We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel H2O

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel H2O to your Saves list
Hotel H2O
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Manila
1 review
“Christmas Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

When I first saw the place I was amazed and said to myself that I will come here for a night or two. Then come last christmas season we booked for 3 days and 2 nights. The rate was high but there are plenty of offers to choose from if you are not in a hurrt si that you can save.

The first time we went to check in I was so nervous because the place was elegant and nice I thought simple questions won't be entertained but the staff were nice they were the ones who offered evrrything we might need. They provided all the information we ask even the things I forgot to mention.

The place was cool and so relaxing I so love it. One thing though, I believe all rooms shiuld have their own aquariums regardless of the type as it is the motif of the hotel. Also the toilet has something to wash yourself with so that you don't have to go the bathroom to wash.

All in all everything was good and nice. Thanks for the experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    262
    111
    37
    38
See reviews for
183
209
54
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

For a special treat for my girlfriend i booked a night for Valentines day at Hotel h20. Proved to be a master stroke.

We were greeted by friendly reception staff and was nicely surprised with an upgrade to the Aqua Room which was very nice room indeed. Something very relaxing about watching fish swim by your room. One liked our company so much he stayed for the whole time.

Was told the best place to watch the sunset was the Whitemoon Bar i went there but the Manager was rude and arrogant. They had a valentines promotion on and unless we took up the over priced deal he didnt want us there at all. First he said it was all booked out but that was a lie. We went to Makan Makan Restaurant had just as good a view and saw hardly anybody in the Whie Moon Bar.

Makan Makan restaurant was very good the food and the service exceptional made up for the rude arrogant manager of the Whie Moon bar which i would avoid at all costs.

Had no problems on check out Room service was good my girlfriend was extremely happy so i have to rate the experience as excellent and well recommended.

Room Tip: Aqua Room recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

after a long fligth from sydney me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel.
the hotel was centrally located in Manila and just next to the ocean world.
upon arrival the bell man approach the taxi ang unload our bags from the vallet parking area
grab our details (reservation name ) and told the reception on level 3 by a radio.
then you need to go upstair to check in . welcomed by nice and friendly receptions.
our room was nice clean spacious and ofcourse the love AQUA rium in the room. amazing place to stay really recomemded.
seaside restaurant was night for late dine in as well.
makan makan restaurant was fantastic very attentive staff and brings your serve food with a smile.
the only thing i did not like is when i used the business centre and print one page cost me 250pesos no biggie but its a bit to much i guess.

definitely will stay again when i come back to Mnaila

Room Tip: aqua room with the bayview is an excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelH2O-Manila, Director of Sales at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking time and for sharing your experience with us.
Your comments on our Business Center service charge are valuable to us as these will
help the hotel to further review our offers. On the other hand,
we are pleased to have known that we have met your expectations in rooms over-all
upkeep, good breakfast buffet and our associates warm hospitality.
Once again, we thank you and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel is great and the staf is great but i will highly say should be carefull about cap and the food is so nice of the hotel ,About cab yes if you are a foregner they want to triple or try to rob you ,well when you go out from the hotel the guys after the stairs will ask you where you want to go ,
mega mall ,is very near and they will ask for first 400 pesos you should say no and walk out of the gate and you will see many taxi drivers just stop them and very relaxed say you want to go to mega mall its 106- 120 pesos depends on the traffic .if he doesnt open the taxi meter just ask him
why he is not opening it and just say i know its 106 pesos,philipinos are nice but just be carefull at shpoping cab , im rateing the hotel 2 becouse of GM is weak to protect there customers ,
they need more effort ps:the spa is ectreamly expensive from other spa the service you get for 250 pesos at the spa of the hotel it costs 1500 pesos

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a constructive review for Hotel H2O.

We regret to hear your unpleasant experience on the cabs and we would like to express our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured that necessary measures will be taken accordingly. We would like to share to you that our Concierge can assists the Hotel guests should they wish to take a taxi cab service. We also have a taxi slip form to identify cab information for the safety of our guests..

We will continue to strive at improving our guest experience to exceed your expectations. We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have no complaints about the hotel itself. The room was excellent, clean and comfortable. The hotel facilities were great and the views around the hotel were magnificent. But I rated the stay as disappointing and I wouldn't go back because of the cabs that go there. As a businessman, I consider cabs to be part of the hotel experience, something the GM of this hotel should consider. Every time the guard from the hotel got me a cab, the driver always tried to rip me off, for at least double the metered fare. For example, a ride to SM Megamall is about 200 pesos but three times, I was quoted prices of 400, 500, 600 pesos! In other hotels where I work like Midas, Heritage, I call a cab and they immediately turn on the meter. No negotiation required. Who needs this hassle when travelling? I saw the same problem with vacationers too. This hotel won't get repeat business if word of this cab rip off problem becomes more well known. I've worked with many hotels in the past and a good GM would never allow this to happen to their guests. Cab service is part of the overall hotel experience. I can't recommend staying here because I don't have time to negotiate cab fares every time I go out. I don't believe anyone on vacation wants to deal with this hassle either. Too bad because the H2O hotel itself is a great hotel to stay at and it's in a great location by the sea, behind Rizal Park. Lots of things to do nearby.

While the GM or manager of this hotel might say that the cabs are outside their control, I disagree. The guard who calls cabs for guests works for the hotel and should make sure that the cabs that pick up guests always uses the meter. Once word gets around that meters are required for guest pickup, the problem might go away. The hotel is co located with the Manila Ocean Park so this cab rip off problem hurts the Ocean Park experience too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a constructive review for Hotel H2O.

With regards to your comment on cab service, following this we have taken steps to address your concern and taking the appropriate actions to rectify the problem and prevent future occurrence. Currently, we are doing all necessary measures to suffice your dissatisfaction with utmost concern. We would like to express our true disappointment regarding the experience you had, as we also apologize for the inconvenience

We would like to thank you, for appreciating our facilities. It has been a pleasure to accommodate you at Hotel H2O.We look forward to welcome you back in the future in the hope that you will give us opportunity to be of service to you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

staying at H2O in manila was a good experience. i stayed at the aqua room. specious and comfortable. one thing i must add here that all the aqua rooms are not of same size. the giant aquarium at the wall gives you a great feeling. the food at makan makan restaurant was delicious. breakfast is awesome. situated at the heart of the city and fun for the kids at the ocean park. the hotel is inside the ocean park. friendly and smiling staff. i enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are very delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay.

Our entire team appreciates that you enjoyed our facilities. Indeed, our location is also a major plus because it gives our guests easy access to Manila Ocean Park attractions, amongst others.

We look forward to being of service with you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Arriving straight from the Airport late afternoon, we arrived in front of Ocean Park, having our first time visit to this Hotel, I thought we stopped at a wrong location, but as we stood there with our luggages, we were approached by H2o staff to lead us to the hotel via the Ocean Park Entrance, accessible via lift to the hotel Reception! A swift checkin by the awesome front desk team and the bell boys was fast to deliver our bags to our assigned aqua-room!

First Impression:
As we stepped into the room, we were both intriqued by the huge aquarium with lots of fish! I'm not sure but I believe the entire tank is running trough many room as one big aquarium. It's amazing! The bed is soft, clean, a big size bed badly needed after a long 15hours flight.

We took a stroll in the area, starting inside the complex, there are restaurants and lots of souvenir stores, there's the ocean Park, a worthwhile visit! The Grand stand Area is quiet, joggers and cyclists litters the area all day toll late afternoon!

Dining, Bar and Breakfast
Where to eat? While the hotel offers roomservice, we tried it once and it was good! Fast service! However me and my wife prefers to eat outside, so we asked the Front Desk for their recommendations, Harbor View Restaurant was just a stone throw nearby was the option! Amazing service! Strolling back quietly to the hotel, we were not in the mood to go to the city to get some drinks, so we visited the hotel's open Air bar, it is facing the Manila Bay, lots of comfy couches, your bar team deserves praises! Breakfast in late morning, we walked into the ambient, awesome restaurant, we were greeted at the entrance and lead to a clean table! Our waitress explained about the buffet and did a pretty well presentation. (You must try their omelettes - on request) the kitchen is an open area, thus allowing you to follow the cooking movements if you're interested in that. Thumbs up to the breakfast team! We had a very pleasant stay with h2o, and We will definitely come here again.

Pros:
Attentive front desk staff
Quick Checkin
Fast Bellboys!
Quiet and clean location
Awesome Bar & team

Cons:
Toilet needs improvements, as to more privacy is needed!
Faster Checkout, 15-20mins is too long due to house-keeping room-check during checkout, be adviced that checkout may take longer, especially when there's other people checking out at the same time, meaning many rooms needs to be checked out for missing items!

Hotel needs to implement Express Checkout!

Verdict: 4/5 stars!
Final Comment: We will return soon! :)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you appreciate everything about the hotel, from the food to the staff service, room and amenities

Thank you for giving inputs on the areas we can improve on. We will always look at improving the services we provide to our valued guests.

We would love to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H2O

Address: Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H2O 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel H2O is the first and only marine-themed urban resort hotel in the Philippines. Opened on April 10, 2010, the hotel is part of the Manila Ocean Park complex in the Philippine capital’s historic Rizal Park. It has been designated as the official residence for guests and patrons of Manila Ocean Park.Every part of Hotel H2O has a connection to its namesake element, water – from its next-door proximity to Manila Ocean Park; to its location on the edge of Manila Bay; to its signature aquarium wall that adorns the inner guest rooms and grand ballroom; to the seafood specialties of its main F&B outlet, Makan Makan Asian Food Village; to the healing, negative-ion treatments of its wellness center, Zenyu Eco Spa. All these make Hotel H2O perhaps the most visually distinctive urban property in the country today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel H2O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.