We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel H2O

Save Saved
You added Hotel H2O to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel H2O
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Diamond Package!
Ranked #11 of 103 hotels in Manila
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The bed in the aqua room is perfect for kids specially for toddlers. It's big enough and can actually accommodate a family of 2 kids because of its comfy and unique design.. I've stayed for several
Hotels but this I would say is perfect for me specially that I am more concern of my two kids sleeping behavior. I felt relaxed and was able to sleep well without worrying of my Kids getting bump and fall down from bed. The aquarium is awesome. We had a good buffet breakfast.. Worth the money you pay..I recommend this to a family with small kids they will surely enjoy the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share this experience with TripAdvisor.

It is great that you and your kids were able to enjoy the facilities likewise the buffet breakfast. It is always comforting to read that we continue to create great value and have indeed fully exceeded your expectations with our modern comfort and hotel features.

Your comments are well appreciated and will be shared with our Team.
Once again, thank you for your recommendation and we would love to have the pleasure of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    229
    103
    32
    33
See reviews for
153
173
50
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Talbot, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights, the room was very clean and the bed soft and comfortable. We had the breakfast there in the complex and couldn't complain every taste was catered for.
My only quibble was that if you wanted a swim you had to time it so that it didn't clash with the aquarium shows. Apart from that small problem, the hotel is located close to shopping, yet isolated enough that you don't get hassled if you decide to walk around the confines of the hotel.
We will be back

Room Tip: Pick the ocean view rooms, great view of the bay, and the spa is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review.

We are glad that you truly enjoyed our facilities including your breakfast experience at the Makan Makan Asian Food Village. We regret to know that you encountered some inconveniences with regards to the swimming pool and location of the hotel. We again apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is my second stay in this hotel. This hotel's service really is beyond worlds to be mentioned how bad. Simply pathetic! When I arrived at the hotel reception, I really thought that the service has improved. People from the hotel drop-off were pleasant and very attentive, only to find out that these young people were only students having their OJT in H2O. Regular personnel were still as inattentive and unmindful of their hotel guests. The only thing good about this hotel is their Aqua Rooms which are absolutely unique to them. However, be prepared to burst a vein if you are very particular about the quality of service this hotel gives. Don't say i did not warn you!

Room Tip: If you have a chance, choose the aqua room. My kid really loved it! Honestly, this is the only thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We sincerely appreciate that you took time to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel H2O.

Please allow us to express our sincere apologies for the unbecoming attitude of the staff on duty. This is not the standard of our service, and have dealt with the concerned departments to ensure this is acted upon right away. Rest assured we are taking this constructively.

We have noted, however, your remarks about our Aqua room and its unique concept. Thank you for the appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've stayed at a lot of hotels and resorts, but this hotel, by far, has the best bed ever!! So comfy you want to sleep on it for the rest of your life! Such a nice hotel especially the room with the aquarium. Room is very clean, modern and spacious. Worth the money you pay! The gym is nice too. Friendly staff, swift service, but only downside is it's hard to get a taxi from this location.. Took us over an hour to find a taxi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful recognition. Your comments are well appreciated and will be shared with our Team.

I would like to thank you, for commending our staff service and also for acknowledging the cleanliness and uniqueness of our Aqua room. It has been a pleasure to be of service to you.

We look forward to welcome you back in Hotel H2O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Aust
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here in an aqua room for two nights. A unique experience and something different. Though room was very small. Service was okay. Our rate included 2 breakfast so we were to pay for our kids Brekkie at half price. $15 each !! with an early checkout on our second day I asked if we could have all four breakfasts on the first day. Not possibe but we can give you a packed breakfast on yr early checkout day. These were huge 4 x more than we could eat ! Would have cost them way less to go with my idea. Expect slowness in emails if booking direct.
Oh and apparently pool out of action and contrary to what they said it was not advised

Room Tip: Follow up with your booking , they may not
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Your feedback is very much appreciated & valuable to us. Referring back to your comments, we regret to know that your request about the breakfast was not attended well. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.

For the swimming pool, it is currently undergoing renovation to give way to our new attraction that will be launched sometime in September. The newest attraction will feature interaction with Sharks and Stingrays.

Above all, it is a delight to know that you enjoyed your stay in the Aqua room.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is next to the Malina ocean park and the rooms are good, large and very clean. However our room lateral and with no views. We had free internet but it was very slow. The hotel had no swimming pool running and the breakfast was just reasonable, not buffet. However the hotel is close to Rizal Park and Intramuros what was good Check-out is slow as it takes a lot to inspect whether there was theft in the room!?!

Room Tip: Choose de bay view rooms or rooms with aquarium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Your feedback is very much appreciated & valuable to us. Thank you for acknowledging the cleanliness of the Hotel.

We apologize if the internet access did not work properly in your room that day, and that our staff missed to give you assistance regarding options in using the internet in the hotel.

For the swimming pool, it is currently undergoing renovation to give way to our new attraction that will be launched sometime in September. The newest attraction will feature interaction with Sharks and Stingrays.

As you mentioned that the breakfast is just reasonable, we are working our way to add more variety in the breakfast line up.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this incident might have caused you during your stay.We will continue to strive at improving our guest experience to exceed your expectations.We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I heard about its aqua rooms in this hotel so I booked for 4 nights stay. The room is very well design n the bathroom is very unique. Buffet breakfast in makan-makan restaurant is so-so only but waiters are very helpful and attentive. Checking out is a real bad experience, only 2 counters to cater for a long queue, it takes me 35 mins to clear. When I check in my room it was fascinating to see the wall to wall aquarium. My hobby is keeping fishes - fresh water n marine - to distress myself, but after a closer look, I was shock about the deplorable state of the fishes, they look so thin n sick probably not fed at all. After 2 nights, I decided to lower the screen to cover the aquarium. I feel so stressful rather then relaxing. PLEASE FEED THE FISHES, I give a rating of 4 star but 0 for the fishes. Anyway I would recommend friends to stay at the Bayview room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for spending time to give us feedback on your recent stay.

Fish feeding is scheduled on certain hours of each day.

We have noted your concern on the marine life at the hotel and all your other comments .Rest assured we acted on them accordingly. We would like to express our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to be of service to you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H2O

Address: Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 103 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H2O 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel H2O is the first and only marine-themed urban resort hotel in the Philippines. Opened on April 10, 2010, the hotel is part of the Manila Ocean Park complex in the Philippine capital’s historic Rizal Park. It has been designated as the official residence for guests and patrons of Manila Ocean Park.Every part of Hotel H2O has a connection to its namesake element, water – from its next-door proximity to Manila Ocean Park; to its location on the edge of Manila Bay; to its signature aquarium wall that adorns the inner guest rooms and grand ballroom; to the seafood specialties of its main F&B outlet, Makan Makan Asian Food Village; to the healing, negative-ion treatments of its wellness center, Zenyu Eco Spa. All these make Hotel H2O perhaps the most visually distinctive urban property in the country today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel H2O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.