We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect too much.....just the average!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citystate Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Citystate Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citystate Tower Hotel
1315 A. Mabini Street, Ermita, Manila, Luzon, Philippines (Ermita)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Manila
Trinidad, West Indies
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much.....just the average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Located in a very busy street in downtown Manila used to be known for its nightlife and red light....and still is but to a lesser level,I supposed! The staff were all courteous but not that knowledgeable as to the functions or meetings their hotel is catering to for that day. Several staff directed me to a wrong function room having a meeting which is also being handled by my organizers. There was never a signage near the front desk directing to my meeting....only the signage for the other meeting. The only signage for my meeting was right beside the door of the function room we're using. So, if you're not familiar with the hotel...you would be lost. Food was okay but the spaghetti is so sweet...as if a whole cup of sugar was poured into it. Restrooms were also clean and well maintained. I will be coming back again soon.....let's see !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    33
    40
    18
    24
See reviews for
8
42
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

this would have been my second time staying overnight at this hotel. I dunno why people has negative reviews at this hotel.. on the 2 nights i stayed at this hotel my experience was good. breakfast is bit small though well im into heavy breakfast. the rooms are quite clean and cozy.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

If you are intent on staying in the middle of Ermita (why??) this place is not bad. It is clean, service is good. You are at risk of a sound assault from LOUD cover bands in the neighborhood at night. Stayed here 9 years ago and it is a little nicer now.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed for three nights in April 2014 . First two nights i was allocated room in new wing . A/C was not working , i woke up at 11 pm seating as A/C has conked off . There was lot of noise for live band playing and music coming right inside your room . I had to change the room where A/C was working but being on 3rd floor , music was coming very loud in the room . Ultimately Live band stopped at 1.00 pm and i could have a sound sleep . After two nights i checked out and travelled to Battan for work . Again rechecked on 11 night and this time took old wing . Rooms in old wing are old but free from the live band noise . You can sleep peacefully . Breakfast is fixed , you have to choose from 8 options only . Room service waiter are non smiling , you need to pay in cash for room service

Room Tip: Do not take room in new wing facing live bank music
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Arrived from Banaue on the overnight bus in Manila. We arrived at 3.30am and decided to go to this hotel as we were taking the Si-Kat bus to Puerto Galera. The breakfast is a poor affair. The dishes are toast (warm bread) with an egg; scrambled, fried or an omelette. You can also have tea or coffee. This then cost us 500pesos despite the menu suggesting it would be 180pesos for each dish. It appears the supposed orange, which was cordial cost 70pesos. Overpriced food! We then discovered there was a 7/11 just up the road, if only we had known beforehand.

Whilst sitting in the lobby waiting for the bus we had the pleasure of watching white man after white man bringing prostitute/s back to their room. This is not really a suitable environment for families.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel out of convenience as our bus from Batangas stopped right outside. Despite arriving late afternoon, we were made to wait for the room we had reserved the night before. After waiting over thirty minutes, I asked the front desk how much longer was the wait, they'd forgot about us! As such we were given a free room upgrade. The room was acceptable but to be honest I'd hate to see the state of the lower priced rooms.
Inside the room, loud music from one of the bars outside was annoying. To be fair, when I complained, we were offered another free upgrade but declined as the noise level was the same.
Aside from one or two, the level of service from the staff here was substandard. The chap dealing with our in initial check in had a bad attitude, no apology for the wait whatsoever. The concierge tried to rip us off with a 600 php airport shuttle service (a white taxi costs 100).
Never again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

An earlier reviewer has described the Citystate Tower Hotel as a "stop-over" hotel and I would concur 100%.
This hotel had been chosen by our tour company as the starting point for our trip. In fact, we stayed there for one night on three separate occasions; at the start, on Day 9 and at the end of our trip.
Probably the most impressive part of the hotel is the lobby, even though it seemed like Grand Central Station at times.
Also on the plus side, the hotel is located near to several city landmarks including a large modern shopping centre with a food court and supermarket.
On each of my stays the bedroom was a reasonable size and clean but, like the bathroom, had seen better days.
Of the three stays, one was satisfactory, the other two less than satisfactory.
For example, one time we were told to meet in the coffee shop area in the lobby to have breakfast and it took forever to get served. The next time I went to eat in the main dining room which is beside the kitchen and it immediately became clear that, given the number of people eating there, the area in the lobby was low priority to the serving staff.
Another time I was given a smoking bedroom in error. The staff were quick to reassign me to a non-smoking room on the top floor. Unfortunately, this was right below the disco/night club, so the beat of dance music could be heard until the early hours of the morning.
On the third occasion the room was fine and there were no problems.

Staff attitude was so-so. They are kept busy and probably don't receive much in the way of tips so maybe this is no surprise. Ironically, the security personnel just outside the front door of the hotel were some of the friendliness I had ever met!

In its prime I suspect this hotel was highly-rated but, like oil tankers that change hands as more modern vessels are built, this one had seen better days.

Room Tip: 1. Avoid the 11th floor unless you like to listen to disco music at 2:00 am 2. Rooms on the 4th and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citystate Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystate Tower Hotel

Address: 1315 A. Mabini Street, Ermita, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A new land mark in sunshine Manila" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your Citystate Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citystate Hotel Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citystate Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.