We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting place to spend the weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel H2O

Save Saved
You added Hotel H2O to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel H2O
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Diamond Package!
Ranked #9 of 103 hotels in Manila
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An interesting place to spend the weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A very interesting place to stay. It is located inside the compound of the Ocean Park in Manila. If you get a good room you can have a good view of the sea or a view of the side where the dolphin shows are held. The place is neat, very comfy, with very nice hotel staffs. Spacious parking is also available. A must try

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    239
    103
    33
    35
See reviews for
164
185
50
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I love to travel and we've been to numerous places. It's not usual that you see such a beautiful sight in your room as we booked their Aqua room. The bed was comfortable. The aquarium is really something interesting. However, the shower area floods. Not so nice huh. It's accessible to the airport though, another plus. Service was another plus.

Will definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It was a First night when i have arrived in Manila. It was a great concierge who help us with our lungage. Great view from the Reception and the room was Fantastic. I work in a hotel aswell comparing it to the one in cambridge this is far exceeding great service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Just checked out at hotel h2o and its sad to leave coz i really love this hotel. Its our second time to stay but the experience is still the same. Manila ocean park is just downstairs so we had a wonderful vacation. Amazing hotel. I just wish they could have lower rates so that we could keep coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's hotel itself is very nice and in a decent location on the bay. However, the service is not up to par with hotels of its class. We arrived at 2:30pm on our day of check-in and were told that our room wasn't ready, even though check-in was at 2pm. They asked us to wait in the lobby and they would bring us a welcome drink. We sat for 10 minutes and no drink came, but then they said our room was ready, so we went to check-in. Upon getting to our room, we discovered that it was not the room we paid for. We inquired at the desk, and they said they had upgraded us. We then asked to be in the original room that we asked for, since we wanted a couch, and we knew the one we paid for had a couch. They said they had overbooked and our original type of room wasn't available for another 20 minutes, again they said we'd get a welcome drink. So we waited. No drink. Then our room was finally ready. The room we got (the one we paid for) was a lot nicer than the one they tried to give us that they told us was an "upgrade." So we were not happy they tried to cheat us.

During our stay, they were conducting a fire drill. They notified us via note that this would happen, but we didn't need to do anything, so I thought that was fine. Then, during the fire drill, there was an announcement that said that it was a drill, but we still needed to vacate our rooms. So I went outside my rooms and saw everyone else vacating, but a hotel worker said that we didn't need to. It was incredibly confusing.

Another annoyance... The wifi is one of those website logins. And you can't use the code more than once, so every time you want to go on the Internet, you need a new username and password. Sometimes the device will remember it, sometimes not. But regardless, you need a different one for each device and it only lasts 24 hours. Very annoying.

The hotel itself is very nice, and the aquarium rooms are awesome, but the service and the operations of the hotel need severe work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelH2O-Manila, Director of Sales at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time in informing us of your concerns.

We are disappointed to learn of your recent experiences, the miscommunication on the original room reservation that you made and our lack of coordination on the recent fire drill. Moreover, your concern on wifi access is well noted. Please rest assured that the management will take corrective actions and measures to prevent the situation from happening again.

We sincerely appreciate and value your comments as these will help the hotel to further improve our services.

We hope this incident will not discourage you from returning to Hotel H2O in the future.
Please give us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I and my wife recently stayed at Hotel H2O for a night. I read a lot of reviews on this hotel about its aqua rooms and thought it would be a good idea to experience it. We were passing through Manila only for a night.
I would definitely recommend to stay in this hotel, especially in its Aqua room.
First let me clear some things...I read some negative reviews about unfriendly staff, bad management of incoming guests, long check in and check out times, bad bathroom design. We didn't experience anything of that sort. It was smooth as butter. people should read directions before reaching the hotel before getting caught dumbfolded. And how can water creep into the bedroom is beyond my understanding. One must be stupid enough not to know how to use the shower door. Anywaz it was a very pleasant exprience. here is a quick review:

PROs
Unique room with a huge aquarium. My wife loved it.
Super friendly staff
Smooth check in and check out
Their restaurant Makaan Makaan was pretty good. The breakfast buffet was very good.
There is a ope bar facing the harbor. Check it out, really friendly staff and good place to chill after a long day. Open till late. We missed our dinner so we ate at this bar. Good food as well. We got some free shots from the owner.
Inside Ocean Park, so easy access to it, if you want
Very near to the tourist spots such as Fort Santiago and Rizal Park. Also not far from SM Mall.

CONs
Shared swimming pool with the ocen park. you are pretty much on public display.
A bit out of the way. MIght have to walk a bit to catch a cab during odd hours. Though we didnt hav any problems.
The aquarium inside the room is a big glass panel shared across all such rooms. So yes, you might hear noise if someone bangs on the glass. Not disturbing though.

Check it out for a experience of its own.

Room Tip: Definitely get the aqua room. great experience for couples and kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stay: 2/14/13 - 2/15/13
Hotel: H2O - Parkview Room 3107
Location: Manila Bay, Manila
Booked: Agoda for $89.91
Bed Type: Two Twin Sized Beds
Wi-Fi: Slow. 1 Log in per user.

A welcome gift was provided when arriving in the hotel room. This included 2 bottled waters, 1 Coca-Cola, 1 Sprite, 1 bag of Lay’s Sour Cream & Onion potato chips, and 1 bag of Grower’s Peanuts - Oriental Flavor of course.

Small toilet, very intimate style bathroom. I’d be uncomfortable pooping with people in the room as they can see your silhouette. A privacy curtain is available, but the bathroom is still too tiny. Also, you’d definitely hear someone pooping in this situation.

TV on demand - movies were limited, but this is the first hotel I stayed at in the Philippines with this technology.

View from the room was of the live waterpark show by day, by night the dancing fountains.

The pillows were firm and what seemed to be something made of a thick/durable foam. I found this very uncomfortable.


Hotel H2O Annoyances:
The room had a flashing light above the door. It looks like it’s an emergency exit light. It flashed every 20 seconds.

The air conditioner worked the first hour I was in the room, then spouted out heat for the next 2-3 hours. It took several calls to the front desk to get it fixed. At one point at night, the air conditioner turned itself on for a few minutes. I got up to verify that the switch was in fact set to "OFF."

Calling the reception for help proved to be a challenge itself. Many calls went unanswered. 2 of my 10 calls were answered promptly, the other times no one picked up.

At one point, all the lights in the room decided to turn themselves off. It took a few attempts to call for help before they were turned back on.

The hotel from the outside is really nice, but due the problems I incurred, I'm rating this 2/5 and will not be returning to this hotel.

For more information about traveling, search for the Danger Avoider blog.

Room Tip: If you really want to go, book it just for 1 night. Don't spend too much time here, there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H2O

Address: Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H2O 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel H2O is the first and only marine-themed urban resort hotel in the Philippines. Opened on April 10, 2010, the hotel is part of the Manila Ocean Park complex in the Philippine capital’s historic Rizal Park. It has been designated as the official residence for guests and patrons of Manila Ocean Park.Every part of Hotel H2O has a connection to its namesake element, water – from its next-door proximity to Manila Ocean Park; to its location on the edge of Manila Bay; to its signature aquarium wall that adorns the inner guest rooms and grand ballroom; to the seafood specialties of its main F&B outlet, Makan Makan Asian Food Village; to the healing, negative-ion treatments of its wellness center, Zenyu Eco Spa. All these make Hotel H2O perhaps the most visually distinctive urban property in the country today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel H2O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.