We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Lane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pearl Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Pearl Lane Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 M Orosa St, cnr Gen Malvar St | Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines (Malate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Iloilo City, Iloilo City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap but quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were accommodated by our company in this hotel while training for Management Level Course. We were 7 including 3 Filipinos and 4 Chinese. The deluxe room was small but kept clean and tidy and replenished with all complements daily. The hotel staff are noticeably very courteous. I like the ambiance of buffet breakfast at the roofdeck on the 5th floor though the food choices is not that much compared to other hotels but quality is good enough to satisfy your morning meal. Recommended for budget concious traveller who are looking for good quality hotel right in the heart of Manila.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Lane Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Warm Greetings From Pearl Lane Hotel,

We greatly appreciate your remarkable observation about the hotel and our staff. It is good to hear that you've enjoyed your stay here in Manila. I will be very glad to share your comments to the rest of the team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    76
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
7
31
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Prior to checking-in at Pearl Lane, I was able to stay at an old five-star hotel in Manila, and in comparison, Pearl Lane has better hotel rooms. The staff were great. Pearl Lane is one block away from the bars and clubs, and two blocks away from the Robinsons Mall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Lane Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Warm Greetings From Pearl Lane Hotel,

It was my pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our rooms and its amenities. Thank you for providing your valued feedback. We look forward to meeting you again on your next visit to Manila.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel every 2 nights as we would break our trip to go overseas or interstate.
The best features of this hotel is the lovely service of the staff from the day you arrive and depart the hotel. My Husband and I loved the breakfast they served every morning. (We miss the french toast, congee soup and sopas)
The hotel is not far from Robinsons Mall which is a 5 minute walk.
We would come back to this hotel if when return as it is a good value hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend room #401
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Lane Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Warm Greetings From Pearl Lane Hotel,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and commending the warm hospitality of our staff and the food. We aim to deliver memorable experience with our guests. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We would say that is a good value hotel. It is basically a budget hotel with decent room. The bed was comfortable and the Wifi was free but not too strong signal. There is minibar and safe which is good. The bathroom was a bit small but nothing major. The water pressure was very good also. The service at front desk was good also. Overall good budge hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Lane Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Warm Greetings From Pearl Lane Hotel,

The management and staff of our hotel would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback to our hotel. We will be striving to improve more on our services & our amenities. It is also good to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our property.

We look forward to your next visit in our property.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My first stay at this property but certainly not the first stay in the area. The staff are pleasant and accommodating. My first impression of the rooms were they were basic, and in need of TLC. Having said that the WIFI was free and reasonable speed there was endless hot water and good water pressure. The restaurant had limited menu but the quality was good and very reasonably priced.

I found that many taxi drivers found it extremely difficult to find on a number of occasions. The location is very close to major malls of good standard.

Overall the stay was pleasant, but the property provides only average value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Lane Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Warm Greetings From Pearl Lane Hotel,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay in our Hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing some of your experiences here in the Philippines and we greatly appreciate that our hotel has been a part of these wonderful events.

Our hotel staff will be looking forward to welcoming you back in our property.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you're in the tight budget, this is the hotel to stay in. We've stayed in a superior room in the 2nd floor for Php2,300 a night. They have a free wifi connection unlike the others that charge for it, just don't expect it to be that fast. The bathroom is small but they have an automatic bidet, the water pressure in the sink and in the shower with hot or cold is good. They have a nice and comfy bed, minibar and electronic safe. If you can't sleep with too much noise request for a quiet room but don't expect it to have a window with views.

Room Tip: Request for a quiet room, if you can't sleep when there's too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Lane Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Warm Greetings From Pearl Lane Hotel,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay in our Hotel. Your honest remarks about the Hotel are greatly appreciated. We are also investigating and assessing where where the noise that you have mentioned came from.

We look forward to welcoming you back.


Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The first hotel I had in Manila had the same price as this, and moving to The Pearl lane was a good choice. The staff could not be more helpfull and nice. I had the King suite and it was spacious and clean. Complematary water bottles, toothbrush, slippers etc. Good WIFi in all rooms. Good shower with preassure and warm water.

I was not certain of my checkout time, so I paid in advance for half the day. When I checked out at 1:30 pm the lobby offered me to refund the money, even though checkout time was 12:00.

The breakfast was topp also, roomservice came quickly.

200 meters to a big mall with great stores and dining possibilities. Spent much time at TGI fridays :)

As secure area as it gets in Manila.

If anything the Tv could be larger (14") but no biggie.

All in all I had a great stat at the pearl Lane.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Lane Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Warm Greetings from Pearl Lane Hotel,

We would like to thank you for taking some time to write down some wonderful remarks regarding our property. All your remarks are being noted and we will still be striving for improvement.

We would love to be of service to you again on your next visit to the Philippines.

Once again, Thank You very much.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearl Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Lane Hotel

Address: 1700 M Orosa St, cnr Gen Malvar St | Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pearl Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.