We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like eating in a rich friends house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cocina de Tita Moning

La Cocina de Tita Moning
315 San Rafael St., San Miguel, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
(+632) 7342146
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 766 Restaurants in Manila
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Filipino, Spanish, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout
Wollongong
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Like eating in a rich friends house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you enter you know this will be different.
In the back yard you are greeted with cool iced tea with lemon grass.
After pure dinner drinks you are invited on a tour of the house/mansion and get a real insight into 1900s Manila. This short tour is worth the price alone.

The table was set magnificently and you dine on the original antique cutlery and crockery.

The food itself is very generous and never ending. Tastes great too.

This is a real experience you will not forget. It's not the best meal in the world, nor the most beautiful or most anything. But all together it's special.

Must mention the staff. They gave amazing service and took real pride in their work. For around 50 bucks US it's expensive for Manila but still great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Nice colonial style home of a late doctor. House tour is available on request great for couples or groups. Menu is family recipies using local Filipino ingredients.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We've been here way back 2006 on the valentines day with my two friends and my girlfriend at that time and now my wife. we've ordered the valentine package including 4 course meal i think, and the one i will never forget is their oh so tender spanish lengua estofado, ive tried lengua from different restos but this one is the best lengua i tasted. now moving forward, their food attendant is well mannered and the ambience is romantic yet relaxing. you wouldnt know that there's a resto like this inside malacanang in mendiola. if you want to experience spanish dish in mendiola area, this one is a must try.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great food and dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

at first the 24hr reservaton and pre order was a hassle since we were a group of 7. but when all that was ironed out, everything was a delight upon arriving at the venue until we said our goodbyes to our servers. our favorites were the lengua, roasted pork with cracklings, and the queso de bola cheescake for dessert. the staff were friendly and very attentive. i will definitely dine here again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not just a meal, but an experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Went here in February of 2011 for our wedding anniversary . Selections have to be pre-ordered. The ancestral house is big and is full of antique pieces. You will be ushered into the foyer and waiting room and served with refreshments while waiting for the house tour to start. Very pleasant and it gives you time to take in the surroundings. The tour will take you through the varied rooms of the Legarda Mansion. My husband and I were particularly pleased to find books from our alma mater in the library.

We chose Menu 1 and 2 and everything was delectable. The main dining room is air-conditioned and dinnerware and linens are also one of a kind. We thoroughly enjoyed a very filling yet leisurely lunch. Will plan to bring my mom here as she enjoys experiences like this.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina de Tita Moning also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to La Cocina de Tita Moning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cocina de Tita Moning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.