We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 3 star hotel in binondo manila” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manila Grand Opera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Manila Grand Opera Hotel to your Saves list
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
#925 Rizal Avenue corner Doroteo Jose Sts. | Sta. Cruz, Manila, Luzon 1003, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Luzon, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice 3 star hotel in binondo manila”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

Nice hotel for its cheap price. Clean rooms n good service, although if you like good food better go outside nearby restaurants. If your a non smoker, be sure to chek the smell since this has a casino thats why many guest smokes. Overall this place is ok if you want a good budget hotel in manila.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
22
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

If you want to spend a little more and get a great room you can't go past this hotel! I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

plus:
1.the hotel staff are friendly, courteous, obliged in your inquiries/complains and need for assistance
2.free wi-fi 24/7
3.cheap at 2000php/day or 2200php/day (if room with windows, but the view is not worth it)
4.free scheduled shuttle service to SM MOA and san lazaro , and they make sure you are on time and picked up on time
5. clean and decent pool, sauna and jacuzzi for free
6.cheap masssage room service at 500php/hr
7.passable supply of toiletries and towels
8. enough room amenities for a 3-star hotel

minus:

1.the worst free-breakfast ive ever had...soggy egg whatever kind of egg cooking...and basically no variety...so if you are staying for more than 2 days...you will opt not to have breakfast
2.if you are unfortunate and your room is near the chinese/korean tourists rooms...if your asthmatic...BEWARE...you will smell the smoke inside your room...PREPARE your medications, no NO SMOKING area
3.located in a depressed area...dirty streets, delapidated buildings, and questionable people within the vicinity....be careful walking outside the hotel especially at night
4.like in any casino hotel ...dobious characters around and inside the hotel

3.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

i have been a frequent visitor to manila and there are many fine 4-5 star hotels that charge 80-100$ per night per room. my problem has always been to find a good standard hotel at a resaonable price 50-60$ per night witha swimming pool. there are lots of decent hotels in manila for around 3000 pesos pe r night but few with swimming facilities. This newly built hotel solved my problem.Its a fine hotel . with friendly welcoming staff that really tries hard .
great selection of cuisine. especially if u like chinese. shuttles to and forth to the local SM (mall) san lazaro. some people might say thats its location (far from makati0 and the fashionable/expat side of town wasa draw back. But not for me.I will go back again because hotels of this standard and type are in my experience hard to find. Its also near an overhead railway system which makes most of the surrounding area a little dark and gloomy. but once u step inside this hotel your in a very pleasant environment and its near a huge local market. which may be a plus for some. For me its my little gem in manila and i must be crazy fro sharing this.I will probably a rrive and find it booked out..I hope not. by the way I have not found booking in advance necessary.
it actually wa s the site of the old manila opera house. and its history is beautiffullly/tastefully recorded in the. decor there. A good hotel is one that its hard to find fault with. this is such a hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Quick background about our travel resume: my husband and I are fond of travelling. We travel once or twice a year. We have done All Inclusives, Cruises, Air and Hotel Packages.

When it comes to hotel rooms, we have 3 criteria: (1) our own bathroom with good running water with a clear separation between the shower and the toilet (2) if it is a humid country like Manila, a working air-conditioned is a must (3) lastly, a comfortable bed. The rest are extras and when I say, extra -- having a WIFI in my room is a big deciding factor. I never leave home without my laptop. This hotel has a free WIFI in the room.

The price of this hotel is quite reasonable for the amenities and services it offers and it aims to provide excellent value for your money and even beyond.

This hotel has a reasonable sized outdoor swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzi with powerful jets, a nice Sauna and change room at par to most prime hotels in Manila. The pool is surrounded by lounge chairs and tables. The hotel also has a service bus to the Mall of Asia and SM San Lazaro (big malls). It has a direct access to the LRT (Doroteo Jose) which, I thought, is a big plus and surely made everything convenient for us. It has a Business Centre and the lobby is certainly grand for its location.

My husband and I stayed in the Majestic Room. Coffee Maker is provided plus a small freezer. Two bottles of water are also provided everyday. Bed is comfortable and the bathroom is functional and clean.

Buffet Breakfast is included in the room rate and my husband who is quite selective in his food habits found the breakfast acceptable. He will always find something he likes. Buffet includes coffee, 2 types of juices, 2 types of cereal, bacon, eggs can be cooked to your preference, sausages, steamed rice or sometimes, fried rice, congee, bread to be toasted and heated to your request. Once again, it is not an array of endless table of breakfast buffet but the food is quite sufficient and will fill a stomach to start a day of travelling.

The main outlet offers a Filipino version of `Snack Hours` which they call `Merienda Buffet`. For $5.00 Canadian Dollars, you will be able to taste a good selection of Filipino delicacies. I have tried this buffet a few times during my stay and certainly something I look forward to as a snack.

As a frequent traveller, I have come to believe that we create our own experience where ever we go and I personally found the staff at the hotel very helpful. Every breakfast time, my husband and I made it a point to leave a tip (even though it is a buffet and the breakfast is included in the room rate). Showing appreciation to the staffs` effort do come a long way. After all, everyone likes to be appreciated including you and me.

Overall, Manila Grand Opera Hotel is an above average budget hotel. I would certainly stay in this hotel again and would recommend the hotel to everyone who believes in getting good value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

A two night stay was not disappointing in any way. The rooms were a bit small but nice enough. Nice, clean swimming pool. Even though it's in a busy part of town it was not noisy. The breakfast buffet was really good. Staff were very courteous and helpful. Next to an interesting street market. Short cab to Rizel Park. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: A few extra peso for a window :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed in a Majestic Superior room but there wasn't room to swing a cat. There was a large curtain but when we opened it to admire the view, there was no window, just a wall! Breakfast was very limited if you were looking for western-style. Service was ok although the staff were unable to help very much with any travel queries. They couldn't change Australian dollars either. Rooms were modern but not to the standard you'd expect from other hotels like this. We had a pleasant stay without being overwhelmed.

Room Tip: Don't expect a spacious room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manila Grand Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manila Grand Opera Hotel

Address: #925 Rizal Avenue corner Doroteo Jose Sts. | Sta. Cruz, Manila, Luzon 1003, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manila Grand Opera Hotel stands today on the former site of the Manila Grand Opera House, a cultural landmark that showcased Philippine arts from 1900 to the late 1950. Formally launched in August 2008, it combines the historic theater's cultural legacy with a boost to the travel and tourism industry as the only luxury hotel in Manila's Sta. Cruz district, near Binondo's Chinatown. Located on the corner of Rizal Avenue and Doroteo Jose Street, the Manila Grand Opera Hotel today caters to an increasing number of visitors from China and Taiwan, aside from habitues and residents of the area who have long hoped for such a center of elegance and beauty to emerge in their midst. At the hotel's entrance stands a historical marker about the inauguration of the first Philippine Assembly on Oct. 16, 1907 by United States Secretary of War William Howard Taft, a historic event that was held there. As the only elegant hotel in downtown Manila, Manila Grand Opera Hotel expects to cater to the increasing number of Chinese visitors from the mainland and Taiwan who will feel at home staying near Manila's Chinatown. The hotel also serves the needs of the Chinese community residing in the nearby Chinatown by providing accommodations for their relatives and friends coming from abroad, he added. The luxury hotel has 250 contemporary guest rooms equipped with state-of-the-art door lock system, cable TV and Wi-Fi and LAN access, a mini-bar with a wide variety of snacks and drinks, with amenities such as buffet breakfast, use of the Infinity swimming pool,and spa. For the dining enjoyment of guests, there are the New President Sharksfin Seafood Restaurant serving authentic Chinese cuisine and the Circa 1900 Bar and Restaurant offering an array of gastronomic delights in an old world ambiance created by the blown up photographs on the walls of artists who had performed at the old theater. For big social gatherings, the hotel's Ambassador's Hall can accommodate up to 1,000 guests while several Meeting Rooms are also available for smaller gatherings such as business meetings, social get-together, dining, meeting and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manila Grand Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manila Grand Opera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.