We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Roces

Casa Roces
1153 JP Laurel cor. Aguado S | San Miguel, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
+632 735 58 96
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 766 Restaurants in Manila
Cuisines: Filipino, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We came here on my daughter’s birthday and found it a bit packed. Thanks to the valet service, we didn’t have to worry about the parking and were led to a waiting room for a few minutes after which we were directed to the dining area. The place is an old house converted to a very peaceful restaurant. The truffle soup was delicious along with the main course of salmon and lamb caldereta. The service was also pretty good and so was the environment. The best thing for me was the setting of this place which actually made me feel like sitting at my own home. There’s something very enchanting about this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antipolo, Rizal, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rewarding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was our second time at Casa Roces. My family was too accustomed in their discreet ambience that made us decide to come back. We were already bounded by our expectations but the good thing was Casa Roces never failed to impress us - from the exquisite food to the quality of the service the staff offers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was invited to dinner with friends old and new. I had no expectations, as I wasn't even told where we were going. We were taken into Casa Roces, and from the entrance, I knew I was in for a treat. Feeling rather under-dressed, I was worried I would embarrass myself. But Casa Roces is a casual place but with fancy decor.

The meals were a good size, very well presented, and very very tasty. Our party of 7 had an assortment, from fish to pasta to meats. Everyone enjoyed the meals, with no complaints. Mine was an excellent pork dish.

The service was good, reasonably timed, and quick to our call. The atmosphere was quiet, but not dead. There was no loud music, loud customers, and the lighting was not dim so that we couldn't see each other. Table space was excellent and not crowded. The table itself was large enough for comfortable space between each of us.

I look forward to coming here again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

After the ballet recital of my 4-year old daughter in Resorts World, we decided to travel all the way to Malacanang to visit once again my favorite restaurant (due to proximity to our house and delicious food). I also like the homey ambiance of old Spanish style house. Very elegant yet so comfy.

We ordered all their salads, Oxtail Kare-Kare, callos, humba, pescado en salsa verde, chicken inasal and for desert malacanang frozen souffle.

I like their warm breaded goat cheese salad. It has that sweet and mildly sour taste that goes perfect with the arugula leaves. Since we're a big group, we had 2 orders of Kare-kare. It was delicious but the tenderness was not consistent. In one plate it was really soft but in ours it wasn't . That's why we didn't finish it. They also have Kare-kare risotto on that day as the chef special but I want the risotto a little bit drier. Their risotto is too soupy almost like arroz caldo. I don't know if it is intentionally baked like that. The pescado is just a baked cream dory. I like that one too. The callos, my hubby's favorite, was rich, creamy and very satisfying.


The Malacanang frozen souffle is good for 3-4 persons. It got mixed reviews from our group since it has a combination of lemon taste and ice cream but we all like the nuts that goes with it. I wish it was more creamy.

The servers were very attentive as well.

Compared with the other restos I've visited, the pricing of Casa Roces is a little on the high side but I think it's still affordable for most.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Back in time !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spent my 57th natal day with the family. The buffet prepared for us is good. My siblings and my pamangkins enjoy the bonding. It's good to have a place like this for us to experience the nostalgic moment of the past!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Roces also viewed

 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Casa Roces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Roces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.