We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night is not enough ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel H2O

Save Saved
You added Hotel H2O to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel H2O
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Diamond Package!
Ranked #11 of 103 hotels in Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One night is not enough ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What I liked:

First of all, the bay view room is not as interesting as the Aqua room!

Although the fish tank wall only lights up from 6am-10pm, it's all worth it...there's an option to put a blind down if you don't want to sleep next to the aquarium as the bed is literally next to it.

Room temperature is cool enough and the whole design of the lobby and reception are modern and stylish.
Staffs at reception and room service were very polite and friendly.

Lots of choices for breakfast when we come down the next day.


What I didn't like:

Staff at restaurant had no sense of urgency especially on replenishing the food.
Also, the host desk wants to discussed the extra bill for my 2 extra guests but instead of coming to our table, she gave a wave gesture to ask me to stand up and attend her at the host desk... Please!?

Tip:
They still don't offer any park tickets with their room rate, they should add this as a promotion.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    229
    103
    32
    33
See reviews for
153
173
50
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although I travel alone every time I visit the Philippines, I always have a posse when I'm in the country. Stayed here couple nights with some family members. First I stayed at their regular room. Then I upgraded to the aqua supreme room. Having an aquarium in your room, I must say that was the only highlight of my stay here.

The experienced I had here:
1) Friendly helpful desk clerk

2)Too crowded. From the time you check in and walk around on the grounds. It was always busy with people in and out of the aquarium.

3) We had an incident there, where someone kept knocking on our door several times, in the middle of the night. No one was there every time I look through the peep hole. I finally went to check outside the door and no one was there? I have no idea what was that about?

4)The alarm went off in our room in the middle of the night. No one (staff) can figure out how to turn the darn thing off? When finally someone came in the room to fix the alarm. The only way to stop it from blaring was to yank it off the ceiling. Seriously!?

5)Having lunch there at the restaurant and the food was okay.

6)Foot traffic is always heavy around the hotel grounds, due to the aquarium attraction.

7)Walking at night is not that secure, especially if you are alone. It is really dark on the way to and from the hotel.

8)Taxi is not always available and can get a bit pricey

9)The swimming pool was closed due to a rainy days prior.

Room Tip: If you stay here, get the aqua room. Though can get pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking time to share your experiences at Hotel H2O during your lastest stay with us. It is great to hear that you appreciated friendliness of our Front Office Associates. I will share your comments and appreciation with the rest of the team.

It is disappointing to know that your experience was flawed because of few concerns. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this might have caused you during your stay.We will continue to strive at improving our guest experience to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for pointing out some of the notable features of the hotel like the aqua room and the food in our restaurant.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was clean and comfortable and serves its purpose as a base of operations if you plan to visit the adjoining Ocean Park or do a tour of Manila. Definitely a better value-for-money proposition versus the nearby (and more expensive) Manila Hotel. We stayed at the Aqua Room and the aquarium was a relaxing and soothing sight. The room was quite small but still good enough for a couple. Staff was very courteous. Plenty of restaurants in the area

My only complaint is that the walls are quite thin and you can hear the noises of the neighboring rooms and even of people in the hallway.

Room Tip: Get the aqua room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are very delighted to know that you truly enjoyed your stay. We would like to thank you, for commending our staff service and also for acknowledging the aqua room. I have taken note of your comment regarding the noise coming from the other room. We value your comments as it allows us to recognize the needs of our guests to further improve our services.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the aqua supreme room. The room and the idea is very awesome!!! The aquarium wall plus the fish!! Can't find the word to describe it. Very fascinating to be in the room with different water species. It is the highlight of the room providing vibrant color and sound. However, they have very small pool, but very kid-friendly. We had our dinner at the open restaurant facing Manila Bay. Watching the serenity of the sea and the sunset, its like your in a different world.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The reception area is located at the 3rd level. We arrived around 7pm. The front desk officers were very courteous & accommodating. However, our luggage was delivered after 40 minutes. It also took them almost an hour to get us a cab. But it only took them a few minutes to get us a cab the next day. Large & clean room. Comfortable bed. I like the design of their comfort room. The park/bay room is too warm. It's too hot to open the curtains unless the sun is down. You might want to try the aqua room. No pool towels available. Bring your own towel. The pool's located outside the hotel & the only way to get there is to pass by the entrace of Manila Ocean Park. Bring extra clothes. They have a shower room near the pool. You don't want people to see you soaking wet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate that you took time to share your feedback with us. It is our goal to ensure the highest comfort and satisfaction for our guests. It is a regret to know that your experience in our pool was not to your satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this might have caused you. Rest assured, this concern is being looked upon as our goal is to offer total convenience to our guests.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel H2O fair, nothing very special except rooms with the aquarium clean rooms Hotel breakfast buffet taxi are hard to come by after 8pm local time. stay away from the shops that are not part of the hotel. The bathroom could use a wall and door that's more private. had to request for water everyday. internet is fair and works within my room. beds are 2 twin sizes or 1 queen size (small). The spa is a nice place to relax even the swimming pool area is great no kids allow. there is a indoor bar that had a live band you can buy drinks at hotel prices this area is nice its clean and crisp were you can talk and enjoy the band with a sunset view. Over all this hotel has nothing that says WOW about it its good for a 2 night stay thats the most because you will get tried of walking from the taxi or bus to the actual hotel this review base of the bayview room

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate and truly value your comments as these will help us to improve.

We regret to hear that your experience was not to your expectation and we would like to express our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

It is also appreciated that you give us inputs on the areas we can improve on. I have taken note of your comments. Rest assured that we will always look at improving the service we provide to our valued guests.

We still look forward to your next visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed from 9 to 11 Jun 2014. If you got lots of luggage, it will be a little hussle if you do not use the concierge service. Other than that, the check in was smooth and very efficient. Jay served and also brought me to the room and gave me pointers on it. I got the Deluxe and i don't regret paying the extra for upgrade. The service is superb and looking at the fish tanks just made me relaxed. There were lots of variety for the fishes. Everything was working perfectly in the room.

The only hussle is the Taxi. First of all sometimes you need to compete with the people who visit the Ocean Park. But when the hotel staff is there, he does help by getting people to car pool. Other than that it was a pleasant stay. I had such a great time during my stay there.

The Food at makan and makan can be better. The variety is there but i think they can be far more better. On the flip side it was a nice place to have breakfast and any meals as it overlooks the manila bay.

It is worth going there is stay in my opinion. But perhaps once should be sufficient. But if you got kids, its nice going there again.

Room Tip: Deluxe room s the best with the large fish tanks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We greatly appreciate that you took time to share your experience during your stay with Hotel H2O.

We definitely agree with you that our Aqua room with fish tanks has a relaxing ambiance as it is one of the top features of our hotel.Your comment for Makan Makan is hereby taken constructively and be assured that our Chefs and F&B Manager are in the works to improve Makan’s food selection.

Regarding the taxi, necessary measures are being taken for the comfort of Manila Ocean Park and hotel guests.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to being of service again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H2O

Address: Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 103 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H2O 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel H2O is the first and only marine-themed urban resort hotel in the Philippines. Opened on April 10, 2010, the hotel is part of the Manila Ocean Park complex in the Philippine capital’s historic Rizal Park. It has been designated as the official residence for guests and patrons of Manila Ocean Park.Every part of Hotel H2O has a connection to its namesake element, water – from its next-door proximity to Manila Ocean Park; to its location on the edge of Manila Bay; to its signature aquarium wall that adorns the inner guest rooms and grand ballroom; to the seafood specialties of its main F&B outlet, Makan Makan Asian Food Village; to the healing, negative-ion treatments of its wellness center, Zenyu Eco Spa. All these make Hotel H2O perhaps the most visually distinctive urban property in the country today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel H2O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.