We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room @ the heart of malate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malvar Hostel

Malvar Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Malvar Hostel to your Saves list
Malvar Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   636 Gen. Malvar St. | Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Manila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spacious room @ the heart of malate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Rooms were very spacious, good bed, good bathroom. Mini bar, tv, hotel umbrella.
For this price you won't find anything better I think.
Only minus is noise coming from a club, but only people with a light sleep will here it..

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The hotel is in Malate and just a short walk from a Robinsons Mall and a lot of the gay bars and clubs are just a minute or two away. The hotel lobby is basic then leads into a very pretty hallway with lots of wooden furniture scattered around. This was promising but the Junior Suite, though large, really had seen better days.

The furniture was shabby but the bathroom was the worst wth doors being held together with tape and mold on the back of the door. The curtains in the room were good, keeping the room dark and I did actually sleep well.

The positives! The staff are very friendly and the location of the hotel is great. Plenty of taxis roam the streets - very handy in the frequent rain! There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel and it is reliable and fast. The price paid was great for the location.

Didn't eat at there - only a basic canteen in the lobby.

Would maybe stay there again next time in Manila but if you are looking for something modern then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Malvar Hostel is more a hotel than a hostel. It is right in the centre of the Malate nightlife district and yet very quiet, no music or street noise to hear.

Unforntunately parts of the hotel are extremely noise on daytime. Right behind the rooms of the left side of the hotel is an open space which is used as a staff room. Hence you have from approximately 8 AM until lunch time you think you have people seating next to you chatting away, clattering with plates and listening to music. You can change rooms but there are only 2 rooms of the categorie superior deluxe, only those plus the more expensive suit come with refrigerators. So you have the choice between noise and fridge and no noise and no fridge :-(

On the positive side though was the WiFi. I travel A LOT in Southeast Asia and depend on the internet. The WiFi in Malvar Hostel was the fastest and most reliable one i have had in many, many months.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Clean, cheap and comfortable, this is 5 star at 1 star price, This is a training hotel. and all the staff are tryng very hard.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it a perfect location. with great service and beuatifull rooms. Outside it looks dated, but inside the hostel everything looks like a Spanish hacienda. The rooms are clean en very big. The service of the reception is good. The location is in a neighbourhood with many nice restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed here for my last night in manila after my weeks in the the country in angels city then cebu so went back to Manila stayed here its so close to robinsons mall down one little road, cost me lots to stay here room was spotless aircon the best i seen in the Philippines the room was lovely no where near as big as the others make out maybe I had the ultru small as was not much room as the bed which was lovely took up most of my room very little space, could be wrong but i think i paid more than others have said with no booking have to check but after being conned on my last day by manila taxi driver who wanted P3000 for a trip round the city to look for a hotel after the assie hotel duck inn decided my booked room was gone :O( so gave him p750 and said ring the police if your not happy so bad, so stayed here staff were great only moan i would have is the area is a bi sexual area and the staff said be carefull which bar you go into which scared me so stayed in my last night there. room did smell of damp but could not see any anywhere very pretty hotel inside I would stay there again if cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Malvar Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvar Hostel

Address: 636 Gen. Malvar St. | Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malvar Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Malvar Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malvar Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.