We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms in not-so-nice part of Manila” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Hotel Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Armada Hotel Manila to your Saves list
Armada Hotel Manila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2108 M.H. Del Pilar Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Centara Hotel Manila)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms in not-so-nice part of Manila”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel has a modest lobby and breakfast area. It is situated in a less preferred part of Malate many blocks from the bay. The room was very nice and comfortable and clean. The brekfast was just OK. I am from USA - I think most guests are Asian. I would recommend if you get a really good deal - otherwise, no.

Room Tip: Choose upper rooms to get above the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for having taken the time to offer your words of appreciation, we are very delighted to hear that you appreciate the homely ambiance of our lobby and “The World” restaurant. We also like to thank you for appreciating the cleanliness of our rooms - we will ensure that we will maintain our good service to meet our guest satisfaction.

As you mention in your reviews that the breakfast is just OK, rest assured we will discuss this to our Chef to add more variety of our International breakfast buffet to exceed the guest satisfaction.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to being of service again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    70
    41
    8
    10
See reviews for
29
58
21
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I sayed 13 night here at this hotel and i loved my stay here/ It was just a short cab ride away from the mal od asia and robinson mall. The kids loved the pool but we didnt try the gym. Great breakfast buffet and the service was great. The front desk staff was very helpful and even when i left there to go other places they kept my big luggage there unti i returned so i had less to carry. This as my first time in the phillippines and they made me feel very welcome and when i go back again i will be staying there. I only had the deluxe room whiule i was there so i cant say anything about the other rooms but my rooms was very big and very comforttable and the room service was very fast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Centara Hotel Manila!

Thank you so much for your kind feedback, we are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel and it is such a pleasure to receive compliments about our staff, your comments had been passed to them and it was greatly appreciated.

On your next visit, please have time to visit and try our Gym, we have a wide array of exercise equipment that will inspire you to maintain your healthy lifestyle.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and for recommending our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Hotel Manila!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is an old hotel that has ben totally gutted and rebuilt as new. Nice room decorated in muted tomes, new so very fresh and clean. Good breakfast, no hotel bar in the evenings. Fair size rooftop pool, and the gym was OK. General sevice good with excellent room service! The area might be a bit "challenging" if this is your first visit to Malate. Manila Zoo, Quiorino ave, Baywalk, Malate church and fountain and Remidos Circle are all within 5 mins walk.

Room Tip: The higher the better, for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Centara Hotel Manila!

Thank you for choosing Centara Hotel Manila! We are pleased to inform you that Centara Hotel Manila is a new hotel built from the ground up. As you mention in your reviews that the breakfast is good and the rooms are clean, your comments had been passed to the Chef and the Executive housekeeper, they are very delighted to hear that you appreciate the buffet breakfast and the freshness and earthy design of our rooms- we will ensure that we will maintain our good service to meet our guest satisfaction.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to being of service again in the very near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We staying in Centra Hotel Manila at a room 1007 for the last 4 days.
Our room is pretty nice, large and with a good view on Manila Bay.
We have problem with our bathroom only - very bad smell inside of bathroom.
Water comes between a bathtub and a wall and stucks under the bathtub.
I think this is a reason of the bad smell.
If all rooms were made by the same style, the bad smell should be everywhere: inside of all bathrooms.
All another is nice: staff is friendly, breakfast is testy, a price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Should avoid of a bad smell inside of a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Centara Hotel Manila!

Thank you most sincerely for having taken the time to offer your words of appreciation for our rooms, the service of our staff and our breakfast, it is such a pleasure to receive compliments, your comments had been passed to the respective Department Heads and it was greatly appreciated- we will ensure that we will maintain our good service to meet our guest satisfaction.

Regretfully, your stay was marred due to the problems of the bathrooms. Rest assured we will revisit the health and safety aspects of our bathrooms and will discuss this matter to our Executive housekeeper and Chief Engineer.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to being of service again in the very near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Good restaurant (not so cheap though), big, clean rooms, good beds, clean bathroom (shower only), very nice staff (they helped me promptly with wifi connection). If you have business to do in Malate (near the port, not too far from Mall of Asia), this hotel might be a smart choice.
I did not try the pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Centara Hotel Manila!
Thank you so much for your kind feedback, we are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel and it is such a pleasure to receive compliments about our staff, your comments had been passed to them and it was greatly appreciated.

On your next visit, please have time to visit our outdoor swimming pool located on the hotel rooftop has a dedicated sundeck offering stunning views of Manila Bay..

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and for recommending our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Hotel Manila!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in the Premium Suite and loved every minute of it, had a hard time leaving the room it was so homely, spacious and inviting. Room keeping was excellent very polite and respectful of our personal requirements. Dining room staff were very attentive and gracious and the food was very good.Front desk and security were also very helpful and efficient. Maybe we had better service than most because we left small tips for the services each day ?? I will deffinately book here again

Room Tip: small tips will get you better service although it is not expected
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very nice clean hotel with spacious rooms. Particular thankyou to the reception staff who made our stay great. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good (they do not have a licence for alcohol at the moment) it was by far the best food i had in the two weeks i spent in the Philippines. The breakfast had a fantastic choice lots of meats fish or traditional eggs bacon etc. On the last night we was there we had to check out at 3am they brought us up tea coffee toast etc what a welcome that was. Thank you very much for a brilliant stay Carole & Toni

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armada Hotel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel Manila

Address: 2108 M.H. Del Pilar Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Centara Hotel Manila)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Hotel Manila 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Armada Hotel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Hotel Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.