We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bayleaf - The place to stay to explore the Intramuros” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayleaf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bayleaf to your Saves list
The Bayleaf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Shellharbour, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Bayleaf - The place to stay to explore the Intramuros”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at the Bayleaf for one night at the end a two week jaunt around the Philippines. While our Taxi driver from the airport had trouble finding the hotel it was a great location for us to have a quick but fairly comprehensive look around the Intramouros area.
On our arrival the staff were welcoming and helpful. There were no problems with our pre-arranged booking and, as we arrived well before our room was to ready, they were equipped and more than happy to look after our bags while we did some exploring. They provided some maps and some suggestions on where to go and what to see.
The Bayleaf is directly adjacent to the wall so gave us very easy access to the defining feature of the intramuros (Intramuros meaning inside the wall). Much of the wall has been restored and is accessible. It is certainly worth a good look and knowing a bit of its history helps.
we had dinner on the Sky Deck. The dessert (The Wall) was wonderful. The table service was friendly, helpful and timely. While more expensive than street food the Sky Deck's food was good and the price was more than reasonable.
We had breakfast at 9 Spoons and chose o corner seat so as to take in the great views over the city. Breakfast was buffet style and offered a good selection of the familiar and the exotic. We both enjoyed the omelette made to order and had our first good coffee in two weeks.
Our room was well appointed and clean and lived up to our expectations. The bed was comfortable and the the shower excellent. The rooms WiFi was easy to set up although a little slow (but still better than we had in some other places).
We had a late flight and again there was no problem with The Bayleaf looking after our bags while we explored some more. In fact the staff were great in giving helpful information and accommodating to our needs.
If you are thinking about staying in Manila and the Intramuros in particular we recommend The Bayleaf

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    319
    50
    18
    7
See reviews for
125
391
95
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Bayleaf Hotel, gives color to Intramuros. This is the best hotel in the area. Staff are very accommodating and the rooms are very clean. 9 Spoons resto serves very good food. Service here is for 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The intramuros neighborhood is a great place to stay, the hotel is nice and clean and easily the best value in Manila. Breakfast was adequate, but that morning view from the top was wonderful. We made the mistake of staying somewhere else (more expensive) on our last night in Manila and regretted it. You won't regret choosing this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We spent a night at The Bayleaf three weeks ago. The staff are great, food is superb, the hotel is clean. What is really amazing is the great view at the Sky Deck. I will surely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipawin, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were at the end of our backpacking trip and decided to splurge for our last night at $100 CAD for one night. This hotel is modern, clean, amazing beds, great restaurant on the top floor. Highly recommend for the price. Great, safe area with historical sights.

The hotel is run by the university in Manila and has students working for experience. Fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The food was superb, rooms are clean... Must try is their acoustic night every saturdays... Im not sure though if they have it on sundays. But its superb nice view, and super yummy food. Keep it up bayleaf!!! We celebrated our daughters 1st bday party here and it was great!!! Thumbs up!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great location. Intramuros is the historical area of Manila. Very close to the cathedral and some very old churches. TaxiThe service was excellent. People was happy to suggest activities, book for restaurants and tours. The patio on the roof is great and the restaurant is fairly good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayleaf

Address: Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bayleaf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayleaf is the only boutique hotel in the heart of the country's premiere heritage site, the Intramuros -the seat of Spanish government more established than 400 years ago. Located inside massive walls, Intramuros is home to very old churches, museums, national parks and courtyards.With 57 rooms and suites, The Bayleaf also has 5 modern meetings rooms, a 280 capacity ballroom, an all day dining panoramic restaurant on the 9th floor, a roof deck al fresco lounge on the deck and a rustic Churros cafe on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bayleaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayleaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.