We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buoy

The Buoy
640 Pablo Ocampo St, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 698 Restaurants in Manila
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Darwin, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have known the restaurant for more than ten years, used to be " JURISS CAFE" along M. H. Del Pilar. We visit Philippines every year some times twice and now that we have a direct flight from Darwin to Manila, we visit 3 to 4 times a year and we always enjoyed visiting the restaurant, you always feel a friendly welcome. We are always very delighted with the quality of their delicious international and local meals, also enjoyed talking to Rinus & his business partner Bjorn, while drinking on the bar they're very pleasant, friendly person to talk to.
We highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a great meal,good value, friendly and excellent service with a relaxing atmosphere.
Albert & Tricia, Northern Territory Australia

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
QC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing! Great bands playing every week =)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have been in this restaurant recently. Luckily it was a Saturday night and there was a band playing. It was great band, i particularly enjoyed the last part with the band jamming with one of the customers. He played a lot of familiar songs that made the audience sing with him.

The restaurant itself sends a sense of relaxation. It looks well maintained and clean. The staff is always smiling and you can already see their rapport with their regular customers. I especially like their satay sauce with their authentic Belgian fries!!!!

I strongly recommend this restaurant. If you want good food, great service and MUSIC come and visit them =)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly and Relaxing..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I first came across this restaurant in August 2011 when i stayed at Orchid Garden Suites. It was a welcoming discovery as i thouroughly enjoyed my time in the restaurant with friends and enjoyed the meals..all first class. The staff were excellent and went out of there way to make sure we were comfortable. This was the first time to meet one of the owners, Rinus, and from the moment i met him, he showed great respect and welcomed me with nice cold San Mig.
I went back in my latest visit on the 13th June 2012 and was not expecting Rinus to remember me, but to my surprise, he did and offered me a welcoming San Mig. I also met his other partner in the business whose name is Bjorn, and found him to be a very pleasant person and easy to talk to. Staff had changed and only recognised one of the girls.
I would strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a great meal, great service and excellent atmosphere.
Ken, Brisbane

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Look no further if you're lookiing for good food and friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

You will find a warm welcome from owner Rinus and his friendly staff at this Malate restaurant. The menu is wide-ranging in tastes and styles, always well-presented. There will normally be weekly Specials to tempt you. Not the cheapest eat in town but the quality makes it very reasonably priced. The Buoy attracts a multinational crowd, proving it offers something for
everyone....and is a great place to drop into whether you're looking for a bite to eat, a drink or a game of pool. Definitely recommended!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philipinnes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a great place for a good meal in the chaos of Manila. You are assured of a very warm and friendly welcome from Rinus and his excellent staff and the menu is varied and very good. A good place to relax with many regular customers with a very convivial atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buoy also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to The Buoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.