We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Lane Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pearl Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pearl Lane Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 M Orosa St, cnr Gen Malvar St | Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines (Malate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 103 hotels in Manila
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I first visited & reviewed this hotel 3.5 years ago and must say that I still think this is one of the best budget hotels in Manila. The front office staff are excellent nothing too much trouble always going that extra mile to help out. Security, restaurant and household staff are also very good. The hotel is spotlessly clean, very good water pressure and always hot which is a big plus. The buffet breakfast on my last visit wasn't very good at all but NOW the management have turned that round and it is one of the best I have had. I stayed in a Superior room and at approx. £35 per night very very good value. Some rooms do not have any windows but that didn't worry me at all. The position of the hotel is very good, within 3 minute walk to a big mall, Robinson Place, and near to the nightlife of Malate. I will definitely be staying here again on any future visits and once again recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    76
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
29
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NelBzh, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This was my second stay in Manilla and I can say that I was not expecting much as per my previous experience but I have to say that the staff was very professional, polite, helpful, smiling. I couldn't asked for more. I had a problem with my booking and the receptionist put so much effort in finding a room for me, letting me know the progress of her calls. Room was not too big but ok for one person, clean with all sorts of amenities.
Breakfast was a nice buffet with variations of Asian Buffet and continental food to please everyone. From the breakfast room you also get a little view of the surroundings. Location is not too bad : closed to the Robinson Mall where you have lots of cafes and restaurant and halfway between the Roxas Boulevard and the Taft avenue ( useful for the train). I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Seriously for the price this place is excellent. You have to put everything into context and at this price it is 5 out of 5. Firstly, the staff are really friendly, polite and helpful. The rooms are everything you would expect from a cheaper hotel, but it is clean and comfortable. The breakfast is amazing for the price,unlimited food!! Buffet style, choice of Filipino or western, eat as much as you want and a free paper!! Location is also very good, close to Robinsons Mall and plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. Will stay there next time I am in Manila.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

Hard for taxi to find. Once here, clean, simple, spartan. Good wifi , nice firm bed, good AC, nice tiny bathroom. Only reason I am reviewing is people who work here are unusually nice and full service. Broke my suitcase and maint guy took away to try and fix. Even if it does not last the effort was 100%

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The staff is incredibly service focused, the rooms are clean and comfortable - we had a great stay. You can tell they fill the rooms, so there is a bit of a line sometimes at the front desk, and although we arrived early, we could not get our room until 2pm, which is understandable. The staff are efficient and very helpful with requests. Any request from the room is met within minutes with staff hurrying up to respond. The location is convenient - about a 10 minute walk from the light rail station Pedro Gil. Breakfast was competent and served on the 5th floor terrace, which is comfortable, and they bring you a paper to read while eating. The only possible negative is that you can hear some noise from cars below if you stay on the 4th floor, but we slept great, so didn't really affect us. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafnarfjordur
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This sister property of the Pearl Garden is conveniently located in the heart of Malate - just 1 block away from Robinson's Galleria. A range of restaurants, bars and taxis easy to find, the location is great. From the moment I arrived, I found the staff to be attentive, friendly and efficient. This is a smaller hotel and you won't find a swimming pool or a huge restaurant. Instead you'll find well equipped rooms (no luxury...but you shouldn't be expecting that), wi-fi in all rooms, great breakfast and if you go for the deluxe rooms, plenty of space. I found that this hotel was perfect for me in terms of the price/quality value and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

It was near Robinson's Galleria which means it has good location. Taxis are also very easy to find. Close to The Library and night life. The superior room was ok in terms of space but the bathroom was cramped for me. Wifi connection was good, breakfast was buffet but didn't seem buffet really as they only had one viand, corned beef. But they had toast, cereals, egg station,fruits,soup. Service was good, accommodating. Although the room did not have bedroom slippers and other amenities had to be requested. Room service until 10 pm only.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearl Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Lane Hotel

Address: 1700 M Orosa St, cnr Gen Malvar St | Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 103 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Lane Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pearl Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.