We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2014 - One Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pearl Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pearl Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 M. Adriatico St. corner General Malvar St. | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines (Malate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 103 hotels in Manila
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“May 2014 - One Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Even though I only stayed one night - This will be my 4th time staying at this hotel. This is a 3 star hotels, That is an excellent value at about 65 to 70 usd at night. I found that the deluxe king room is the best choice of accommodations for me. This dance is very friendly and responses to your questions. Those the interior is a tad bit dated , the restrooms are a good size with standing shower in a large tub. Now depending on what side of the hotel your room is on and how heavy sleeper you are some street traffic noise may bother you. I'm a heavy sleeper. The hotel's location is perfect, its very close to a large mall (Robinson) and its surrounded by a number of restaurants to include a short taxi ride to the Mall of Asia or seaside fish market. I would definitely stay again....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Warm Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

Thank you very much for sharing kind words and remarks about your recent stay here in our hotel. We are very glad that we became a part of your memorable experiences here in our country. Rest assured that we will be sharing your lovely comments with the rest of our staff.

We will be very glad to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    125
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
4
30
35
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, was visitng many attractions around the area and wanted to get a Bayview without having to pay for the more expensive viwes offered from the various other hotels near here. Good value, rooms were clean and nicely styled, modern,spacious and attractive. Good location, within walking distance of various restaurants and shops on the main road near the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Warm Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

We certainly appreciate your wonderful remarks regarding our property. We are glad that you enjoyed and hope you have had a pleasant stay here in our hotel and our country.

We look forward of welcoming you back.

Once again, Thank You very much.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have stayed at a few different hotels in Malate over the years, and I have to say this is my pick of the lot. The Pearl Garden is aimed at travelers on a mid-range budget, and pretty much has everything you need. The rooms are spacious, clean, and the the staff helpful and friendly. Distance to the airport is not too bad, with travel times of between 30-35 minutes, depending on the time of day of course.

Robinson's Ermita is just 5 min down Adriatico Street, and if you want to kill a few hours and see how the Manila middle-class like to spend their time, its worth checking out. Final word of caution, if you're not used to dealing with small street children tugging at your shirt for loose change, then this may be a bit confronting for some people - but that's Malate,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Warm Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

Thank you very much for the wonderful remarks regarding our hotel. It is pleasant to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to be of service to you again

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

At its price range (around USD 60 per night, depending on room type), this hotel is great.

The location is really handy, about 5-7 mins walk to Robinson's Place, a large shopping mall where you can buy most things a tourist might need. Also plenty of restaurants of various grades around. However, due to the visible poverty and the sex industry all around, I'd say this is not an area for children.

The rooms are clean and everything is functional, which is not always the case in the Philippines. The minibar fridge is cold, the water in the shower is as hot as you want it to be and the A/C is individually (rather then centrally) controlled. The WiFi in the room works with no hassle, and the connection speed is reasonable

Breakfast lives something to be desired.

Hotel staff are generally friendly, and ready to assist if you need anything.

For the price this hotel charges, this hotel is great value IMHO.

Room Tip: The "standard" rooms are quite small. If you like a bit more space you'd need to pay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Warm Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

Thank you very much for your feedback during your recent stay here in Manila. We appreciate your review as it will help us determine what we can still improve on. We will be looking forward to your future visit with us.

Once again, Thank You very much.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Been staying here whenever I can book this hotel.
Wonderful location with Robinsons, a large shopping mall five minutes away.
Another, the Mall of Asia is nearby the bay and a taxi ride will costs not more than a hundred pesos. Be careful with the taxis though. Insist on metering.
Also a central place to move around the Manila metropolis.
Importantly, lots of good restaurants within walking distance.
Local, western , Korean and Japanese abounds so lots of choices.
On the hotel, the staff are wonderful. Cheery and curteous.
Rooms are clean and the amenities sufficient.
Towels are bit old and small and needs to be replaced.
Breakfast which is provided is satisfactory.
And for the single travelers, plenty of nightlife in this area.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the bay. It does not have a view where you can see the bay with sunrise or sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Warm Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

We would like to thank you for your remarkable comments about our hotel and our amenities. Your observation regarding our towels is now being taken cared of. Thank your for addressing this concern.

We are looking forward of seeing you again in our property.

Once again, Thank You very much.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I would stay at Pearl Garden again if I found myself in Malate. The rooms are a bit dark and the upholstery and carpeting smells a bit of smoke but this seemed like a forgiveable flaw considering the price. Otherwise the room was equipped with what most travellers required, which in my case was an in-room safe and wifi. The desk and restaurant staff are friendly and attentive. The breakfast buffet was average.

The hotel's location has its pluses and minuses. It is a short walk to Robinsons Mall but the area is not well-maintained with some beggars in the streets. The area becomes a bit more pleasant when the sun sets and the bars and restaurants come to life.

If you need to stay in Malate this hotel would be a sensible choice but maybe other places in Manila - such as Makati - would offer better choices for shopping, entertainment and attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write reviews for our hotel. Rest assured that we will be improving on the areas that you have mentioned in your review.

Also, we will address the concerns to our local government.

Once again, Thank You very much.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

2nd time to Manila and was lucky with the hotel. I booked onlineand the rates were good. Overall the Hotel was a great place to stay and enjoy.
1, Room - nicely and clean and everything worked well and bed was comfy but view from windows was depressing,. Hot water was good, flat screen TV and air cond worked perfectly though a bit noisy as it was a wall mounted unit.. Keypad Safe for all my stuff was great.
2. Food - had all my breakfasts there and the staff were attentive and so helpful and the food - not being great, was tasty and filling and the housekeeping was clean.
3. Location - NOT SO GREAT - KTV Bars (Karoake) abound and it appeared that this area was more set up for Japanese or Korean male visitors. The area surrounding the hotel is seedy with many beggars on the streets, though this seems to be coming a more common site around western hotels.. Shopping was good with a Robinsons shopping mall just 2 blocks away. Money changers close by as well as laundry and massage.
4. SERVICE - FANTASTIC - reception staff - especially Kimberley & Venus were fantastic, so friendly and helpful. Restaurant staff - Fantastic did everything to make your breakfast experience enjoyable - nothing too hard for them. Housecleaning - very professional.

Negatives -
1. -No pool. Internet a little slow
2. - Area a bit seedy and messy not an attractive location.


Stayed August 2013, traveled with friend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearl Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Garden Hotel

Address: 1700 M. Adriatico St. corner General Malvar St. | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Garden Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pearl Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pearl Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.