We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maharajas

The Maharajas
Commerical House - 1, Eden Island, | Mahe", Victoria, Mahe Island 00248, Seychelles
+248 4 346 869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The food was pure north Indian and too tasty...it is the best restaurant in Seychelles ...so don't worry in Seychelles you get good Indian foods..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    26
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mahe, Seychelles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Finally made it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After not having made it to the door when I last tried to visit, I finally made it in June 2013. It seems that I shouldn't have tried to make a reservation last time because there were only two other couples in the restaurant on the Thursday evening that we visited. In brief, there is work to be done on both the food and the service. The food is tasty but certainly is not what I would describe as fine dining (which is what Maharajas markets itself as). Perhaps they should drop this marketing line and just position themselves as a curry house, which is essentially what they are and indeed what I think people want. Service wise, staff should be better briefed on the menu so that it is clear that it would be perfectly fine to share a US$18 bowl of rice between two or three people, thus making the cost seem less prohibitive. The restaurant is well fitted out and in an excellent location so has potential with the right management. All in all, a nice experience but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Beau Vallon, Seychelles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I really liked the restaurant. Good food, friendly service, beautiful restaurant. Really worth going ...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrKiisk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Shame about the staff and food but great location and interior!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

First off, I agree with another reviewer...it is absolutely disgraceful to charge 18$ for a bowl of RICE. Service is slow and don't expect to see a smile from any of the staff. I like my Indian food and been fortunate to experience it all over the world - the Maharajas ranks in mediocre range.
Reasoning for very good rating is simple - the place looks spotless and is very well decorated. Beautiful location probably is going to temp me to give another try! Good luck to the owner teaching the staff being hospitable!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Beau Vallon, Seychelles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best Indian restaurant in Seychelles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent food and a excellent range of choices. Service is a bit slow, especially if you are not there early and it's not cheap but quality and ambience are excellent. There is not a lot of competition to be fair but it's definitely the best Indian restaurant in Seychelles

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maharajas also viewed

Victoria, Mahe Island
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 
Victoria, Mahe Island
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 

Been to The Maharajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maharajas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.