We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aquarium room!! sweet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel H2O

Save Saved
You added Hotel H2O to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel H2O
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Trick or Treat!
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Manila
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Aquarium room!! sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Checked in here almost a year ago and was very thrilled with my room as it had an awesome

ceiling to floor aquarium with many fish swimming about.

Rooms - very big and tidy with nice rain showers, soft bed with extra fluffy pillows

service - service lacks a little but they do try very hard

Eat - there is a nice market style resto with amazing foods and breakfast buffet

area- local are or in fact right next door is ocean park and only a short walk away is rizal park

Room Tip: book aquarium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    242
    106
    33
    36
See reviews for
171
190
50
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It's not a family friendly. We charge for the baby "wiwi" from the diaper leak. Its just a small portion. I was wondering if they are not washing the comforter thats why they charged us. I also saw a red stain inside the comforter (ewwwwwww!!!) when i was sleeping. Are they really not cleaning all the comforter or just cleaning the bedsheet only?! Also, you can hear all the noise outside from your room. I can't sleep... The room also is sooo small... No swimming pool also... So disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Your feedback is very much appreciated & valuable to us. Rest assured proper actions are done right away to avoid similar incident or shortcoming in the future.
For the swimming pool, it is currently undergoing renovation to give way to our new attraction that will be launched sometime in September. The newest attraction will feature interaction with Sharks and Stingrays.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this might have caused you during your stay.
We will continue to strive at improving our guest experience to exceed your expectations.
We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a most unusual hotel where you have your room window onto the underwater part of an aquarium. You can see tropical, colourful swimming back and forth while you are relaxed on your bed. The aquarium is about 2 feet deep and have a blue backing. It runs along all the rooms on one side of the long corridor which is the main floor of the hotel.

We picked an Aqua Room, which was good enough for our needs. If you are claustrophobic, you should pick a room with the view over Manila bay.

The breakfast buffet was centered mostly on Filipino and classic continental breakfast dishes.

We found the staff most helpful. We forgot some items in the refrigerator, so the room service manager facilitate their delivery to our next destination.

If you need to check out early to catch a flight, it is tricky to get a taxi because the main aquarium facility is closed. However, a very helpful staff ran to the main road and flagged one down for us. Their shuttle service is over triple the cost of the taxi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel h2o. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of our team. We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services. We look forward to welcome you back anytime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We picked this hotel purely for the Aqua Rooms which have an aquarium running the length and breath of the bedroom's main wall. It was a real novelty and quite calming and therapeutic to lie in bed watching the fish swimming around. The queen sized bed was very comfy and the bathroom was gorgeous with a very powerful drench shower.
The facilities on site were adequate with restaurants, shopping, a bar and a spa. Although we weren't blown away by any of them to be honest. The Ocean Park was pretty cool though and I'd recommend visiting if you're staying at the H20 Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at H2O for 3 nights. The location is closely located to Mall of Asia. We stayed in the Aqua Classic room and the Premiere Suite. The aquarium in the Aqua Classic is awesome but if you're claustrophobic I don't recommend it since there are no windows. The washroom is very clean and modern. The Premiere Suite is enormous! I liked the sunken living area and floor to ceiling windows. The hotel amenities are great however the service is horrible. Upon checking in the front desk staff was not pleasant. The suite is supposed to hold up to 3 or 4 guests but they only gave us 2 bath and hand towels and no face cloths. We had to request towels, extra bed sheets, pillows and a blanket for the 3rd person and it took over 45 minutes. Housekeeping service was terrible. We requested to have a packed breakfast in the morning because we had a very early flight but they forgot. Concierge is able to arrange a private van to drive to Mall Of Asia or the airport or other destinations; a one way trip costs about $800pesos but you can get an air conditioned taxi and it will cost about $80pesos.

If you're just looking for a clean place to stay and is single or a couple this place is great. If you're a family and have more than 2 persons in the room they are not too accommodating.

Room Tip: If you're claustrophobic and need windows do not stay in the Aqua Room. Ask for a room closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahaheel, Kuwait
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel was amazing from start to finish. Problem is no cab's come at night and you're left wandering around in the dark trying to get to a public enough street to catch a cab. Anyways the Bayview room is awesome, it comes with a cool spa and the beds are absolutely comfortable. The hotel also has a lovely lounge area that serves great cocktails.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a week. The room was small but adequate. They did provide housecleaning every day. We thought we had a booked a themed room but it was standard looking out onto the sea lion show.
Would I recommend staying yes maybe for one or two nights more than that for the price I would recommend you find a better hotel for I would guess the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H2O

Address: Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H2O 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel H2O is the first and only marine-themed urban resort hotel in the Philippines. Opened on April 10, 2010, the hotel is part of the Manila Ocean Park complex in the Philippine capital’s historic Rizal Park. It has been designated as the official residence for guests and patrons of Manila Ocean Park.Every part of Hotel H2O has a connection to its namesake element, water – from its next-door proximity to Manila Ocean Park; to its location on the edge of Manila Bay; to its signature aquarium wall that adorns the inner guest rooms and grand ballroom; to the seafood specialties of its main F&B outlet, Makan Makan Asian Food Village; to the healing, negative-ion treatments of its wellness center, Zenyu Eco Spa. All these make Hotel H2O perhaps the most visually distinctive urban property in the country today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel H2O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.