We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet neighborhood and very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oasis Paco Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oasis Paco Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1032-34 Belen Street, Paco, Manila, Luzon 1007, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quiet neighborhood and very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here three nights. First night was a late arrival. We booked via Agoda and asked for a pick-up. This somehow didn't came through. Check-in itself was smooth and the room (deluxe) was very big. We had a room (#315) with a window view off Paco Park. There is a big wall around the park but the big trees are growing way over the wall. Looking from the window gives you a little bit of the feeling your not surrounded by only bricks.
The hotel is in a very traffic calmed zone. So you can have a good night sleep.
The staff is really polite and kind, they serve you very well.
The pool was undergoing a renovation and the people tried everything to finish that asap. Unfortunately this is fixed when we leave and the pool will be filled with water the next day.
The restaurant is great! Check the reviews of "My Kitchen by chef Chris".
Definitely a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisPacoParkHotel, Manager at The Oasis Paco Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Greetings from the Oasis Paco Park Hotel!

The Management Team would like to thank you for your time in writing a review regarding your stay with us! This is indeed very important to us.

We would like to thank you for choosing The Oasis Paco Park Hotel as your home here in Manila. We are glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologize though for not sending someone to pick you up at the airport, there was a miscommunication with the Reservations Team in regards your flight details. The team thought that you were just advising that you will be checking-in late. We truly apologies. We are glad that you’ve felt the warmth upon your arrival, enjoyed the room and its view.

Thank you very much as well for your comments about My Kitchen by Chef Chris. It is very much appreciated.

We are hoping to see you back soon and please let us know whenever you are planning to come back as we would like to offer a token of appreciation.

Best Regards,
Your Oasis Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    111
    49
    25
    15
See reviews for
42
95
82
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Everyone - from the doorman to the Rooms Manager to the waitresses to the cleaners - was genuinely nice and highly attentive and professional. The hotel also had a communal feel about it because of the way it's laid out and based around the central swimming pool. An excellent mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisPacoParkHotel, Manager at The Oasis Paco Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Aric S,

Greetings from the Oasis Paco Park Hotel!

The Management Team would like to thank you for your time in writing a review regarding your stay with us! It is indeed very important to us!

We would like to thank you for choosing The Oasis Paco Park Hotel as your home here in Manila. We are very happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. We also can’t forget your comments about our country, the Philippines, being beautiful and family oriented.

We are hoping to see you again soon and please let us know whenever you are planning to come back as we would like to offer a token of appreciation.

Best Regards,
Your Oasis Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The location of the hotel is off the beaten track. This can be good but it is extremely difficult to find decent cabs in Manila who are willing (or know their way) to go there.
The rooms are far from being new and are just ok.
The restaurant is good if you want to eat Italian kind of food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisPacoParkHotel, Manager at The Oasis Paco Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Lu L,

Greetings from The Oasis Paco Park Hotel!

Our location is in the heart of Manila and so most find everything accessible. Our location can be easily found via googlemap. Our new rooms receive positive reviews so far and we truly appreciate hearing more comments because it’s our way in improving better.

We are hoping to see you soon and please let us know whenever you are planning to come back as we would like to offer a token of appreciation.

Best Regards,
Your Oasis Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Mixed thoughts about this hotel. Initially stayed for 2 nights, we booked into a superior room but upon arriving we were advised that the room was not available. We were told that they only had a standard room and offered us a free breakfast or they can move us to their other hotel.

Breakfast coupons are not much good to us as we always skip breakfast anyhow. We've just arrived in Manila and did a lot of traveling the previous couple of weeks around Philippines, we just wanted to rest up for a couple of nights before continuing on. We thought we could bear a couple of nights in a standard room but it only took us five minutes before we decided that the standard room was just not suitable. It was really below standard and not what we expected - the room itself was not inviting, kinda dark and creepy, there were no windows, no wi-fi coverage, the TV was not well positioned.. however, it was the noise from the hallway behind the room that was unbearable - we could hear the workers walking and talking, which meant they would be able to hear us as well, just felt it was lacking privacy. Went back to the front desk and inquired how far away the alternative hotel was but surprisingly we were told that a superior room was now available.

We stayed in room 205. The room was fantastic, new, clean, and spacious. We enjoyed our stay and loved the room so much we forgot about the initial ordeal and decided to book it again for 9 nights for when we get back to Manila.

Before leaving we made inquiries about booking the same room for 9 nights. We specifically asked for room 205. We were told that room was not available for the entire 9 nights but were advised that we would be accommodated in a similar room for the first 5 nights and transferred over to room 205 for the remaining 4 nights. We thought this was reasonable so we booked it before leaving the hotel. The arrangement was in their notes.

When we got back we were placed in room 217. I was told it was a superior room but it was significantly smaller. The air conditioner was temperamental and not very strong. There was also a connecting door to the room next door (might have been the workers lounge) and you can certainly hear their TV from our room as well as their conversations, it also had a serious ant problem (they were just everywhere). We did request to be transferred and were told they would get back to us - they never did. It was too much hassle to follow it up so decided to bite the bullet for the first 5 nights (they also confirmed the transfer of rooms in a few days). However when we rang the front desk and inquired about the transfer to room 205 on the morning of the 6th day, we were asked who we made this arrangement with.. and that room 205 would not be available at all during the remainder of our stay (so much for that note and confirmation). Furthermore, the lady we spoke to advised that the hotel manager would not be available until later that afternoon, she didn't even bother checking if alternative arrangements could be met. We decided to just hang up the phone and walk to the front desk to get sort out the situation... only to find the hotel manager speaking with another customer... seems like whoever we spoke to over the phone wasn't telling the truth.

The hotel manager apologised and showed us two other rooms we could move into. We were also told that room 206 was similar to room 205 but won't be available until the next day. We decided to just stay where we were and move into 206 the next day. We were again given breakfast coupons to compensate, although a nice gesture it was something we didn’t have a use for.

The hotel manager was helpful and apologetic but the thing is - no traveler wants hassles like this whilst on holidays, it just puts a damper on a trip. The arrangement was not kept and the expectation was not met. It's a conversation we didn't want to have, it's unpleasant and makes us feel like we're a couple of annoying tourists.

As previously mentioned, mixed feelings with this review. We enjoyed our stay for 4 out of the 11 nights booked. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very good but to be expected with the price tag for the meals. The carbonara was fantastic, although they must’ve had a different chef the third time we ordered it as it didn’t taste nowhere as good as the first two.

Another thing worth mentioning is - expect to pay a deposit when you check in, not sure what the purpose is but it just makes checking out complicated. Finalising our final bill was confusing. We were advised that our initial deposit would be refunded to our credit card, also paid some cash for room services charges. Looking at our credit card statement online, it seems like no refund took place but the opposite, there was a charge on the account. It was only about $50 but not worth the hassle investigating, just gonna have to write it off as a loss.

Having stayed in 4 different rooms, the overall rating will have to be 3/5. If we only had to rate rooms 205 and 206 it would 5/5. Room 217 would be 2/5, and the standard room 1/5.

Room Tip: Stay away from standard rooms on the ground floor. Stay away from Room 217. Recommend rooms 205 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisPacoParkHotel, Manager at The Oasis Paco Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sylvanas,

Greetings from The Oasis Paco Park Hotel!

Thank you very much for the review.

We are truly sorry to hear about your experience regarding your requested room. In our records we have learned that you've reserved for a Superior room. As you've checked in early, we had to initially house you in a lower room category for we do not want to release a room that is below the hotel standards. Luckily when you approached the desk the second time, someone checked out early and as a kind gesture, we've upgraded you to a higher room category which we were hoping would make you feel compensated for the 20mins stay in a Standard room.

I understand that during reservation it was discussed to you that room 205 will be occupied upon your arrival. Once a room is requested, we always take note of it and do our best to give it to our guests. Please allow us to reiterate that the comfort of our Hotel guests is very important to us. Likewise, we aim to adhere to every guest request as much as we can. This is why when you've approached the Desk requesting for room 205 the Rooms Division Manager apologized for 205 is not yet available and gave you 2 options right away: 1. Transferring to 206 which is a similar room to 205 and 2. Check the other Deluxe rooms.

Please also understand that there was a miscommunication regarding the "Hotel Manager". You were looking for the General Manager who was unfortunately not available and the person who you spoke with at the Front Desk was the Rooms Division Manager.

On the other hand we are very much happy to hear that you've enjoyed the food at My Kitchen by Chef Chris. We will be informing the Corporate executive Chef about your comment. Every guest comment is important to us for we know you are giving us the staircase to improvement.

We hope you would consider The Oasis Paco Park Hotel as your home here in Manila once again and when you do, please let the General Manager know so he can speak to you on ways we could improve our service to you!

Until then, happy holidays to you and your family!

Truly yours,
The Oasis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Could not fault my stay here. Arrived at 5 in morning. For a change travel in the philipines was early! They did not have my deluxe room available. They put me into a basic room absolutely free of charge so I could get some sleep. Rang me at 11am and my bags were collected and brought to my new room.
For the price I paid I would of been happy with standard but the new room was 5 star at 2 star prices. Modern 4 poster kingsize bed, massive flat screen tv, overlooking the park.
Staff were brilliant. Food was even better. Stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisPacoParkHotel, Manager at The Oasis Paco Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Pintofmurphy,

Greetings from the Oasis Paco Park Hotel!

The Management Team would like to thank you for your time in writing a review regarding your stay with us! It is indeed very important to us!

We would like to thank you for choosing The Oasis Paco Park Hotel as your home here in Manila. We are very happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us.
The mission of the team is to be of service to you. We are glad that you felt welcomed.

Thank you very much for recommending The Oasis Paco Park Hotel. It is very much appreciated.

We are hoping to see you soon and please do let us know when you have plans of coming back as we would like to offer a token of appreciation.

Best Regards,
Your Oasis Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

There is a massive difference between the standard room vs the superior or delux rooms.

The standard rooms feel dirty, the aircon sucks and there is no wifi... On the other hand the more expensive rooms are well worth it as they feel luxurious, clean and are very spacious.

The only problem is that the wifi signal was somewhat weak in the room we had but it seems like a common isue for many low to mid range hotels.

All in all I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The standard room is completely different to the more expensive alternatives. I definitely suggest p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisPacoParkHotel, Manager at The Oasis Paco Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear AuNovo,

Greetings from the Oasis Paco Park Hotel!

The Management Team would like to thank you for your time in writing a review regarding your stay with us! It is indeed very important to us!

We would like to thank you for choosing The Oasis Paco Park Hotel as your home here in Manila. We are glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us.

Due to the solid walls, wi-fi signal inside the room is really intermittent. But yes, wi-fi signal in the public areas are very strong. Rest assured that the management is doing its best to resolve the wi-fi signal issue.

Our newly refurbished rooms have so far received only positive comments from other guests, we can only renovate phase by phase and so we had to start from the highest category.

Thank you very much for recommending The Oasis Paco Park Hotel. It is very much appreciated.

We are hoping to see you back soon and please do let us know when you have plans of coming back as we would like to offer a token of appreciation.

Best Regards,
Your Oasis Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights for my board exams. We booked through hotels.com and to my surprise we did not get the room that was told I was gonna get. The pictures are waaaay better and totally different from the room given to us. We were placed on a room right behind the stairs wherein you have to enter a dark corridor. It would have been totally fine with me to pay additional amount for a better and much decent room but I guess they have to mislead guests so they would still be selling these old moldy rooms.
At the back of the room is a hallway for workers, separated only by a thin wall with a window that you can't even close properly. So now you can only imagine how noisy it is at night when workers all gather before going home, much more on daytime. We heard a lot of digging and to our dismay they were digging thru our wall while we were sleeping. The hotel doesn't have standards how to take care of their guests and not just to attend to all requests.
The bed is just OK but my back felt sore upon waking up realizing that the bed is badly bumpy underneath. Only good in the room is the flat TV. it's placed not in front but parallel to your bed, hanging on the wall so expect a stiff neck.

Comfort room is old and dark, no windows for a good ventilation.

Mini bar is stocked up with drinks and food. I was starving when I got in but decided not to grab some because the smell inside the fridge is so foul like dead roaches it turned me off.

We politely asked the girl at front desk named 'Crystal' for us to be transferred but was told that there's no available room. She didn't even bothered checking some resources to confirm that. So I guess we were left with no choice.

The Restaurant is good and I would highly recommend it. The service was excellent same with the food. Kudos to Chef Chris for running this kind of restaurant. I could ony wish he runs the hotel too. We tried Panizza, Lime cheescake, Osobucco and creme brulee and we all loved it. The only downside is that there are lots of bugs and flying mosquitoes when dining outside. Even the off lotion provided won't even take into effect. I have like 15 bug/mosquito bites on my legs that I got from the place.

2nd day. It was my board examination day and I can only go home later than 12 PM which is the check out time. We again politely asked the lady at the front desk named 'Crystal' the night before if we could check out later than 12 because I'm pretty sure I'm not gonna make it on time since my exam will be finished at around 2 pm. The lady said she can only give us until 2 pm and later than that, we'll gonna get charged. I have exhausted all my explanations to the lady but unfortunately she can't do anything about it and won't even extend a leg to get up and do some extra mile service. Crystal is not an asset to your company only she will bring your hotel's name down the drain. What a simple and budget hotel lacks in general would have been compensated by staffs and crews that has outstanding customer service. Your hotel lacks both.

We decided to try our luck again and talk to another lady the next day which I think was now the boss. We asked to be extended only until 3 pm to give time on my getting back to the hotel. She was nice and it was her who offered us until 4 PM. Kudos for this.

Overall, the hotel has a lot of catching up to do and so much things to improve before it can gain loyalty and more guests and visitors. Fine restaurant and service to it though. Maybe you can apply it to your hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisParkPacoHotel, Manager at The Oasis Paco Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear vcpelaez,

Greetings from The Oasis Paco Park Hotel!

Thank you very much for the review.

We are truly sorry to hear about your experience with us. In our records we have learned that you stayed in an old standard room. We can only renovate phase by phase and so we started from the highest category down to the lowest. Our newly refurbished rooms have so far received only positive comments from other guests, which we hope you are willing to experience on your next visit.

The Hotel was fully-booked the night you've stayed with us. As much as the Front Desk staff would like to transfer you to another room, there is no availability. Please allow us to reiterate that the comfort of our Hotel guests is very important to us. Likewise, we aim to adhere to every guest request as much as we can. This is why when you've approached the Desk the next day requesting for a late check out of about 3pm, the team found a way to make you stay in your room even until 4pm without having to charge you extra. On a normal circumstance, we charge half day worth of the overnight rate for such request.

Our records also show that on two occasions, you were met by our management team to ensure that you are looked after.

First, The General Manager approached you by the pool area just to check that everything was okay anticipating your needs since he knew that you are going to take board exam. We would have addressed your concerns right then if only they were raised to him then.

Second, the person who extended your stay until 4pm is the Rooms Division Manager. She is definitely another part of our team who could have helped you with your concerns.

On the other hand we are very much happy to hear that you've enjoyed the food at My Kitchen by Chef Chris. Both My Kitchen and the Hotel are being managed by one Management Team so please trust that we are doing our best to make Oasis the #1 preferred boutique hotel in Manila.

We hope you would consider The Oasis Paco Park Hotel as your home here in Manila once again and when you do, please let the General Manager know so he can speak to you on ways we could improve our service to you!

Until then, happy holidays to you and your family!

Truly yours,
The Oasis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oasis Paco Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Paco Park Hotel

Address: 1032-34 Belen Street, Paco, Manila, Luzon 1007, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oasis Paco Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila's Original Boutique Hotel, the Oasis Park Hotel features comfortable 50 room hotel built around a spacious swimming pool, restaurant, cafe and sports bar, and is truly an oasis in the heart of downtown Manila. The restaurant and bar facilities have been expanded to provide a choice of air-conditioned or alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Oasis Paco Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oasis Paco Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.