We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in the Intramuros area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayleaf

Save Saved
You added The Bayleaf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bayleaf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 103 hotels in Manila
Elmhurst, Illinois
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in the Intramuros area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Bayleaf is great for touring the Intramuros and the Rizal Park areas of Manila. It has a modern design and offers all the ammenities that visitors look in a reasonably priced hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are very functional. Complimentary wi-fi is offered.
You can walk to Fort Santiago and the Intramuros attractions, including churches, Casa Manila Museum, etc. The buffet breakfast was excellent, with many choices, even a made to order egg station. The hotel also offers buffet dinner and/or drinks on the rooftop terrace, which has great views of the city. It is walking distance to Rizal Park and a short taxi ride to the Mall of America.
We used their services for pick up at the airport, one less thing to worry about.
Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the city walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    225
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
94
283
73
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Bayleaf Hotel is the definition of how a hotel should be. Not pretentious but covering the needs of any traveller.

It provides outstanding service at a reasonable price. Its location, will serve as the best asset to walk around Intramuros. It is an oasis of calm in the eclectic pace of Manila.

Dinner at its top floor terrace is so pleasant that there might be the risk of becoming so popular that it might be spolied.

Overall, the strategy of this hotel seems to have gathered any travelled needs in order to be a reference in Manila. Intramuros is under renovation and refurbishment. The Bayleaf can be seen as the starting point of that change.

There was something that it seems to be a common denominator of an extensive numbers of hotels and restaurants. When they see someone travelling alone, they tend to think that it is not a good business assigning a table in the restaurant and they always try to offer you a seat in the bar or in the worst location of the dinning room. Solo travellers also pay their bills so they should be given the same consideration as if a couple or a group.

Room Tip: Better to face the golf court. Those rooms in the facade may be noisy during the day because it is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a great weekend stay at this hotel. Check in was a breeze and rooms were above my expectations. Very modern and the best bed ever. Bathroom ammenities were sufficient. TV inside the room was impressive with great reception.The location had some challenges due to the traffic and nearby schools. Taxi is easy is to get by and the hotel provides transportaion as well. Breakfast had great selections and was well prepared by their young chefs. Hope they will add more juice variety to their menu. The 9Spoons Sky Deck dining experience was the best in Manila. Excellent food plus great service with a fantastic view of Manila!!! I salute the management team for such a great weekend!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Glen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I really like the Bayleaf - it is a good quality hotel with great service and a great position. The rooftop restaurant is wonderful on a hot summers night, and the band playing there on the weekend nights was one of the best we have heard. The service from staff is exceptional. Our only issues were that there were no tissues in the room, and a lack of mirrors near the power points for young girls who like to use hair straighteners and other hair paraphernalia!! Also the breakfast was a little below standard for a high quality hotel, with no fruit juice (only a watery lemon drink) and a hot chocolate drink was only available at extra charge. But these are small criticisms of what is a good hotel overall

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course on the front side of the hotel are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuxi, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Due to a massive delay getting out of Boracay I only got to stay here from 10pm until 9am. I still loved this place. After a very long day it was perfect to arrive in my twin room and order room service. The room is spacious with a great bathroom, good wifi and TV and comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet is great and has good views of Manila. The airport is not far if traffic is smooth and the Mall of Asia is also nearby. I will be staying here again - the staff are wonderful and I have yet to check out the rooftop bar or the nearby streets of Intramuros. It's good value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked directly at the hotel web-site, it worked wonderfuly well. Our request of 2 rooms nearby each other was for once granted, in fact they were right Next to each other.
We planned for a 2 night stay, but a 16 hour delay by Airline reduced our Manila stopover to a 1 night stand. We e-mailed the hotel around noon of our first night, and our first night was canceled without any charges at all. Great service!

Upon arrival we were greeted by kind and effective receptionists. Lobby is a bit small and in need of seating capacity. Not much chance to sit down while waiting for whatever you wait for in a hotel lobby.

We found our superior rooms to modest in size, bathroom however big..Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable.


The roof top bar which opens at 17.00 (5.00 pm) is a great place for a drink or dinner.
Breakfast was a disappointment. In terms of traditional American or Continental breakfast choices the selection was poor.

All in all we found the hotel to offer good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with very good value for the money. The staff is very service minded and helpful. Unfortunately my wife encountered a digestional problem and the hotel immediately provided assistance from a nurse. (The problem was not realated to the food we had at the hotel) The food at the hotel restaurant had a high standard. Hotel location is very convenient with several of the old intramourus attractions in walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bayleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayleaf

Address: Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bayleaf 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayleaf is the only boutique hotel in the heart of the country's premiere heritage site, the Intramuros -the seat of Spanish government more established than 400 years ago. Located inside massive walls, Intramuros is home to very old churches, museums, national parks and courtyards.With 57 rooms and suites, The Bayleaf also has 5 modern meetings rooms, a 280 capacity ballroom, an all day dining panoramic restaurant on the 9th floor, a roof deck al fresco lounge on the deck and a rustic Churros cafe on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Bayleaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayleaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.