We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayleaf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bayleaf to your Saves list
The Bayleaf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Manila
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“a very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed in Bayleaf for 2 nights last June 2014. what struck me was the room, it was in very colorful and vivid orange motif. So different from the usual somber browns and dimly lit hotel rooms. It also had floor to ceiling glass wall which made me like my hotel room more. The room was on the small side but the bed was comfortable.

The staff were also nice, the breakfast buffet was good though far from extensive, their lunch buffet was much better.

My little complaint is that it takes 30 minutes to get a taxi.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    318
    49
    18
    7
See reviews for
125
390
94
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at end of my trip to Philippines. Gorgeous hotel with nice rooms. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast buffet had good variety. Had dinner in both restaurants while here- reasonable price and tasty (pizza and pasta). Easy 10 min walk to Rizal Park. Hotel airport shuttle cost 800Ps and was fast and easy. Roof top bar gorgeous views. Aircon in room quiet. Amazing showers. Only thing missing was a pool but not a big deal. Would definitely book here again next time I'm in Manila.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel several times already and it's just fantastic. Great hotel staff, nice and clean rooms. The Sky Deck is an amazing place to relax, it offers an excellent view of Manila and the walls of Intramuros. I will definitely go back here again and will highly recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Perfect located. You are in the center of Intramuros. And Quality Standards from the Hotel are High (after our trip in Philipines, you realize that Hotels in this country tend to be poor and without a good service) but Bayleaf was perfect. If I would go again to Manila, I would stay again there.

Staff was very friendly and helpful, Rooms was perfect, clean, new.
Restaurants may be a bit expensive compare to prices you can get in Manila's restaurants, but worth to visit too.

Room Tip: We took the standard room and everything was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It was hard to find and the aircon is very low. I like the room, its clean and comportable but i just hate the aircon because its very hot in there. I dont recommend the restaurant at the top floor, although the view is nice the food sucks. We ordered pizza and kare kare. It taste awful amd the meat is very hard. We didnt finish eating because of it. But we really like the view, i hope they will improve their food. Well if you want to experience the view then just order drinks then just eat outside

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Everything you need and more. Rooms are clean and trendy. Service is helpful and friendly. Location is right in intramuros with a shopping mall right outside the walls. Parks are nearby for exercise. Breakfast is included and really good. Wifi works everywhere.

Don't look any farther, stay here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I've stayed in several 5 star hotels in manila, but none offered the charm, peacefulness, location, and value of this hotel. No wonder it is ranked #1.

I will stay here whenever the situation permits without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayleaf

Address: Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bayleaf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayleaf is the only boutique hotel in the heart of the country's premiere heritage site, the Intramuros -the seat of Spanish government more established than 400 years ago. Located inside massive walls, Intramuros is home to very old churches, museums, national parks and courtyards.With 57 rooms and suites, The Bayleaf also has 5 modern meetings rooms, a 280 capacity ballroom, an all day dining panoramic restaurant on the 9th floor, a roof deck al fresco lounge on the deck and a rustic Churros cafe on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Bayleaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayleaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.