We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room good enough for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islas 8817 Guesthouse

Islas 8817 Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Islas 8817 Guesthouse to your Saves list
Islas 8817 Guesthouse
8817 San Juan Street San Antonio Valley 2, Paranaque City, Manila, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Manila
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Basic room good enough for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night because we wanted a place that's closed to the airport. I was very surprised at the accommodation. We had to go up a steep flight of stairs, which can be dangerous for older people or those with problems with mobility.

There was a toilet in the room, but only for peeing, and you had to go down to take a shower or if you wanted to poop. The Wifi didn't work when we tried it. Everywhere, there was the smell of dog or cat poo.

On the plus side, it was really cheap (~PhP160 per bed), it was near the airport, and the Japanese owner was very friendly, not only to me but also to my American boyfriend. The other guests were also nice, especially the Chinese woman who had hung her wet panties everywhere in the room.

All in all, I would recommend if you need a cheap place to stay that's close to the airport.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the coolest place in the Philippines! The Japanese owner is super cute. He's an old guy who's been in the Philippines for 30 years. He lives a quiet life running the hostel with his Japanese wife and is a winner. The hostel is pretty horrific. The outside floors are a bit flooded. The bathrooms don't really work, but this is the kind of place that I absolutely love. The dorm is tiny with lots and lots of sub-par bunkbeds. This is exactly the type of place where you meet travel buddies. There was a Chinese girl who hung all of her panties up on random beds. These kinds of things just don't happen at boutique, high-end hostels. You make friends with the other people living at the hostel due to space constraints, and the bare-boned nature of the place. Don't forget, it costs under $4 (P165) for a bed. I would definitely come back and stay here again. Nearby are lots of places to eat, a convenience store, access to transportation, and a major airport if you feel like hopping to another city. Check it out, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Place is very clean and good value. Security is good. Washroom is nice, hot water and clean. Owner can come off as rude but I think it's not on purpose as she's very helpful when talking about attractions and always gives approximate prices which helps a ton. There's also cheap breakfast/food available and towels. Good place to spend a night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in fan dorm.
Customer was only me although, There are 8 beds in the room.
Room is solo clean.
Security is good. Because The owner always lock the gate.
Location is so so good. WalterMart is 5 min on foot.
This WalterMart is good point to indicate for jeep driver.
Hot shower is also available.
Both room price and beer are cheap.
But fan is slow. So I felt uncomfortable.
And there is no window screen in dorm room.
Is window shut, the room is hot. But if window open, mosquito and cockroach can enter inside.
Actually I saw a cockroach enter in.
Wifi is not available in dorm room.
The Owner who is Japanese is friendly but emotional too much.
I mistakingly left dorm fan running and went down for taking shower.
At that time, he scolded me with angry.
And he added "You can go out whenever you want!" in a tone of COMMAND.
He want to save electricity.
2days later , I left.

Room Tip: In Fan dormitory, wifi is not available. For wifi, It might be better to stay in AC dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

no-frill arrangement that charges apparently for everything. however, they had a flexible cancellation policy. was supposed to stay for 2 nights, but stayed for only 1 without having to lose much of my money. the stay was descent, although i think there're places in manila that offer better value for that amount of money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Only stayed here for one night, before flying to Boracay the next day. It is out of the main part of Manila, though still relatively close to the shops. Not really much of a nightlife scene going on. The room itself was ok, though they do not provide bedsheets or towels. You have to pay extra for them. There is no hot water and the shower pressure isn't that good either. As mentioned in previous comments, you have to yell or bang a coin on the gate if you are out past midnight. It rained when I was there, so the owners were happy to supply me with an umberella when I went out to eat, have a drink, etc. But the owners are very helpful people and if you only want to stay a night or two and want a quieter place to stay, then I recommend this place.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Firstly the room LOOKS clean but once you stay you realise it's infested with Ants. Read other reviews say same. The staff seem friendly enough since I'm Australian but to my partner who is filipina they barely looked at her. So difficult to get in or out not door just gate you must knock with coin or yell out for them to hear you.

EXPENSIVE! they tried to charge me more for room than what site says. Charge you from bed sheets, towels. If you want nice room go to: green mango inn, close to there and much nicer

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Islas 8817 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islas 8817 Guesthouse

Address: 8817 San Juan Street San Antonio Valley 2, Paranaque City, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Islas 8817 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islas 8817 Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.