We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked for 2 days; Ended up staying for 2 weeks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manila Grand Opera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Manila Grand Opera Hotel to your Saves list
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #925 Rizal Avenue corner Doroteo Jose Sts. | Sta. Cruz, Manila, Luzon 1003, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Booked for 2 days; Ended up staying for 2 weeks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Quick background about our travel resume: my husband and I are fond of travelling. We travel once or twice a year. We have done All Inclusives, Cruises, Air and Hotel Packages.

When it comes to hotel rooms, we have 3 criteria: (1) our own bathroom with good running water with a clear separation between the shower and the toilet (2) if it is a humid country like Manila, a working air-conditioned is a must (3) lastly, a comfortable bed. The rest are extras and when I say, extra -- having a WIFI in my room is a big deciding factor. I never leave home without my laptop. This hotel has a free WIFI in the room.

The price of this hotel is quite reasonable for the amenities and services it offers and it aims to provide excellent value for your money and even beyond.

This hotel has a reasonable sized outdoor swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzi with powerful jets, a nice Sauna and change room at par to most prime hotels in Manila. The pool is surrounded by lounge chairs and tables. The hotel also has a service bus to the Mall of Asia and SM San Lazaro (big malls). It has a direct access to the LRT (Doroteo Jose) which, I thought, is a big plus and surely made everything convenient for us. It has a Business Centre and the lobby is certainly grand for its location.

My husband and I stayed in the Majestic Room. Coffee Maker is provided plus a small freezer. Two bottles of water are also provided everyday. Bed is comfortable and the bathroom is functional and clean.

Buffet Breakfast is included in the room rate and my husband who is quite selective in his food habits found the breakfast acceptable. He will always find something he likes. Buffet includes coffee, 2 types of juices, 2 types of cereal, bacon, eggs can be cooked to your preference, sausages, steamed rice or sometimes, fried rice, congee, bread to be toasted and heated to your request. Once again, it is not an array of endless table of breakfast buffet but the food is quite sufficient and will fill a stomach to start a day of travelling.

The main outlet offers a Filipino version of `Snack Hours` which they call `Merienda Buffet`. For $5.00 Canadian Dollars, you will be able to taste a good selection of Filipino delicacies. I have tried this buffet a few times during my stay and certainly something I look forward to as a snack.

As a frequent traveller, I have come to believe that we create our own experience where ever we go and I personally found the staff at the hotel very helpful. Every breakfast time, my husband and I made it a point to leave a tip (even though it is a buffet and the breakfast is included in the room rate). Showing appreciation to the staffs` effort do come a long way. After all, everyone likes to be appreciated including you and me.

Overall, Manila Grand Opera Hotel is an above average budget hotel. I would certainly stay in this hotel again and would recommend the hotel to everyone who believes in getting good value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
24
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

A two night stay was not disappointing in any way. The rooms were a bit small but nice enough. Nice, clean swimming pool. Even though it's in a busy part of town it was not noisy. The breakfast buffet was really good. Staff were very courteous and helpful. Next to an interesting street market. Short cab to Rizel Park. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: A few extra peso for a window :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed in a Majestic Superior room but there wasn't room to swing a cat. There was a large curtain but when we opened it to admire the view, there was no window, just a wall! Breakfast was very limited if you were looking for western-style. Service was ok although the staff were unable to help very much with any travel queries. They couldn't change Australian dollars either. Rooms were modern but not to the standard you'd expect from other hotels like this. We had a pleasant stay without being overwhelmed.

Room Tip: Don't expect a spacious room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Three years in a row, I have stayed in this hotel in the heart of downtown Manila. Great service with very professional employees. Haven't had any issue at all and will continue to stay at this hotel everytime I visit Manila. Much more, it is affordable. Free breakfast is okay since I take light breakfast anyhow. Employees are very friendly specially at the front desks. Overall, I am very happy staying at MGO Hotel.

At one time, the A/C in my room was not working. After I reported, a replacement A/C was installed within 15 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore of Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Although it bills itself as five-star, it is not anything close to this. While the prices are great for a facility with a pool (2000 peso NET/Night), expect mediocre facilities in a section of Manila that is off the beaten path and very depressed. If the real third world disturbs you (i.e. many sleeping on the streets and mounds of garbage on the side walks), this is not for you.

My reservation was for a non-smoking room, but I was given a smoking floor. The stench was overwhelming as the hotel caters to Korean and Chinese clientele. Many fellow travelers left their doors open to smoke and the rooms and hallways smelled awful. Twice I encountered hallway waste baskets smoking profusely from cigarette butts discarded on trash. Within seconds, these would have ignited had I not put out the fire. I told the staff after the first incident, but apparently nothing was done. It is a true fire hazard of the highest concern.

There is a pool and it is the lowest cost I am aware of for a facility with this in Manila. Unfortunately, the pool tile is slick and many small children and adult nearly fell walking around the pool area.

Don't get your hopes up for a buffet breakfast on par with other five star facilities in Manila. It is a scant selection of congee and eggs with a few other hot dishes. Very mediocre in every way.

I was appreciative that they staff made amends at check out by not charging me an extra half day due to the smoking room fiasco, but I doubt I would ever stay here again despite the appealing price and pool. It is far from the nightlife and the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Never heard of Manila Grand Opera Hotel until I came across its billboard in Airport Road, advertising its claim to be the only “5 star hotel in Chinatown” but with an affordable tariff. My curiosity led me to google the hotel and was glad that it had its own website so I can check its amenities and room as well. I was initially impressed with the pics of the room and rates of each type. I actually had no plans of staying in a hotel located at Manila but my fiancée insisted since she hasn’t been to downtown Manila. Made my reservation last Nov. 27, 2010 at almost 11 pm. but the receptionist didn’t mind the time of the call and accommodated my queries and eventual reservation. She even suggested Majestic room which has a view of the hotel’s swimming pool instead of my first choice -Premiere.

M.G.O.H is centrally located that we decided to take the transit system in going to Doroteo Jose as I was afraid that it might not have adequate parking but I was wrong since it has ample space in the 2nd floor and at Rizal Avenue near the pool area. The first thing that will strike you is the lobby of the hotel. It was elegant and classy yet it doesn’t intimidate you. The front office was accommodating enough to process my reservation though I arrived 2 hours late from the standard check-in time. To enter the room, you have to tap in the key, which also serves as a tool to turn-on the electricity. The room is spacious with built-in cabinet, refrigerator, flat-screen TV, dresser, thick high-grade mattress, crisp white cotton sheets, and plush-down feather pillows. The bathroom is clean and tidy with freshly cleaned towels (bath and hand). It also has a foot towel which I expect from a “5-star hotel”. Water pressure was unexpectedly strong given its location and didn’t encounter a problem with the heater. The air-conditioning is powered by a window type unit which was quiet enough not to disturb our sleep after having dinner in Rob. Ermita (that’s the advantage of the hotel since it is a ride away from Pedro Gil).

If you want to enjoy your time with your special someone then I would suggest this hotel. My only regret is I failed to bring my trunks to take advantage of the pool, which was nicely lit at night though am not sure if they would have allowed us to take a dip.

My only complaints are the color of the room was red which in my opinion is not fit for a “5-star hotel”, the plush-down feather pillows (prefer the thicker ones) and the lack of a shower curtain or sliding door to prevent water from seeping out (kinda vain about it).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Princesa City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

the place was clean and new, the rate is very affordable.

the shower water pressure is high, the B&T is big enough.

the hallway is abit narrow and their decor lights for painting is hot which is making the narrow hallway hot but not a bid issue.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#16 of 105 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#13 of 105 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#36 of 105 in Manila
3.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 105 in Manila
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manila Grand Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manila Grand Opera Hotel

Address: #925 Rizal Avenue corner Doroteo Jose Sts. | Sta. Cruz, Manila, Luzon 1003, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manila Grand Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manila Grand Opera Hotel stands today on the former site of the Manila Grand Opera House, a cultural landmark that showcased Philippine arts from 1900 to the late 1950. Formally launched in August 2008, it combines the historic theater's cultural legacy with a boost to the travel and tourism industry as the only luxury hotel in Manila's Sta. Cruz district, near Binondo's Chinatown. Located on the corner of Rizal Avenue and Doroteo Jose Street, the Manila Grand Opera Hotel today caters to an increasing number of visitors from China and Taiwan, aside from habitues and residents of the area who have long hoped for such a center of elegance and beauty to emerge in their midst. At the hotel's entrance stands a historical marker about the inauguration of the first Philippine Assembly on Oct. 16, 1907 by United States Secretary of War William Howard Taft, a historic event that was held there. As the only elegant hotel in downtown Manila, Manila Grand Opera Hotel expects to cater to the increasing number of Chinese visitors from the mainland and Taiwan who will feel at home staying near Manila's Chinatown. The hotel also serves the needs of the Chinese community residing in the nearby Chinatown by providing accommodations for their relatives and friends coming from abroad, he added. The luxury hotel has 250 contemporary guest rooms equipped with state-of-the-art door lock system, cable TV and Wi-Fi and LAN access, a mini-bar with a wide variety of snacks and drinks, with amenities such as buffet breakfast, use of the Infinity swimming pool,and spa. For the dining enjoyment of guests, there are the New President Sharksfin Seafood Restaurant serving authentic Chinese cuisine and the Circa 1900 Bar and Restaurant offering an array of gastronomic delights in an old world ambiance created by the blown up photographs on the walls of artists who had performed at the old theater. For big social gatherings, the hotel's Ambassador's Hall can accommodate up to 1,000 guests while several Meeting Rooms are also available for smaller gatherings such as business meetings, social get-together, dining, meeting and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Manila Grand Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manila Grand Opera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.