We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“undecided” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbara's

Barbara's
Plaza San Luis Complex, General Luna St | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
(02) 527 3893
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 766 Restaurants in Manila
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Imus, Cavite, Philippines
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“undecided”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

came here for the reception of my cousin's wedding. i know it's supposed to keep its spanish period design... but it just looks tired to me -- dusty ceiling, unkempt furniture, and some windows that looked like they need repair. because of the wooden floor, you'd hear it when people in other parts of the house/resto start stomping their feet (for whatever activity they're having). the food was good and plenty though, and the wait staff was very helpful. can't say anything about the value as i wasn't privy to that info, but it's safe to say i wouldn't pay a premium for the place alone.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good Cultural Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I bought a deal or discount promo in an online group buying site for Barbara's in order to try their dishes. We called their booking officer and book in advance as this is a part of the Terms and Condition of the deal. Upon arrival, we were greeted by one of their staff and immediately check if we have a reservation. After confirmation another staff ushers us to our table. There's an ongoing cultural show during that time and we enjoyed watching the group performing some of Philippine's cultural dance. They have synchronicity and really perform well. We headed for the buffet table to check out the food but sadly the main dishes are just common dishes. There's nothing really special with them but we enjoyed their desserts - selection of cake bites. If you want to try Filipino dish/es better drop by during Monday-Wednesday or Friday Nights. If you want to try Spanish dishes and other menu, go there on a Tuesday-Thursday and Saturday night. Will not really recommend Saturday night because it's bit difficult to find a table and parking. The restaurant is always close every Sunday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Place to Dine in Manila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Restaurant recreates a old spanish and filipino influence. It serves spanish and filipino food with great filipino cultural dance and music which starts at around 6 :PM. Being a vegitarian i hardly had any option there in the buffet dinner that they offered there but the restaurant managers ( Britt) accomodated me so quickly and prepared some mouthwatering vegitarian dishes within minitues. I really enjoyed the tatste and ambiance of the place. the Music and Dance show was a hit. Really enjoyed the evening worth a visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
453 reviews 453 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Good spot, basic food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

In Casa Manila with a pleasant courtyard and nice staff. Very basic meals by the look of them - we only had quesadillas and taquitos that were somewhat bland but expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing service, so so FOOD, dirty water, baby cockroaches.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The place is good for picture taking and a good place where you can bring your foreign friends/clients because of the cultural show. But make sure you reserved for the best table if you want to enjoy the show. Check the service water or any drinks that you'll order before drinking it. Check the table too because you might see baby cockroaches.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara's also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Barbara's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbara's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.