We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“H2O?...Where's The Swimming Pool?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel H2O

Save Saved
You added Hotel H2O to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel H2O
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Diamond Package!
Ranked #12 of 104 hotels in Manila
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“H2O?...Where's The Swimming Pool?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a very unique hotel. It's theme is water and is attached to the Manila Ocean Park Aquarium. The rates are reasonable...I paid about $109 on agoda.com for a Bayview room. It included a buffet breakfast and I thought this price was quite reasonable. The staff is first rate, approachable, and professional. You can always judge the hotel room by the bathroom and this hotel definitely passed that test This is definitely a 4-star hotel and a good bargain.

But it is not perfect. The biggest downfall of this hotel is it's swimming pool....there is none. It's quite ironic that a hotel who's name is "water" is actually missing a swimming pool. Manila is hot and humid all year round. Getting a hotel with a pool is a must! They had a pool in the past but tore it down and expanded it's aquarium in the same area. What is left is a small covered wading pool for kids and a large cement jacuzzi that does not replace a swimming pool by any stretch of the imagination.

The absence of a swimming pool is a deal-breaker with most tourists travelling with children. I found myself having to go to the Manila Hotel next door and using their swimming pool.

The other negative aspect is the difficulty of getting a taxi outside the hotel. There is a taxi stand but you must walk about 4 mins to the outside gates of the park to find one. Four minutes may not seem long but it is if you are carrying your luggage.

If they can fix these two areas then I definitely will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We appreciate & truly value your comments as these help us to improve. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this might have caused you during your stay. Rest assured that facility improvement is on the pipeline.

I would like to thank you, for commending our staff service and also for acknowledging the hotel. It has been a pleasure to accommodate you in Hotel H2O despite the concerns that you raised which we are taking constructively.

We will continue to strive at improving our guest experience to exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    228
    102
    33
    34
See reviews for
156
178
50
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

If you're looking for a place to bring the whole family for a taste of adventure within the city, then this is THE place. Aside from being able to enjoy the different adventures available in Ocean Park, an aquarium-themed room can add up to the thrill. We also had free pass for the Sharks & Rays Dry adventure. Location's a long walking distance to the malls in Malate/Ermita. The breakfast buffet in Makan-Makan was great! The pool was just disappointing although it was made of glass. Fancy, but disappointing. I must agree that it is confusing to get to the hotel. Getting to the actual hotel reception was a bit of a challenge. Overall, the experience was quite ok.

Room Tip: Get an aqua-themed room if you're bringing kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

After the confusing entrance to the hotel I arrived and my room was not ready and the girl at reception immediately advised that if I wanted to upgrade the room was ready. she continued to tell me that all the rooms had single bed configuration. I advised her that this option was given to me by the travel agent and that I had chosen a queen bed. Waiting around for 45 minutes I was then shown to my room..... which was a disabled persons room and not to my liking. More so was the view, which was to be a Park view......... a disgusting littered and polluted river flowed below and the park view was of the ocean park...... very disappointing. After going back to reception to collect my luggage as they had forgotten to deliver it. Transportation was a nightmare, staff were not willing/ capable to assist and every time I spoke about transport they suggested upgrades etc. I could not walk anywhere as it did not seem safe and was not accessible without taxi. I was very disappointed with my experience there that I would not recommend it to anyone unless you want to be isolated looking at a filthy port and the surrounds of the hotel compliment that.

Room Tip: I guess the only feature this hotel may offer are the rooms with the fishtanks as for everything els...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

A little tricky to navigate as the reception is on one side and the entrance to the rooms is on the other side. Friendly service , clean spacious and modern rooms. Highlight of my stay was the included breakfast- lots of choices and impeccable service! It's hard to get a taxi and there is no public transport nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for my mom's birthday, and we booked the aqua room. It was pretty good, and the bed's were soft and big. Finding the reception area was pretty confusing since it was on the 3rd floor. All in all, our stay was pretty alright, nothing bad happened, but one night here is enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Nice hotel...we had an Aqua Room with the aquarium in it. It was really cool seeing all the fish swim by day and night. I probably would not stay here again. Nothing seriously wrong just not totally my type of place. Confusing entry and if you have lots of bags you have to drop them off at a drop off and they take them for you to the 3rd floor for check in. (3rd floor really?) If not u have to drag all your bags up 2 flights of steps to the hotel entrance alongside the Manila Ocean Park entrance. The set-up was really not good and a little strange. Anyway, the rooms were good and clean except for the all glass bathroom?? I mean really?? The bathroom door doubles as the shower door and I could almost sit on the toilet and look through the clear glass wall and see the TV. Stupidest idea for a bathroom I ever saw. If you want or like privacy while your in the bathroom DO NOT stay at this hotel. The breakfast buffet was great though and staff very friendly and helpful just the bathroom and entrance/check-in set-up are kind of disasters.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my parents, at first it was a bit confusing entering the hotel as there is a small welcome reception area before walking up the stairs but once you enter the building and head to the 3rd floor for check in you get used to it. Needs better direction and signage though.

Our room was on the 2nd floor right on the opposite end of the hotel, it was surprisingly modern and well furnished with ceiling high windows. The view was of the show arena, we could see the shows and light shows which is pretty cool. There was a complimentary basket of snacks & drinks and the mini bar of soft drinks was also complimentary, that was very surprising.

The shower and toilet had their own separate cubicles and had blinds which could be put down. Theres no real privacy unfortunately but many hotels have a similar layout. There was a complimentary breakfast included for 2 pax but that was a one time only use, not complimentary daily. I booked through hotelclub so I will be looking at that more carefully from now on.

The buffet breakfast had a wide variety with great quality and a view of Manila Bay, the wait staff were very tentative in serving beverages and assisting with any special requests or egg/omelette orders and would often bring you plates of fruit/sweets or drinks once finished as a kind of dessert.

The only issue we experienced with this hotel was the keycard to our room would not work, 3 times I had to have the cards recoded. Every time I was told by staff they are very sensitive to magnetic fields from gadgets but I would usually just have the card in my wallet. One instance after having it recoded I placed it on the bedside table, in the morning it did not work upon returning from breakfast.

Getting a taxi may sometimes be an issue from this hotel but if you walk outside the complex there are sometimes taxi's standing on the side of the road. The hotel is a short ride away from Mall of Asia, there are many restaurants in the area and within the complex. Jose Rizal Monument is close by, a morning walk through the park and you'll find many exercising, tai chi practitioners and street food vendors.

This is a great hotel, it's away from the hustle and bustle of Manila. Theres plenty to see as Ocean Park shares the same complex and there are amusement, retail and food outlets below the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H2O

Address: Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 104 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H2O 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel H2O is the first and only marine-themed urban resort hotel in the Philippines. Opened on April 10, 2010, the hotel is part of the Manila Ocean Park complex in the Philippine capital’s historic Rizal Park. It has been designated as the official residence for guests and patrons of Manila Ocean Park.Every part of Hotel H2O has a connection to its namesake element, water – from its next-door proximity to Manila Ocean Park; to its location on the edge of Manila Bay; to its signature aquarium wall that adorns the inner guest rooms and grand ballroom; to the seafood specialties of its main F&B outlet, Makan Makan Asian Food Village; to the healing, negative-ion treatments of its wellness center, Zenyu Eco Spa. All these make Hotel H2O perhaps the most visually distinctive urban property in the country today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel H2O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.