We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fireplace

The Fireplace
Hyatt Hotel Ermita, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 766 Restaurants in Manila
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Epernay, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good food here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Fireplace is a Hyatt class restaurant, great food, heavy on the steak with a bit of seafood. Great place, with good service. Up market for the area. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Real Steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I just love this place! The steaks are always top notch and cooked to perfection, the service is always good and they have a nice wine cellar. The decor and ambiance here scream steakhouse if you have not been here I highly recommend you make it a point to visit. The price is on the upper end of the scale but worth every penny.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Vastly overpriced, but tasty food ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hyatt for 3 nights for the first time in about 6 years. We'd eaten at "The Fireplace" before so thought we'd give it another try.

The restaurant itself is very nice, a real pleasure to be in. The staff is very professional and polite, some of the best in the 5 star hotels I've stayed in in Manila.

The food is vey tasty indeed but is no way worth the very high price that comes with it. For the price I'd expect cuisine that borders on Michelin star standards. I had the scallop salad to start and this basically consisted of a bowl with salad chucked in, a piece of bacon and 6 or so scallops thrown in. There seemed to be very little effort made in the presentation of the dish. The fillet steak was tasty and cooked as ordered but again was not worth the high price even more so considering that side dishes cost extra!!

I've ate in some exceptional restaurants before that charge similar prices as the fireplace but provide so much more for the money

All in all it is a pleasant dining experience but in no way justifies the hefty price tag. I will not be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“really good steak but really expensive too, and you have to pay for the side dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I went to The Fireplace because I was craving for a good steak and I read several good reviews about this posh restaurant. Located within the Hyatt Hotel, the place is indeed classy and has a romantic atmosphere. The waiters were attentive and the service impeccable. Since my husband does not eat beef (he doesn't know what he's missing!), he had the prawns as well as a scallop appetizer. The scallops were plump and attractive but they were tasteless, probably from being frozen. The prawns were just so-so. My steak, however, is probably the best I have ever tasted in Manila. It was tender, juicy, flavorful, and seasoned and cooked just perfectly. All good things come with a price, though, and at The Fireplace, that price is really steep! What irks me is that for that price, they should throw in free sides. But no, you have to pay for each side dish you order! So if you don't order any side dish, I guess your steak will come unadorned, just a slab of meat on a clean plate. Really, how much do potatoes cost? I'm sure you can afford to throw in some spuds or some greens for that price, can't you?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Chocolate Soup! <3”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went for my sister's birthday two years ago, and I remember the whole family being blown away by every single order. When I went for my graduation this April, the food was still above average, but it just wasn't as magical as the first time? The ambience is cozy, classy, and comfortable; the servers, and the chef who struck a conversation with us, were all very friendly and knowledgeable; but the absolute constant highlight was the chocolate soup. Since it's a pretty pricey place, you may opt to have dinner elsewhere and have dessert here. You won't regret it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fireplace also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to The Fireplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fireplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.