We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting but needs improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel H2O

Save Saved
You added Hotel H2O to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel H2O
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Diamond Package!
Ranked #9 of 103 hotels in Manila
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“interesting but needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

i was at h2o with my family twice this year since i got a good deal from ensogo. the aqua rooms were fascinating. we stayed at aqua supreme last august and at a premiere suite (still with aquarium walls) just this october.

the service needs improvement though. we had to wait for at least 30 minutes to check in and the last time we were there, they had a problem with my reservation. although we were given a free upgrade, they initially tried to get us to agree to settle to a sea view room even if i reiterated that the reason i was back there was because of the aquarium walls.

the hotel is part of manila ocean park and entrance to the hotel was disappointing since it they do not have a separate access for hotel guests. (i think they are already working on an annex)

food was just okay. nothing special. plus you can choose to eat at a number of restaurants at the ground floor.

pool was open to public for a fee. good thing my son was content with playing in the tub.

published rates were not reasonable.

Room Tip: recommended for honeymooners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    237
    103
    33
    35
See reviews for
163
185
50
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed here for six nights, it was great value, the place is so clean, the staff are friendly, breakfast is excellent, great location, and honest staff ( cleaners found a few of our misplaced dollars and returned all of it to us),would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The aqua room is great if you want to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Hotel H20 was unlike any other hotel I've stayed in because it had wall to wall aquarium for a view. We were booked in the Aqua Supreme Room with my baby and the sight of the fishes really fascinated her. Hotel H20 is inside Manila Ocean Park and I would recommend this hotel if you're planning a place to stay in with the kids. The room is new and modern as well as the rest of the hotel. They had a nice lounge with an awesome view of Manila Bay (but I don't know if lounge is accessible to certain room types only). The free buffet breakfast at the Makan Makan Asian Food Village was filling and satisfying, especially if you like Oriental food. Overall, I liked my stay. The only things I didn't like was that the swimming pool was accessible to the public (making it crowded with students on their field trip) and there are no signages inside Manila Ocean Park which guides one to go to the hotel.

Room Tip: aqua supreme room for the wall to wall aquarium
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for an overnighter with the whole family. We got 2 park view rooms online for just $120. Such a great deal! Pros: the rooms were very modern, clean, compact but spacious enough for 2 adults and 1 kid. Restaurants were a skip away- Makan Makan had very good Asian food at reasonable prices. We had brekkie at Pancake House with a great view of the bay. Our rooms had a nice view of the pool and the area where they stage the laser/light show at night so all we had to do was look out the window to watch. There was complimentary soda, chips and nuts in the mini bar; very unusual for hotels but it was a nice treat. The lil ones enjoyed Manila Ocean Park which is right by the hotels doorstep. Cons: i have to agree with most people who reviewed this hotel. About the bathroom..it was really inconsiderate of them to think of putting glass doors. Although frosted, you could see right through if the lights are on plus there are spaces in between so any sounds or odors escape. No privacy at all! About the hotel entrance..yes, it is co-located in MLa Ocean Park therefore before reaching the lobby (which was nice btw) you have to walk w the maddening crowd. Another minus point was the room service. Took quite awhile for them to respond to our qualms. Anyway, overall it was a good hotel. I would stay here again if I got the

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We checked in last Nov1, 2011 in their aqua room and stayed for only a few hours because we were not able to stand the suffocating rooms with low ceilings, no windows and ventilation. The moment we entered the room, we were greeted by a certain odor which could have resulted by lack of ventilation. I was so uncomfortable thinking that I was with my kids and they were inhaling air which was circulating all over the enclosed hotel, so unhealthy! I could just imagine the viruses and bacteria that were circulating in that very cramped place. The sheets on the bed seemed to have been used already, looked crumpled and did not smell clean. It was also very frustrating that when we arrived, the receptionist asked us to use an unfinished ramp with wires and pieces of wood hanging and no side handles or bars to keep us from falling. We insisted not to use that ramp and we were instructed instead to go through the main entrance of ocean park where there were so many people all around. i wouldn't suggest this hotel to anyone, specially when you are bringing kids, unless you want them to breathe unhealthy air. Terrible!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We're going back- - - We got the least expensive rooms- park view/view of the swimming pool. Very pleasantly surprised- - big floor to ceiling windows tastefully decorated. Took a peek of Bay View rooms- - great option. The other rooms with no windows with fish swimming on the walls depend on personal preference. feels claustrophobic. Buffet breakfast is good value at 600 pesos. Outstanding service from Kaye (front desk), Jonathan I. (restaurant). Very recommendable, great value. Negatives- - no bath tub in our room- shower stall; no lavatory in the toilet (not kidding). The reception person (guy) who cecked us in was curt, abrupt, almost to the point of being rude.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Booked directly with the hotel, got the room only rate for just P2,525 for a Park View Room. The hotel itself shares the same entrance as the Manila Ocean Park and you have to take an elevator ride to the 3rd floor for check-in.

I cannot fault the service and everyone are friendly and courteous. The room itself is also clean and modern, the bed and pillows are comfortable. The free snacks from the minibar are much appreciated, and the free shopping bag inside the cabinet is a nice touch.

The only thing that is a real turn-off is the layout of the room. Frosted glass CR directly faces the bed and is embarrassing to use in the presence of others. That's my only complaint as compared to the many great features and services provided by the hotel, but it is one aspect that is very hard to overlook.

Room Tip: If you are not keen on having an aquarium room, the Parkview Room is great value for money. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H2O

Address: Luneta (Behind the Quirino Grandstand), Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H2O 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel H2O is the first and only marine-themed urban resort hotel in the Philippines. Opened on April 10, 2010, the hotel is part of the Manila Ocean Park complex in the Philippine capital’s historic Rizal Park. It has been designated as the official residence for guests and patrons of Manila Ocean Park.Every part of Hotel H2O has a connection to its namesake element, water – from its next-door proximity to Manila Ocean Park; to its location on the edge of Manila Bay; to its signature aquarium wall that adorns the inner guest rooms and grand ballroom; to the seafood specialties of its main F&B outlet, Makan Makan Asian Food Village; to the healing, negative-ion treatments of its wellness center, Zenyu Eco Spa. All these make Hotel H2O perhaps the most visually distinctive urban property in the country today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel H2O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.