We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humidity is an issue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayleaf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bayleaf to your Saves list
The Bayleaf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Hannut, Belgium
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Humidity is an issue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in the Bayleaf twice. Once we arrived and once before we left the Philippines. We choose the hotel because of the many positive reviews on tripadvisor and finally we have been disappointed. Let me start with the positive: Very friendly, gentle people and an excellent service. A wonderful view from the restaurant on the top of the building. Food (both breakfast and evening) is ok, but not exceptional. For example, the fruit juice in the morning is no fresh juice, like we had in some other places.
The more negative: The quality of the air in the rooms. The first time, we had a room with no window and it smelled very badly and it was very humid. There were very friendly and added a perfume in the room, but that doesn't make the quality of the air better. I thought it was maybe just a bad room and therefore, we decided to sleep there a second time, at the end of our vacation and asked for a room "with a view"`. Even if it was less, the room as still smelling and feeling humidity. The problem of the building is that there isn't any window that can be opened for aeration, so the quality of the air is bad (well, for people sensitive to it like me.) I wouldn't go back, but for one less sensitive then I am, this can be a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    319
    49
    18
    7
See reviews for
125
391
94
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I've been very very curious about this building along intramuros whenever i passed by this area. i asked my driver what it was then he told me that the building I've been very curious about is actually a hotel. wow! indeed a perfect blend for old manila. building structure is not too high nor fancy to ruin the area of Intramuros. rooms are actually modern, clean and simple. breakfast is nothing fancy. however, staff are obviously OJT's from the school beside the hotel. but not really an issue. Safety is good. you won't be able to go up nor down without the keycard of the room. wifi is provided with user access.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We loved the Bayleaf. Very comfortable, perfect location and above all friendly and helpful staff. The only thing holding back the fifth star was a not very spacious room. But the room was well designed and very comfortable. The nightlight in the bathroom should be copied everywhere. Breakfast service was excellent and the rooftop restaurant for dinner. Terrific value too. Not a boutique hotel, just a very very good hotel at a cracking price.
Oliver and Sue Gillie. 19 March 2014

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My flight to Dumageute was cancelled by Cebu Pacific....grrrrrr....so in the mad scramble to rebook and find an overnight I looked on Tripadvisor while in line. It had good reviews so I booked.
The hotel is 45 minutes from T3 and as usual, Manila traffic was a nightmare. I had offers of 700P flat rate but decided to go with metered taxi. Suprise! It was less than 300P....
The hotel is located in Intermuros which is a nice historical area. My room was 705 with a nice view of the fort.
9 Spoons had some good food. The 4 cheese pizza was tasty and the Cajun Alfredo was very good as well.
The room was very clean, nicely modern and the SM mall was only a very short very scary 5 minute pedicab ride away.
The roof top bar was nice and the views and sunset drinks were exactly what was needed!!
The staff gave out breakfast sandwiches for my O-So-Early 6 am checkout. A nice touch.
Expensive overall? Yes
Worth it? Maybe
Stay again? Yes

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

It was our great stay at this hotel when spent 3 days at BayLeaf. Our room was surprisingly spacious and modern. The restaurant on top floor with beautiful view that offered great food and wine, we had a great and romantic dinner here. We recommend this hotel as a top hotel in Malina center.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Located in historic Intramuros area this is definitely the best hotel in Manila. Very nice rooms and staff. Great bar/restaurant on top of hotel with beautiful views. Food is definitely on the pricier side in comparison to restaurants in the area though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My fiancé and I have had the pleasure of staying at the Bayleaf three times for weeks at a time and we will continue to book a room here each time that we are in Manila. We did, honestly, feel that the service in the Sky Deck restaurant had gone a little downhill but we are, nonetheless, very happy here. The staff are friendly and helpful to the point that some of them have become our friends. Help is always available and every need is met cheerfully and efficiently. Our Executive Suite was spacious and had a wonderful view. The housekeeping staff were prompt and excellent. Each request was granted immediately and expertly. We are returning in June and are already excited about it. HIGHLT RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. The Executive Suites are reasonably priced and quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayleaf

Address: Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bayleaf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayleaf is the only boutique hotel in the heart of the country's premiere heritage site, the Intramuros -the seat of Spanish government more established than 400 years ago. Located inside massive walls, Intramuros is home to very old churches, museums, national parks and courtyards.With 57 rooms and suites, The Bayleaf also has 5 modern meetings rooms, a 280 capacity ballroom, an all day dining panoramic restaurant on the 9th floor, a roof deck al fresco lounge on the deck and a rustic Churros cafe on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bayleaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayleaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.