We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Hotel Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Armada Hotel Manila to your Saves list
Armada Hotel Manila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2108 M.H. Del Pilar Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Centara Hotel Manila)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Split, Croatia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hotel is in good location, but you will need a taxi to go to near big shopping centar. Pool was on top floor, and it was nice. Not so many sun beds, but also there was not so many guests. Parts of hotel where not finished in time of our stay. Wifi was free, even on pool. Breakfast was great, but in small restaurant. Bad thing was front desk staff, was not helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Armada Hotel Manila!

Thank you for choosing Armada Hotel Manila and for appreciating our swimming pool, Wifi and our breakfast - we will ensure that we will maintain our good service and cleanliness to meet our guest satisfaction.

Regretfully your stay was marred because of the Front desk staff, rest assured that we will re train them to ensure that this type of incident will not occur in the future.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to being of service again in the very near future.


Best Regards,

Maricar Dy
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    61
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
50
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My kids enjoyed the hotel since they have a nice and clean pool at the rooftop. The room is very spacious and clean with very good wifi connection.My baby daughter was very happy with the view of the ocean..

Though the surrounding area may not be very pleasant, i will recommend the hotel to my friends since its very accessible, nearby attractions are StarCity, MOA, Luneta, OceanPark, Robinsons Place Manila, etc.

All in all, we had a grand time spending the holidays in the hotel..

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Armada Hotel Manila!

We are very delighted to hear that your family especially your kids enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel.
Many agree with you that our outdoor swimming pool has stunning views of Manila Bay and it is one of the top features of our hotel.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and for recommending our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back to Armada Hotel Manila!

Best Regards,

Maricar M. Dy
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silang, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights. Room is very spacious and clean. Wifi always available. Staff very courteous and helpful. Food is much ok compared to other hotels in malate area ive been to. Parking is not ok due to limited space in the basement however security guards helped me to secure a space in front of the hotel. Will come back..

Room Tip: Specify if you want a no smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Armada Hotel Manila!

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel and it is such a pleasure to receive compliments about our staff, your comments had been passed to them and it was greatly appreciated as this will inspire them to delight even more guests in the future.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts; we look forward to welcoming you back to Armada Hotel Manila!

Best Regards,

Maricar M. Dy
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My stay in this hotel is accidental, or, as a consequence of my being bumped off from my confirmed reservation in a hotel with the same sounding name: Ramada Hotel in Binondo, Manila, which will deserve another review after I have consumed my re-booking there this December 1.

Honestly, I have not heard of this hotel previously probably because of its location which is in an obscure, dimly-lit end of MH Del Pilar stretch in Malate, Manila, which becomes rather dreadful to walk along at night. Yet, to my surprise, I have enjoyed my stay in this hotel.

PROS:
The room where I stayed in Rm1109 is spacious and clean, toilet fixtures (shower, shower hose, faucets, dryer, bidet, etc.) are new and excellent. There are three sets of towel (as opposed to two sets in other hotels), and the toiletries are fine (except that there is no shaving kit and comb), There are night robes, safety deposit box, laundry bag cloths, wide clothes cabinet, several hangers, large-sized toilet and bathroom, 32" LCD TV with clear cable channels signal and a comfortable king sized bed. There's also a fridge (with no freezer) and a lounge chair with leg rest stool. The air-conditioning system is also working well with no noise and my room has windows facing two sides of the city, one fronting the beautiful scenery of Manila Bay in the west and the other the street scene of Taft Avenue in the East. Service is also good, with everybody in the hotel cheerful and very helpful. There's also a complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity and the daily newspaper ration. The kitchen countertop is equipped with Electric Kettle and Ice Bucket (which has no use since the fridge does not have a freezer to produce ice). The place is a about 50 meters from Malate Church and near Roxas Boulevard Malate Plaza where restos, malls, night spots, offices, 24-hour convenience stores, embassies and other hotels are proximate. The buffet breakfast, though not much of a food variety, is excellent with good tasting and well-prepared food and restaurant staff very helpful. I enjoyed the infinity pool at the roof top as the facilites there are clean and well maintained. Since I am a gym rat, I always find time to visit hotel gyms whenever there are and I must say that Armada has one of the finest gym equipment in town. They have hi-tech treadmills and stationary bikes that let's you watch TV, surf the internet, listen to radio and all the other features you can do with touch-screen monitors that are attached to each one of them while doing your work out, the weights are clean and in A-1 condition and there is a variety of machines to work up every part of your body.

CONS:
As stared above, the location is quite disappointing as it is situated in a rather remote portion of the Malate tourist zone where you might be worried going out on foot at night since the place gets really dark and there are some bystanders in the area. There is no problem though when you want to stroll in the day. If checking in was a breeze, check out was rather slow, eating up about 15 minutes considering there were only two of us who are checking out at the same time that day.

Room Tip: Book through the net to save you money as the published rate of this hotel is twice the rates you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel and it is such a pleasure to receive compliments about our facilities in the hotel.
Many agree with you that we have the finest gym equipment and our outdoor swimming pool has stunning views of Manila Bay and it is one of the top features of Armada Hotel Manila.
Regretfully, your departure was marred when your check-out took longer than you anticipated. . We will retrain and amend our check-out process to ensure that this type of event will not occur in the future.
Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts we look forward to welcoming you back to Armada Hotel Manila!

Sincerely,
Maricar M. Dy
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybrook, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I recently spent approx 18 days in your hotel Rm 1205. Your staff was friendly but not overly attentive in the resturant. While there everytime we went to eat your wait staff never approched us to inquire if we wanted coffee/water, we had to wave our arms to attract their attention to be served. The food was tastey but not overly so and was priced approx three times what the local resturants were charging. Your rooms were nice but we only had Wifi the first 2 days there and I was required to open the door to the hall or go out and sit on the stairs to use my computer. The water pressure was poor and your hotel didnot have international calling allowed on the phones nor could you call local cell phones from your phone. Overall I rate your establishment a 3 out of 5 and that only because of your frontdesk staff and housecleaning. I do not recommend you beds either they are hard and uncomfortable,, your bar was closed the whole trip, your Tai rest. on the roof was poorly staffed and did not even carry what was advertised on it's menu..Your establishment needs alot of rework.

Room Tip: Looking out of our room the view was of the other rooms window, the beds are hard, the resturant sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback. We greatly appreciate you for taking the time to share your experienced during your stay with us. We will ensure you that we will give recognition to all Front Desk and Housekeeping staff for a job well done.
Sorry to hear that your breakfast was marred because of the inconsistent service at the Caliber Restaurant and that it left such a lasting impression on you. I will discuss it with our Food and Beverage Manager and to our Chef to ensure this is addressed with the staff and management concerned.
Similarly, we regret that you encountered problems in our Wifi connection however; we upgraded our internet system, which caused some unexpected poor connection during the time of your stay. We are also currently working most closely to give the full service of our telephone system.
We deeply apologize that we did not meet your expectations; we hope you will allow us the opportunity to even serve you better in the future.
For future reservations you may email me directly at rdm@armadamanila.com .I would be glad to assist you.

Sincerely,
Maricar M. Dy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Overall a very pleasant four night stay. Chose to have a premium room large and well appointed excellent bed. Bathroom adequate shower over bath. Aspect - we had a rear room which had an open view across the city. Staff always very willing to help although the reception staff were a little difficult to engage! Restaurant at roof top lacked atmosphere but I did enjoy a snack. The pool although relatively small had a brilliant view to the bay - very clean and well presented.

Room Tip: Premium room was worth the extra. Access is not ideal but I felt safe at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Armada Hotel Manila. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and the willingness of our staff. However, we regret that you encounter some difficulties with the reception staff, we have taken serious notes with your comments and will ensure to discuss it with them.
We will look forward to the pleasure in welcoming you back at Armada Hotel Manila

Sincerely,
Maricar M. Dy
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here on an unscheduled stop in manila (flight canceled). Staff are efficient & friendly, room clean& modern

Pros:
Staff helpful & friendly
Rooftop pool had great view and clean
Rooftop restaurant reasonably priced (thai food) and great view

Cons:
Too far from airport (30-50 mins depending on traffic)
Massage too expensive (800 in house, 300-400 outside hotel)

Would use another hotel in future due to location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel during your stop in Manila and for appreciating the friendliness of our staff as well as the restaurant and facilities of the hotel.
As you have mentioned, that our massage is too expensive- Our Spa Manager is currently working on various spa promotions for our guest satisfaction. We hope the distance of the hotel from the airport will not discourage you to book with us again.
Once again thank you so much for your kind feedback and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you once again.

Sincerely,
Maricar M. Dy
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armada Hotel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel Manila

Address: 2108 M.H. Del Pilar Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Centara Hotel Manila)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Hotel Manila 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Armada Hotel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Hotel Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.