We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Knight Hotel Intramuros

Save Saved
You added White Knight Hotel Intramuros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Knight Hotel Intramuros
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza San Luis Complex General Luna Street corner Urdaneta Street | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines (Walled City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 103 hotels in Manila
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Great Character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had one night to spend in Manila before an excursion elsewhere in Philippines. Our travel agency chose White Knight Intramuros for its value. We enjoyed local ambiance, a quality stay, and a fine location.

White Knight Intramuros is located in tourist friendly old town Manila. It is billed as a budget hotel with rooms starting at 1750 peso per person [ approx. $80 for a double]. The property seemed better than a big city tourist zone budget hotel because of the service level and the quaintness. The hotel is in an authentic old building retrofitted with modern amenities including air conditioning and internet.. It has a solid feel. The loby was small, but there were quaint inner courtyards and a welcoming coffee shop. Upstairs there were wide stairways and hallways. There is no elevator so porters had to carry our bags to our 3rd floor room. Every night a guitar player provided music in one of the courtyards. There was some street noise early in the evening, but we had no problem sleeping.

Our room was clean except for a few scraps accidently left in one corner. The linens were nice and the beds were comfortable. Our room had adequate furnishings and lots of space. Upon first use, the bathroom toilet plugged. Repairmen were there in less than 10 minutes. The bathroom had a few sewer odors but was otherwise nicely tiled, clean, and free of mold. The maids hay have been interrupted while getting our room ready because there was a dust rag and a burned out light bulb left in the room, just one coffee cup, and no hand towels.

The hotel has good internet with a fast solid connection.

The staff spoke good English and there was a constant attitude of “hello, may I help you”. We had reserved a double room yet the hotel placed us in a room with two twin beds. Once again they accommodated by pushing the beds together. We asked to store luggage for 10 days while we toured and our request was accommodated cheerfully. The one exception to staff excellence was with checkin. The front desk clerk could not seem to get things right – from room type, number of nights, and wireless code.

The included breakfast was cooked to order. They offered substantial menu of eggs, bacon, waffles, pancakes, coffee, juice, fruit, etc. Service was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    73
    27
    13
    9
See reviews for
29
70
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights in White Knights Hotel in Manila in April 2012. The hotel has a very good location in Intramuros just few steps away from St. Augustin Church and other historical monuments. It is a house with charme as it is in Casa Manila, a fine colonial style building. The room was really nice and big enough, the bathroom better than in some 5* hotels. The hotel staff was very friendly eventhough we had a very early departure after our first night and a late arrival 2 days later for our second night. The price for this nice accomodation in the heart of Manila was really good. There might be some cheaper places in Manila but the few hundred more pesos are really worth to spend here. My only critic is that I could not manage to reserve a room just via email, I had to use the room reservation system on their homepage providing credit card details which I try to avoid because of security reasons. However everything went fine and I was just charged 10% of the daily rate for the reservation, the rest was payable in cash at the hotel desk. I would definitely recommend for everybody to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

White Knight hotel's location came out as a very good spot to book in mainly because the attractions in Intramuros are just a few walks away, plus the scenery is designed to make you feel a good aura. having a classic hotel with a reasonable amount for money is so fab.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching Sarawak Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Good to stay in White Knight Hotel Intramuros if you are interested to see old spanish building and for sight seeing.
But, in this hotel there is no Iron and Iron Board.

Walking distance to Fort Santiago, San Agustin Church, Manila Cathedral and Rizal Park.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My family and i went for on ocular visit of White Knight yesterday. The hotel occupies a strategic position within the Walled City of Intramuros. It is just a stone’s throw-away from the historic church of San Agustin. The hotel is housed in an old preserved building. The area at the back of the hotel has a charming balcony (where a live band plays in the evening). It opens to a garden promenade and a seating area where you can order your drinks. At the far end of the promenade is a wishing well. It acts as an interesting center-piece to the dome-shaped entrance of a stone chamber. Vines creep along the skeletal canopy of the well to further enhance its country look. The exclusive chamber serves as a function room for a party or a wedding reception. I could surmise that this out-door setting could be very romantic in the evening. There are night lamps and decorating lights that could give the place a warm glow and a suitable ambiance. However, the lobby of the hotel is not impressive. The wing of the lobby closest to the garden is cramped due to the dining tables and chairs that are lined up on both sides. This is where they serve meals for the hotel guests. The lobby’s saving grace is the graceful and carpeted grand staircase that leads to the second and third floors. The hotel has no elevator but the stairs could easily be negotiated because it is wide and has a balustrade that one can grip on. The rooms have cement tiles (not carpeted) and contain only the basic furnishings such as a queen-sized bed, a television and a small refrigerator. The bathroom has no bath-tub. The windows and the balconies have the view of the street or the next building. Guests will have to contend with street-parking because the hotel has no exclusive parking area. The hotel is just reasonably priced considering the limited amenities and the dated and worn look of the interior and furnishings. The place is ideal for budget-conscious tourists on a tour of Intramuros and couples looking for a quaint venue for an intimate wedding reception.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolmarden, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed in a suite. We can really recommend that. It is a big and nice room. The staff is helpful and serviceminded. They let us use our room until five o'clock in the afternoon our last day in Manila so we could take a shower before leaving and that for free.

The air condition is very noisy, so we had some problems sleeping.

A warning for the restaurant. We ound breakfast okey but the food we tried for lunch and inner was not eatabel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urdaneta City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Attended our convention last February and book one night in this hotel to my surprise I book a deluxe room and when I arrived they upgrade it to suite..I don't know there's a hotel in the middle of Intramuros..5 steps to San Augustine church and only at the back of Manila Cathedral..The staff were courteous and there is a band playing at night however you cant hear it when you are in the suite room downstairs.
The Only flaw in this hotel is the parking lot they dont have a secured parking lot..You could park in front of The church wherein you will be charge of a fee or park at your own risk in the side of the bldg.However, this hotel is commendable and a great place to stay...YOu can also have your reception here coz the church is a walking dictance.
we will return here next year when convention comes..

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor are more suitable however they are suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Knight Hotel Intramuros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Knight Hotel Intramuros

Address: Plaza San Luis Complex General Luna Street corner Urdaneta Street | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 103 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Knight Hotel Intramuros 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Knight Hotel Intramuros in Manila is located within the Plaza San Luis Complex. It offers accommodations in Manila, Philippines that are air-conditioned and filled with the essential amenities you'd need, such as flat-screen cable TV, coffee and tea maker, and private toilet and bath with hot/cold water. Some of its amenities include Coco Bango Cafe, Wi-Fi access, massage service, and airport and city transfers. While staying here you can visit some tourist spots like Fort Santiago, Statues of King Carlos IV, and Manila Ocean Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your White Knight Hotel Intramuros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Knight Hotel Intramuros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.