We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay next Door” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rosa's Garden Hotel

Rosa's Garden Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rosa's Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Rosa's Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1140 MH Del Pilar St., Ermita, Manila, Luzon, Philippines (Ermita)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Rarotonga
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stay next Door”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had problem over booking at Best Western La Corona next door so they recommended I give this a try - for one night. For convenience I did -but although they are "sister" hotels there is simply no comparison - the Rosas rooms are dated and worn; no safe as noted previously - though reasonably clean. The breakfast is a pathetic shadow of La Corona's buffet and bringing a guest back incurs a 600P surcharge. As their rack rate is 2400P versus La Coronas 3000P for a muvh more modern and comfortable establishment - it's worth the difference. Only use in times of necessity.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
6
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

For the money Rosa's had a big room compared to others. Relatively clean. No safe in the rooms though. Includes breakfast. A little bit noisy from the traffic. Location is good if you like that area. There is a lot of poverty on the streets which can be heartbreaking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Compared to some of the places I've stayed in Manila Rosas is excellent value for money. It's clean, water pressure is good and the staff are helpful. The location is good if you want to stay in Ermita, plenty of restaurants, bars and 7-11 nearby. interesting gift shop downstairs with local handicrafts at reasonable prices. There were a few little cockroaches around the tv table, only stayed one night so didn't have any issues with room cleaning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Location
Good location in Ernita- around 20min -1 hour from airport MNL (when in traffic). Immediate vicinity has 7 eleven within walking distance, some shops but arrived late so didn't see many open. The bar's in the area are more catered for sex tourists as you simply can't have a beer without some hooker hassling you. No seedy looking places but just hassle from the minute you enter- went to 5 bars same problem, propositioned every time.
Room
Room is very basic- told it was a superior room because it had x2 double beds. Beds very firm and uncomfortable and room had very small insect infestation by mirror. The room includes a cupboard, themeless decor but clean, a kettle but right in the heart of 'Ants villa" so was not that encouraged to use and old style fat TV- many satellite channels such as HBO and National geo etc.. plugs are all by this area - 3 in total. A fridge with a mini bar but only drinks. There is a shower & toilet with basic soap and shampoo sachets- although they did provide brand new toothbrushes sealed in packets. Toilet doesn't flush well. Saw bugs in the bathroom. A/C is restricted to one side of room- not very efficient and lights are all rather simple. There is no SAFE which concerned me from previous review.
Staff
Staff were friendly enough from reception with smooth check-in/out & restaurant staff were ok.Spoke English well. They provide hotel to MNL airport transfer at six hundred peso.
Facilities
WIFI is available but is not constant kept sort of coming and going now and then- but possibly my mac rather than their issue. Had breakfast (as included in room rate) in which you get 3 choices - American (bacon or ham or hot dogs with eggs and 4 slices of toast with jam, mango/oJ/Apple juice with coffee or tea) - had this and was very nice, they also do a pancakes and fruit plate instead.
Overall was forced to stay at this hotel because the Best Western next door overbooked my room even tho I paid for it and only assisted me with this hotel- which is not close to the level of Best Western. I wouldn't stay here again because the room was not comfortable and a little infested. However food was good for breakfast and staff are honestly really nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have stayed this hotel for many years. A friend
was joining me a few times and was complaining
that every time he stayed in Rosas Garden he was missing
items. Such expensive sunglasses. Nice branded shirt and
even boxer shorts. I could hardly believe it. Than this year I had my
experience. The hotel rooms have no lockers I was always putting
my cash in my locked bag pack and hidding the key. I went to the bank
and had put 50.000 pesos in a brown envelop. Next day it was only
45.000 pesos. I thought that maybe I made a mistake.

My father came a few days later and changed 1000 euro with me
( 20 times 50 euro). Next morning I discovered that 12 biljets of 50 euro
equal 600 euro were gone. I informed hotel management. They have checked
security cameras and could see who went in my room. We have even informed police.
However nothing happened. We are pretty to sure who is stealing from the cleaning staff.
The staff is staying one floor lower than the guests and can check out the rooms all the time.
We believe some of the staff is working together searching for valuable things from
hotel guests.

It looked like Hotel Management were taking the issues serious but not further actions was taking. The thieves are still working there and I lost 27.000 pesos. My friend lost various valuable branded items. It was my favorite hotel for many years but I am not feeling comfortable in this hotel anymore Let this be a serious warning for everybody who like to stay in this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed normally in the Bayview Park hotel nearby but we wanted to try something different this time. And in shoet it is very comparable. Rooms are basic but good. Bed is ok and once i find the lever for the valve to add waterpressure the shower was good too. There is a bit more noise from outside. Breakfast i cannot comment as we passed on that due to very late arrival. Overall can recommend this hotel. Good value for 2300p. The neighborhood is not recommended for (western) kids. I have been many times in this area because we like to go out at the Cowboy Grill. Never been really bothered to feel unconfortable. If you want to give a kid something buy him noodles at 7-11. Better than to give them money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacloban, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Traveling for business or pleasure can sometimes be tiring. That is why choice of lodging for your trip can be one of the most important decisions you make. For comfort and value you would be hard pressed to find a better hotel selection than Rosa's Garden. Small size does definitely not mean less quality. On the contrary. This place is a real find. Excellent staff. Clean...well maintained and perfect location. Many food establishments nearby...as well as an excellent on site restaurant. Walking distance to many area sites. Breakfast included with room was delicious and plentiful. This hidden gem is a must for the value conscious traveler wanting the most for their money. Will definitely make this our regular travel stop while in Manila.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rosa's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa's Garden Hotel

Address: 1140 MH Del Pilar St., Ermita, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 105 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosa's Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rosa's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosa's Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.