an extra. The water pressure was a little low, but I was surprised that it was pressurised and hot. The views were good near the lift of the big bad city. In the surrounding areas there are a few shops, a large Robinson's mall nearby, many clubs. I stayed in my room in the evening. A few small improvements can be made, I feel it was opened a few weeks ahead of the correct date. but staying in a new spick and span new hotel is one of life's pleasures particularly at 100 pesos a night opening offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    208
    102
    23
    12
See reviews for
41
116
111
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Malaybalay City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

It's affordable and very clean. Wifi signal is very excellent. Hopefully it would maintain the impression we had on our first stay. Don't forget to bring a map though, cabs are not yet too familiar with the hotel. Malls and restaurants are just around the place. I'm definitely going back :)

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Filipino receptionists are truly one of the best for their hospitality and warmness. Enjoyed my stay, its relatively near all establishments in Malate ---walking distance to the mall and gimik areas. A highly recommended place to stay. Affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I think 11am is too early to check out. Maybe 12pm is better. I have never payed for having my luggage in the hotel after i have checked out. That must be a part of the service. The staff is friendly and the hotel will be ok when its finished. If i am back in Manila i hope you have vacant room. Overall great experience.

Room Tip: Nice location near churches and mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Planet Ermita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Ermita

Address: 1740 A Mabini Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Ermita)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Ermita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Ermita, famous for its nightlife and restaurants and close to leading tourist attractions, the 167-room Red Planet Ermita, Manila is the embodiment of a group philosophy that places guests in the centre of the action. After a 30-minute drive from Manila International Airport, the hotel is the perfect entrée to a pulsating destination that serves up nearby experiences like Roxas Boulevard, a row of al fresco restaurants overlooking Manila Bay, the Cultural Centre of the Philippines, Manila Ocean Park and SM Mall of Asia, the Philippines' largest mall. The Pedro Gil Light Rail Transit station is a kilometre away. The Red Planet Ermita, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Planet Ermita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Planet Ermita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.