We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cupcakes in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cupcakes by Sonja

Cupcakes by Sonja
Serendra, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
(632) 8560308
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 743 restaurants in Manila
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I'm such a cupcake fan and Sonja's is definitely the best I've ever tried in the metro. Had luckily chanced upon their location in Serendra, Taguig. Everything was awesome, the staff, the store setting and the cupcakes of course.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    11
    23
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Cupcake store with a the yummiest walnut fudge brownie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Surprisingly, I go to Cupcakes by Sonja not to buy cupcakes, but to devour their very yummy walnut fudge brownie, for me its the best walnut fudge brownie I've ever tasted! Though a little pricey for P88 per serving, you'll enjoy a rather big chunk of its moist, soft & crunchy walnuts. Every bite really melts in your mouth and will make you want for more.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tiny cupcakes with a mountain of icing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I decided to try Cupcakes by Sonja a while back as it is known to have pioneered the cupcake rave in Manila. To my disappointment, most of their 'cupcakes' actually contain more sugary coloured icing than cupcakes themselves. The cost of a cupcake is around Php60 to Php100 depending on which flavours, which I reckon is overpriced for what it is: a small average cupcake topped with a mountain of flavoured sugar. Although I admit this does make the cupcakes look very well presented, food is more about the taste than it is about the presentation.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meycauayan, Bulacan, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate Surprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love sonja's cupcakes especially chocolate surprise and vanilla sunshine :D can you create low calorie cupcake options? like a guilt-free sugar-free one?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Last year, I was surprise by Sonja's Red Velvet. I quickly compared it to Sprinkles back in the States. Just today, we specifically went there and I was really looking forward to Sonja's since Im only here in Phils this time of year. BUT! I was so disappointed that they change their ingredients for their cupcakes especially the RED VELVET. The quality was soo bad that it just tasted like a normal cupcake that you can buy anywhere. Too Bad the owners did not maintain its original ingredients and just went to put in cheap stuff. They should have move location if they can't afford the place rather than sacrifice the quality of their product.....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupcakes by Sonja also viewed

 
Pasig, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Cupcakes by Sonja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cupcakes by Sonja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.