We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fersal Hotel - Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fersal Hotel - Manila to your Saves list
Fersal Hotel - Manila
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 A. Mendoza Street, corner Alvarez Street | Sta Cruz, Manila, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Location bad no place to eat or see outside. The room is very small. Front desk chargred me 1 day extra and will not refund me. It was supposed to be a security deposit. Its a bad system that deceive people in paying extra day. I hate it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Operations Support Officer at Fersal Hotel - Manila, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Sir:

I have spoken to the persons involved on the incident happened to you. Upon checking, payment via credit card cannot be converted to cash nor be refunded due to bank and hotel policy. As per Hotel Manager, they have issued a certificate which you can use for offsetting of 1 night not later than 3 months or 90 days.

My apology for the inconvenience it caused you Sir. Rest assured that we will refresh our Guest Relations team to reiterate clearly to the guest if same case happen to them.

Should you wish to use your another night of stay, I will be the one who will assist you. You may reach me at 9122691.

Thank you and God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
3
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The location of this hotel is really very central and practical if you have to be in the Quiapo district or near the University of Santo Tomas. The rooms are generally clean and well equipped. Wifi is working in the room, there is a modern flatscreen television, aircon and even a small fridge. It must be said that the floor surface of the room is minima. There is just a little floorspace left around the bed to walk or put any luggage. The bathroom is tiny as well and had a bit a smell of damp.
Disappointing I found the plated breakfast. It was really too basic, although the list, description and regular prices make it seem like quite something it is more like a snack. I have to add though it is complimentary and the room rates are not extremely high, considering the location.
Another thing was the service orientation of the staff / reservation personnell. I found it very complicating to get through to the right people when there was a problem and there was a general lack of customer orientation and taking responsibility for problems that were also their own. At the time I had a reservation in this hotel, there was a flooding in the area and the hotel could not be reached. The hotel was not willing to cancel my reservation as the booking was already paid in advance. Henceforth I was forced to still stay in the hotel on another date, when the area was passable again. Although I could be flexible in my schedule and plan a few other days in the area, I found there was a lack of customer orientation in the way the problem was dealt with. This has led me to a final judgement of just average, although most of the lower staff is friendly and this hotel also has a lot of good things.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel many times during weekends since my relatives are few blocks away. Very relaxing,friendly staff and good breakfast.The service here in terms of location, cleanliness and price! is very good.The hotel also allows food and beverages that are bought outside. This is not your average hotel,would definitely go back.:)))

Room Tip: If you want bigger space for a suite,ask for room 204.:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is in the poorer area of Manila but convenient to UST and hospitals. It's budget priced and very friendly. The family room is large, clean, and well appointed. The staff are friendly and efficient, the breakfast is good and it has a free car park. We didn't need anything more and had a great stay thanks to the hotel staff who made us welcome. Thank you. I would love to come again.

Room Tip: We were three and upgraded to the family room which was more than adequate and over looked the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Rooms are showing its age but are well maintained.
It has the basics - ref, kettle, hot water, clean restroom, cable - plus free wifi and parking. There are floors where local cell signal is bad so better ask before checking in.
It serves good food that are inexpensive. They also allow food delivery from outside establishments.
Malls, schools etc are very near and there are a lot of cabs, jeepneys, buses that can be hailed just outside the hotel.
Its most endearing feature is the staff - corteous and willing to please. When you hand them a tip they seem surprised and you can see that they really appreciate it.
The best part is you can stay the whole 24 hours from the time you check in. Their checkout isn't noon.
The only complaints are they have limited parking slots and the area is prone to flooding.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a clear cell signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The room was fairly ok. The staffs were kind enough to let me borrow a hair dryer. Although everything is spotless, the bathroom was awfully small, had to be in side ways to take a shower. Good location though.

Room Tip: Dont choose the deluxe room. Itty bitty bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice clean hotel. Not the huge but decent place to stay. Yummy breakfast. Try their pancakes and corned beef. I expected the ref contains few refreshments and snack but it's empty. I suggest you guys to put some snacks and sodas to your room. Oh by the way this hotel is near at UST :)

keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Before check in make sure to buy some stuff that you will need and withdraw some cash. The location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fersal Hotel - Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fersal Hotel - Manila

Address: 1455 A. Mendoza Street, corner Alvarez Street | Sta Cruz, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fersal Hotel - Manila 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fersal Hotel: Your Practical Home in the City Fersal Hotel is a name synonymous with comfortable budget hotel Manila. Our clean, well-appointed accommodations are complemented by personalized service from our well-trained staff. Our chain of budget-friendly inns can be found in the most strategic places throughout the metro. As such, any Fersal Hotel can be the ideal jump-off point for your business or leisure trip. Our guests always have easy access to the major business districts and thoroughfares. Fersal Hotel - Manila is situated in one of the most desirable areas of the Philippine capital, located near the University of Sto. Thomas - the oldest university in the country. Several malls, as well as the University Belt, are also in proximity. Experience the exciting city life with flower shops, shipping lines, night markets, antique shops, the CCP complex and Rizal park close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fersal Hotel - Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fersal Hotel - Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.