We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Barbarons

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Barbarons to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Meridien Barbarons
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 626, Victoria, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Victoria
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced and tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Le Meridien Barbarons is siutated on the beautiful west coast of Mahe, but for some reason the beach here is the only one in the whole of Seychelles that has waves and is quite rough (although snorkelling is great). The hotel feels tired in tetms of furnishings and their staff are in serious need of motivation, we felt they were very cold and not willing to help. The reception staff however were welcoming. Our room smelt moist (like a cellar) and had many faults; our curtains were barely hanging and were loose (couldnt close properly), the fridge and kettle didn't work, there was no bath plug and toilet paper was inserted randomly into the bathroom wall cracks. We did notify housekeeping of the problems and they fixed what they could while we were there. The restaurant food is good but is repetitive, so after a few days it becomes boring. Other food and drinks are extremely expensive at the resort. We (and just about all other guests) took a walk outside the resort, there is a shop about 300m to the left outside the resort on the main road that stocks all the drinkss you may need for 25% of the price at the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan g, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Barbarons, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Uwe H,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay, we pride ourselves in ensuring a pleasant discovery for each guest and regret that your expectations were not fully met.

We warmly value our clients feedback which is shared to the team, thus enables us to exceed in our mission

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    180
    104
    82
    102
See reviews for
71
370
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here on my Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) Points along with Suite Night Upgrades. We chose this hotel, because the other SPG hotel in Mahe is not on the beach (but rather next to one), and we had heard that this part of the island is less developed, and more secluded. We would not have spent our own money on this hotel ...

The first reason why this hotel is only average, is because of the beach. Don't get me wrong - it's a good beach (in fact, really good) by global standards, but not a good beach by Seychelles standards. This stretch of the island is exposed to the open Indian Ocean, so the waves are generally rough (in fact, the water is so rough that swimming is not allowed on the Grand Anse beach next door). On the far end of the beach, there are some rocks which act as a break, and calm the water down for a 30 meter stretch or so - but otherwise the beach is rough. And around those rocks there is really rich marine life, which makes for some pretty good snorkeling.

Otherwise, the hotel is nice but feels a tad too big, plastic and crass-commercial. Le Meridien has used their signature industrial / concrete / rustic finishes, which are nice for a city hotel, but just not what I would look for on the beach. Some reviewers complained that this gives the hotel a "tired" look - which is actually by design. Breakfast is generally good for a large hotel, and the Spa is really good. We hired a car, which was really useful for this location - otherwise you will be stranded here, when the good beaches and restaurants are all a bit of a drive away.

So to summarize again - good use of SPG points on the Seychelles (we couldn't have stayed there for as long as we did otherwise), but not where I would spend my own money. And do hire a car to make the most of this place.

Room Tip: There are strong trade-offs here - the hotel is set-up in an L-shape starting from the reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan g, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Barbarons, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear ghmckdxb,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for your stay and sharing your impressions on trip advisor.

As Starwood Preferred guest Elite member your opinion value to us.

Unfortunately the changing season has not been kind with us, however the beach is now as beautiful as ever, the sea is quiet and warm, please let me know if you wish to come back to see the turquoise ocean from our property.

Please rest assured that your valuable comments are taking care of and thank you for your great comment on our Spa.

I sincerely hope to meet you again in one of our Le Meridien Hotels around the world.

Warm Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I had booked our honeymoon to the seychelles after hearing lots of good things about the islands.

We had in mind a luxury holiday, where we could relax by pool/beach, and have a good evening in the bar at night.

We got to the hotel about 0830hrs. Our room wasnt ready, but we didnt have to wait long for the cleaning staff to have it ready. We were shown where the beach and pool was by the reception staff. What concerned me was the fact we were recommended to travel to another beach used by another beach resort as the beach at le Meridien wasnt that good.

The beach itself is ok. There was a red flag constantly flying as the waves and undercurrent made it tricky just walking in the shallow parts. Not ideal for non or weak swimmers. We found that for a 25p bus ride, you can go to Port launay and use the beach there, where the sand is perfect and waters calm and still. ( This was the one recommended by Meridien staff )

The room was clean and kept nice. The cleaning staff come everyday and are helpful if anything is needed.

As it was our first day there, we had some wine with our lunch. What we didnt expect was the $44 bill that would come. ( that was just 4 glasses ) We were full board so luckily didnt have to pay for the food as well, as that appeared very expensive as well.

The food throughout our stay was very good. The lunch service was excellent. However, there was often more staff than guests, as not all were full board. The evening buffet service was again very good and we had no complaints about food.

The one thing this hotel lacks, is atmosphere. The bar of an evening was only really used for the free wifi connection. The bar prices are so high, I would say near criminal. So often, many guests would come down for dinner, check the internet, then go off to their rooms. If you like to have a drink on your holidays, read on........

The only beer available at the hotel is the locally brewed beer. Normally this would be a cheaper, but just as good option. They only have bottles, which are 280ml. This is roughly half a pint. We worked out that the half pint of beer would cost you £5.60

If you wanted to have cocktails it was nearly £20 for two. All alcohol used is mainly local stuff. One night, we watched the barman serve the local vodka, and then charge for the exported vodka, which was of course dearer. This happened to us as well. and if you ask for the local vodka in the restaurant, dont be suprised to see the export vodka on the bill ( you didnt see them pour it, so they wont do anything about it )

Everything is priced up in seychelle rupees. DONT, Do not use US dollars in this hotel, as the exchange rate differs on which staff serve you. For example, if something cost 60 ruppes, it would be charged as $6. Using current exchange rates, it would normally be around 4 and a half dollars.

The local shop must make a fortune from guests at this hotel. Quite often we would bump into other guests getting their supplies. How can the management of the hotel find this acceptable?? You can buy a bottle of vodka, 4 beers and juices ( The same stuff as in the hotel ) for less than two drinks in the hotel bar??

All in all a nice hotel which was let down by its lack of atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBarbarons, Management at Le Meridien Barbarons, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Russell M,

Thank you for choosing our beautiful resort for your honeymoon destination in paradise.

I am disappointed to read that your expectations were not fully fulfilled during your journey with us and with to invite you to further discuss with a member of our team on guest.service@lemeridien.com

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Barbarons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at the Seychilles Le Meridien Barbrons on Mahe in May 2012. Pretty good place and relaxing atmosphere. Staff is friendly all the way. Very good rooms with nice view of the sea. very good relaxing location but the beach is not very good. Dining also average with average price. but it is far away from Victoria needed to travel by bus or a taxi...you can have vehicle can drive all aver the Mahe..so not to worry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBarbarons, Management at Le Meridien Barbarons, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Lahiruprabodha,

It is lovely to receive your review of your last stay in May 2012 and it was a pleasure to have you in our care.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Barbarons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel was pretty nice - it has a great lobby that leads out to a view of the water lapping up. But, the rooms are a bit outdated and some are a far walk. The railings have some rust, etc. But in general, it's nicely decorated and landscaped. The food was pretty good at both restaurants - although it was expensive. It has a really nice beach. The pool is ok but it's a bit outdated. Overall, an average but expensive stay (less expensive than other places!)

Room Tip: Ask for one close to the pool and on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBarbarons, Management at Le Meridien Barbarons, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear daisi145,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay, we pride ourselves in ensuring a pleasant discovery for each guest and regret when their expectations are not fully met.

We warmly value our clients feedback which is shared to the team, thus enables us to exceed in our mission

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Barbarons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel creates confusing impressions. Let us quickly dispense with the negatives. Firstly, the prices are simply stratospheric! Wines that are retailed at R50 (about $5) per bottle in South Africa, cost R550 ($55) in the hotel; simply outrageous, in my opinion. [Note carefully: to buy your own beer or wine, exit the hotel grounds, turn left, and negotiate the narrow road to a small shop located about 300 metres down the road; beer is 25 Seychelle rupees, for example while it is 90 Seychelle rupees in the hotel]. Other services, too, from external providers are too expensive. The bathing facilities in the hotel would present challenges to people who are not agile; getting in and out of the bath/shower was a bit of a physical stretch, so to speak. It also represents a continuous maintenance issue because the splashing water is not contained and channelled properly. The beds, too, were not the best I have ever slept in. But, on the positive side: the hotel is wonderfully sited and the little cove which it abuts is splendid for swimming and snorkelling. Get your fix right here, if you want to see a myriad fish of all colours and shapes and sizes. The bird life in the sumptuous surroundings was fantastic, and evening huge fruit bats would fly over the hotel and even land in the trees in the hotel's garden. I found the hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful (though housekeeping was a bit slack at times yet responded quickly when I called to say a towel, etc. was lacking). We ordered buckets of ice and these arrived swiftly, at no cost (except for the tip we offered). Finally, the food. Ah, I over indulged. The pineapples were sweeter than candy, but the watermelons and cantaloupes were tasteless. But the buffet catered to all tastes, from pasta to beef and fish and other good stuff. A splendid spread indeed! To summarise: this hotel needs a firm touch or two but it is highly recommended, especially for families.

Room Tip: Choose a high numbered room (like 280) to be closest to the sea; low numbers, on the other hand, mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBarbarons, Management at Le Meridien Barbarons, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jo N,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Le Meridien Barbarons.

It is lovely to read of your wonderful discovery and how our associates attended to your needs thus ensuring a comfortable stay. Thank you for your feedback which we genuinely value thus allowing us to constantly improve our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Barbarons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the Seychilles Le Meridien Barbrons on Mahe in May 2013. Pretty rough place and badly in need of serious repairs and updating. Staff is not friendly at all with the exception of the foreigners on staff. At first we thought they may not like English speaking people as the majority of the guests are French, but after a few days we figured out they treated all the same.
Few issues we could not get resolved by the front desk. A/C leaking water onto the floor in front of the bathroom sink. Shower and shave at the same time, which was handy as the shower head was plugged and not useable. Use the hand held shower head from the tub instead. Plug in the bath tub could not be retrieved once done bathing. Maintenance came by with a toilet plunger and “sucked” the tub plug out. He promised to be back tomorrow to fix it and the shower head……but never saw him again. Original sliding barrier for the bathtub was replaced with a curtain on a string…...Bar fridge did not work and they had no more. Light fixtures look like they have not been cleaned in years. Generally poor maintenance all around. Sliding door locks were broke so rather than go with the original type of lock; they drilled holes in the floor and used drop bolts. Door to electrical and water panels in our bathroom would not close and would not be safe for children. Deck at head of pool is wooden and has started to rot out. Rather than replace the rotten boards, they just laid other boards and plywood over top of them and created a tripping / splinter hazard. There is a Jacuzzi hot tub up on the sunset deck, but it was not working…and no one could tell you if they actually used chemicals in it when it did work. All decks and sidewalks could use a good power wash as well. Fruits drop onto them and just get worked into them. Overhang of the rood of our deck was rotted out to such a point that the birds can get in to the roof and use it as a home. I had to get ice from the Bar, but they wanted to charge me for it. I suggested if they would fix their room fridges, I would not need to get ice from them. No ice machines available for the rooms. You get 2 small bottles of water at check in and then you pay USD $6.00 / liter after. Drinks at the bar are ~USD $24.00 for a Gin and Tonic. You are not allowed to bring your own drinks into the rooms, but it appears from the empties in the morning, most people are ignoring that decree. Most people go to the stores up the road from the Hotel and buy their ice, water, snacks and liquor.
Buffet is pretty basic. Breakfast is the same every day. Beef sausages, beans, scrambled eggs, French toast (cold), Crepes (cold), 3 types of fruit, yogurt and breads. You could get a omelette or fried eggs at the grill. Juices, Coffee and Tea.
Dinner is not much better, but you can always count on the Pasta Chef to do a good job though. She is from Greece. No coffee or tea with dinner unless you want to pay for it.
WiFi in your room will cost you USD $30.00 / day, but is free in the lobby, hence lobby always has lots of people in it surfing the net.
Ocean surf / current is very strong. Make sure you stay in the far right hand bay. The staff will not warn you about the surf and a local told us 2 people had drowned from the hotel a week before we arrived.

Room Tip: Ocean view is not worth the extra money as the Palm trees pretty much block it anyways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMBarbarons, Management at Le Meridien Barbarons, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear D A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your last stay in May 2013, feedbacks from our guest allows us to constantly improve our service and i am confident to re-assure you that the issues encountered during your stay has been rectified and constantly being worked on to ensure the comfort of our guest during their journey with us.

I regret that your expectations were not met and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and guarantee a pleasant discovery along the way.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Barbarons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Barbarons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Barbarons

Also Known As:
Le Meridien Barbarons Hotel Victoria
Le Meridien Barbarons Hotel
Le Meridien Hotel Barbarons
Le Meridien Mahe Island
Mahe Island Le Meridien
Le Meridien Barbarons Seychelles/Mahe Island
Address: P.O. Box 626, Victoria, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Barbarons 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Barbarons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Barbarons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.