We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bang for the buck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bocobo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Bocobo Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Bocobo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jorge Bocobo St. corner Kalaw Ave. | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines (Ermita)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Manila
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Bang for the buck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We needed a place to stay near St. Luke's Extension Clinic and US Embassy. We booked this hotel thru TripAdvisor for a really good deal! Rooms are excellent and clean! Staff are always accomodating, helpful and friendly. Restaurant in the lobby serves excellent food as well. Hotel is walking distance to Robinson's Place Manila, Luneta Park, ATMs, 24-hour convenience stores and fastfood, and many other restaurants. It's also near Manila Ocean Park (few mins cab for $1-2). This place is highly recommended!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    150
    58
    14
    9
See reviews for
41
106
78
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Casa Bocobo is a decent budget hotel. It was clean enough and had ok rooms. The beds were good and the staff were polite. The wifi has some issues with dropping out at times but generally was decent. (Speeds between 100k and 500k).

A comment about the area however; it is very rough. There are lots of homeless people around and you will be asked frequently for money or if you want a ride. There isn't really much around the area to do apart from a couple of shopping malls and Intramuros. If you think you might be uncomfortable in a bad area then consider paying more and staying in Makati.

My suggestion for the hotel would be to put mini fridges in every room or at least put an ice machine on each floor. It was more annoying that I expected to not have a fridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road. I had one on the back alley which was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We've stayed at the Casa Bocobo for one night, we got a room on the third floor, which was quite spacious, had AC, but the second we stepped in the room, the heat hit us with around 40C, and smell of dampness. The location was a ghost town after 20:00, but it's close to Intramuros and Robinsons Mall. We paid around 2750 PHP, which is a lot for what you get. I suggest you go see the room first, and then take it. Staff very friendly and helpful!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Pros:
- Friendly staff
- Hotel is well located

Cons:
- The first night we were given an awful room on the second floor. Was very disappointed as the room was dark, had a funny smell and disgusting bedsheets
- We were given a much better room on our last couple of nights which was spacious with better lighting and cleansiness

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olongapo, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Even though I didn't get much enough sleep for personal reason, I was so inlove with my bed. It was so soft and very comfy. My TV was okay, has a lot of channels. The restroom in my room was clean, has soap, towels ready. My breakfast was okay. Overall, it was affordable, clean and nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have stayed few times in this hotel. The personnel is very nice and respectful, the price is reasonable and the food is cheap and good.
The location is good but the surrounding is not so friendly mostly in the night time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The place is clean, quiet and budget-wise good for backpackers. Location is good (near malls and red district of Manila).

Just need to invest more on training for staff about customer service and interaction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bocobo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bocobo Hotel

Address: Jorge Bocobo St. corner Kalaw Ave. | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bocobo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hotel for travelers who yearn only the basic in lodging but demand excellence in service. A no-frills hotel, we put emphasis on practicality and sensibility. Rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable, set in a safe and secure location. Ideally located along Jorge Bocobo Street corner Kalaw and Avenue in Ermita, we are in close proximity to business and commercial districts. Nearby tourist spots include Rizal Park, Roxas Boulevard, Intramuros, Manila Ocean Park, and Binondo (Chinatown). Manned by well-trained personnel whose mission is to provide guests service that radiates the warmth and efficiency of true Filipino hospitality - ensuring a stay so comfortable; guests will definitely feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Casa Bocobo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Bocobo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bocobo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.