We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect backpacker place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carabao

Red Carabao
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Red Carabao to your Saves list
Red Carabao
2819 Felix Huertas Street | Santa Cruz, Manila, Luzon 1003, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Manila
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“perfect backpacker place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

There's not much of a backpacker trail in the Philippines, which was actually one of the things I loved about it. But, it means that sometimes the lodging can be...well...funny. But Red Carabao is amazing! Clean, cool, quiet dorms. Delicious bread with peanut butter and coffee for breakfast. Nice hot showers. Close to the subway. And Aldrich, whose family owns the place, is really nice and very helpful. I was backpacking solo and stayed in a mixed dorm. The only other real backpacker place I saw on my travels was Harold's Mansion in Dumaguete.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice and very relaxing place in the bustlig city of Manila. To me - location is perfect. Close (10 minutes on foot aprox) to the LRT station, but located in quiet and safe neighborhood, next to the Chinese Cementary. Awesome family restaurant on the main street nearby hostel. Dorm room was great, beds comfortable, there is even an AC, big bathroom. Great common area. Reaonable price. Staff (it's family-owned) very kind and helpful. Recommended without any doubt.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a great accommodation option for Manila. The staff are very nice and friendly and can help you organize whatever you need. It is very clean and comfortable too. Great place to stay in Manila. www.RedCarabao.com

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This felt more like staying in somebody’s private house than in a hostel really. The place was very clean and friendly, and the staff very welcoming.
The taxi driver seemed surprised that I’d chosen to stay so far from the centre, although in truth there is no real centre in Manila and just a lot of districts thrown together. Whether you are in a convenient location depends on where you want to go. The hostel is very close to the light railway and the station is 3-5 stops from intermuros/Chinatown/the harbor.
The location is very convenient for the bus station to the North of the island, and the owners were very helpful with advice on travelling. The hostel’s Facebook page also carries a lot of information on travelling around the Philippines.
I would have no hesitation in highly recommending this hostel..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangyang, Gangwon-do, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hostel is in a residential area north of the main tourist areas. I liked being able to see more of everyday life, but if you want to be in the center of the action, this is not it. I stayed only one night and chose it because I was taking a night bus north the next day. I am a woman traveling alone and had no problems, but I take sensible precautions, like not wandering around by myself at night. The family that runs the place was very nice, welcoming, and helpful. There is also a kitchen and free breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Red Carabao is located at Abad Santos LRT which is definitely a plus if traveling by daylight. It is not recommended to travel on the LRT alone after dark and the LRT is often closed y 9pm anyway. If you are brave you can take a Jipney back to the hostel in the evenings. If you are woman traveling alone I'm not sure I would recommend Red Carabao. Many Philippinos were surprised that I was staying so "out of the way." The hostel is very difficult for a taxi driver to find.The neighbourhood is inner-city Manila. I didn't feel unsafe but next time I would probably stay on a busy street for tourists in Malaki. It is clean, reasonably priced and even offers free breakfast (bread rolls, butter, and if you are lucky a banana bread). There is free wi-fi in the common areas. These are all important things to note.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I stayed in the three bed dorm. The place is really nice, clean and friendly. The kitchen is a big plus and free breakfast (even if just bread and coffee) is always welcome. Free use of internet isn't that common in the Philippines so I was surprised that they offered it. I'd recommend Red Carabao to anyone going to Manila.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carabao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carabao

Address: 2819 Felix Huertas Street | Santa Cruz, Manila, Luzon 1003, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Red Carabao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carabao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.